We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
183
38
17
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
38
17
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby sharks water villa glass floor complimentary head massage signature massage massage table heated swimming pool post photos hour deep tissue massage tour organised beach view villa amazing spa spa gym spanish taste wine prices en provence small bay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place was amazing, the service and staff were fantastic, the experience was tops! We went to this resort being realistic about what to expect as we had read the reviews about the standard of the rooms and food. Well, the food was fantastic especially the Filipino dishes. The dishes were authentic except for the adobo which my husband said was not as good as mine :-) as it was a bit on the sweet side but the rest of the dishes we had were really one of the best Filipino cooking to be had. The room was great with comfy beds and pillows, clean, choice to have an outdoor shower in the water villa was a great idea. Taps look old and worn and water pressure low in the bathroom so I used the outdoor shower. WiFi access was inadequate esp when they have no phones and the only way to contact reception from the room. TV is non-existent but they give a USB stick with Movies which should not be an issue as it is an island getaway. English comprehension esp. with foreign accents is an area for improvement as we had some wrong orders.

So much for the more critical and negative comments. Now for the big positives. The true gems of the resort are the staff. They could not do more for you such as serving you water even without asking because they noted that it was only my husband that ordered a drink, addressing you by your name, warmth and basically staff that were happy with their work and this speaks well for the management. It is worth to mention Mariel from the spa who gave the best massage I ever had, JR was an excellent guide of the Cave Tour as he did his job with utmost professionalism, ensuring safety of guests on the banca and making all of us feel very comfortable, Pau who greeted and gave us the orientation on Day 1 was very thorough in managing our expectations and I truly appreciate how he told us upfront about the WiFi situation, and finally I have to mention the cleaners who kept the beach and waters clean! The resort itself set in a beautiful landscape did not compete but complemented the natural beauty. One could spend hours just looking out to enjoy limestone cliffs or looking down into the clear waters. Cauayan Resort has the right recipe to make it to a 5-star rating if the above negatives are addressed. If asked if I would go back - definitely! Thanks Cauayan for a wonderful holiday!

Room tip: Water villas are great if you like the sound of waves lulling you to sleep.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 695meredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CauayanIslandResort, General Manager at Cauayan Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 695meredith,
We are happy that you had a great time at the island, thank you for staying with us. We take note of your comments and rest assure we will work to improve them. We look forward to welcoming again soon. Maraming Salamat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We splashed out on a lagoon villa for 4 nights which was over £2k and were excited for some luxury 5 star experience. Agree with most comments; the island and view are gorgeous and there is potential for 5* if proper investment was put in however you can tell they have cheaped out with a lot of the infrastructure. A lot of stuff is falling apart after only being open 4 years which is very weird. The sewage is a bit gross, there’s only 1 public toilet for the whole resort, there was a snake by the pool one evening (), and the shower in the villa never got hot. The staff were very lovely and friendly however the service by the pool was weak and quite slow in restaurant. The main CON I have however is that my boyfriend and I BOTH GOT FOOD POISONING during our stay here. We did not eat “risky” foods and were only having bottled or purified water. So for a self proclaimed “five star” charging over £500 per night with food prices 4x that of the mainland, I am extremely disappointed by this. Not only that but we were both stuck in bed rather than being able to enjoy our time there to the fullest due to this illness. Overall I think this place is well overpriced for what it is and has lots of space for improvement.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mariemichele88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CauayanIslandResort, General Manager at Cauayan Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear mariemichele88,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
We have received your comments regarding the supposed food poisoning with surprise, we haven't heard of any guest having those kind of symptoms or sickness. Our F & B department participates in the Food Safety Program, our kitchen follows the HACCP system, which identifies specific hazards and measures for their control to ensure the safety of food.
We will appreciate if you could contact us directly to investigate more your case and to determinate if that really happened in our resort.
Any other comments or suggestions you may have will be appreciated. We remain at all times at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

It was our first time in Palawan that’s why I wanted it to be memorable for all of us and this resort gave it’s best. We just planned few days before we arrived and luckily we got two available water villas since most of villas were pretty much sold out that week. We stayed here for three days. It was worth every penny going here. Breakfast was great and the amazing part; they offer fresh fish in the evening that they let you decided what way you want it cooked. We also had a sunset viewing , massages and kayaking. This resort offers lots of activities too but since we had limited time we just decided to spend it in the island. If you would like to go here, I would recommended their massages. It’s relaxing in addition to that you’ll be able to see baby sharks. Try also their ginger tea, I was hooked into it. This Island was beyond beautiful and had excellent service. The whole trip was very organized which is a big big plus. Definitely we’ll be back here. I would like to say thank you to Mr. Eugene, one of his staff, kuya Driver and Ms. Ashelya for the amazing service. Kudos to all of you guys!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Markie_Arts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CauayanIslandResort, General Manager at Cauayan Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear Markie_Arts,
Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable review. We are so glad that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

We spent only one night in this resort and we regret we did not spend the other 5 nights we stayed in El Nido. This resort is a little gem in the middle of the islands surrounding El Nido. The beach is amazing. In the afternoon you can see the sea turtles coming to the hotel beach to eat. There are at least 10 of them and it seems they come every day. If you snorkel quietly you can approach them. They are cute! We had a beach villa that was beautiful, perfectly equipped and just 3 steps away from the beach. All the resort if very clean and every little detail has been taken care of. The SPA is terrific: you can see the fishes as you are getting your treatment (it seems that you can even see baby sharks, completely harmless, but we did not have the chance to see any). The therapist are very caring and professional. The food is very good. The menu has some Spanish dishes and, been a Spaniard, I must confess that I ate here the best “gambas al ajillo” of my life. It seems that the owner is Spanish. We wished we could have met him but unfortunately we came here at the end of our vacation and only stayed one night (This is the place where you want to spend a whole week). Furthermore, their Filipino dishes are delicious (specially the kare kare).
The staff is ver smily, helpful and nice. They will do whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. You can feel they are passionate about their job and their guests. This makes a big positive point.
The only negative point I can mention is that the pool water is colder than the sea water... but horses for courses! ☺️
Strongly recommended!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mgmonzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CauayanIslandResort, General Manager at Cauayan Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear Mgmonzon,
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for your beautiful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the little paradise. Hasta la proxima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying four nights at the Cauayan in January. The people, accommodations and island are all top notch. We saw lots of wildlife, snorkeled, hiked, kayaked and (mostly) relaxed. We loved it all.

One thing to note is that the resort is a bit further from El Nido than we thought (totally worth it for the experience). I wouldn’t suggest doing a day trip to El Nido as you are bound by the arriving and departing guest flights, so you might have to wait on the dock for a while to get back to the resort. That said, if we were doing it over again, we wouldn’t have left at all!

Highly recommend. We loved our time here. Very unique.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingCopsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CauayanIslandResort, General Manager at Cauayan Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear TravelingCopsons,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us recently. We are so pleased that you loved the experience at our slice of heaven. We look forward to serving you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews