We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Puerto Princesa Underground River
from US$42.98
More Info
from US$57.76
More Info
from US$225.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
Reviews (5,727)
Filter reviews
5,727 results
Traveler rating
3,204
1,653
653
152
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,204
1,653
653
152
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground river rock formations boat ride audio device monitor lizards tour guide sabang wharf small boat bats cave nature flashlight stalagmites jokes tourists port plastic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 5,727 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

To be honest, I kind of expected a tourist trap when I booked this, but I was thoroughly impressed. I've been through underwater rivers in other parts of the world and this one is truly spectacular. You take a 10 minute boat ride from a dock to the entrance area. The beach and forest around the Underground River is beautiful. The Underground River tour is roughly 45 minutes and you listen to a pre-recorded tour on a head set (although you may have to use a lot of imagination to see the images in the rock formations). This is a really beautiful area.

Some tips 1) You will be walking through some water, so wear appropriate footwear 2) the monkeys are cute, but they are also accomplished thieves. I saw one take off with a Gatorade bottle a woman dropped for only a second. 3) Go with a tour company. There is a mountain of paperwork involved with getting into the Underground River. You can't just walk up and get in. The Philippine government is serious about taking care of the area. Save yourself the hassle and let the tour company do it. 4) Take toilet paper with you. None of the bathrooms you can use have it, or if they do you have to pay for it. 5) Take a bottle of water 6) Keep your mouth shut inside the cave. Bats fly overhead and they can relieve themselves in flight.

I highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank 980philr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

It's only pitty that many travel agencies in Puerto Princesa grab their customers upon arrival to Palawan, sell them overprised tours. It's an embarasing industry, bring-show/fast photos-leave. Sabang is more than Underground river which is also good experience.
An advice for real travellers. Arrive to Sabang a day before planned river visit, enjoy local village layed-back atmosphere. Stay in Dub Dub native jungle cottages. On the other morning go to the office not later than 8am, register to make sure to escape the crowds coming from Puerto Princesa around 10am. You may consider to get to the place by jungle treking. After underground river you'll have heaps of time to enjoy another things to do around like Mangrove boat trip (P350), beautifull beaches (2 they are, the seccond with not very frequent zip-line is my favourite). Stay another night and after than you might be ready to leave this beautifull place ... or not? Depend on how much time you can put on side from your vacation. Enjoy

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Duchkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

The Underground River Tour is definitely a must-do when you’re in Palawan. The 1.5-2 hours of land travel is so worth it. We were just mesmerized with how amazing nature works. Kudos to the local govt for protecting this wonder work of nature.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank _mlc6713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

The underground River was amazing, highly recommended. Guides are very knowledgable, pointing out things that one would ordinarily miss. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank X5212KHjuliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

The cave was incredible inside, our boat driver was great and they gave us an audio tour which was also really helpful.

Once we arrived our tour guide informed us that the permits would take 2-3 hours, in which the mean time they strongly suggested we either go do the zip line or the mangrove tour (both at an additional cost). I asked if we could just sit at the beach, but they said this was impossible.

As soon as we had finished our additional tours, the permits were ready - great timing..! I'd be very surprised if this wasn't a planned agreement between the tour companies. Not a big deal but it would have been good to know beforehand!

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews