We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cadlao Resort(El Nido)
US$211
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$33
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$113
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$34
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Qi Palawan(El Nido)
US$156
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Tapik Beach Park Guest House(El Nido)(Great Value!)
US$8
US$5
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$99
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$45
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$426
US$384
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
376
94
43
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
94
43
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomcommon areasegg stationbbq nightmovie nightwashing machinebunk bedspub crawlbig lockersfresh pancakesmusical instrumentsfree laundryair conbeer pongcleaned regularlymodern designdifferent activities
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

PROS
-great location, right next to town. Staff was friendly. Participated their BBQ Wednesday event with outdoor seating. It was nice food with music and lights

CONS
-not to blame the weather, but we landed with pouring rain and everything was moist/humid. Was told it was raining the whole week. When we went in the room, the room smelled and the rug smelled. The shower door was also inconvenient. it is used to separate the shower and the bathroom toilet. The door didn't seal properly and water would go all over the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Swtyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hello Swtyoshi!

Our apologies if there are certain things that didn't meet your expectations. The weather this time of the year is really unpredictable, but if the weather is not so good, we are doing our best to keep the guests happy. We organize different nightly activities for SPINners to join.

We are also going to have a major renovation soon to address room issues. Hope you'll give us another chance and be able to SPIN with you again.

Cheers and safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I enjoyed my stay in Spin Designer Hostel, special shoutout to Nathan, Jeff, Frank, Grace & Arvie who thoroughly met our every request. (Extra pillows, extra towels, etc)

Unfortunately there was a brown-out during my stay so there were moments where the aircon did not work, etc. Towels were also not washed properly.

Breakfast was really good. :) The pancakes and omelettes were amazing even if I ate them everyday they were always in great taste!!

Room Tip: Private Room
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ria Iestin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Ria Iestin C!

Thanks for the high rating! I'll make sure that your shout-out will reach the staff of SPIN.
We apologize for the power outage that you have experienced, it's a recurring problem here in El Nido. And as for the towels not being washed properly, I'll personally address this issue,

Again, thank you for the time and we hope to SPIN with you again!

Safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Spin Designer Hostel is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! I traveled solo and stayed here for 5 nights (private room). First of all, the staff is amazing! They are super friendly and they all know your name. They also organize an activity (BBQ night, mini-cooking class, drinking game etc.) every single night. I joined a lot of them. It is a social hostel!
During my stay in El Nido the weather was pretty bad because of a typhoon. However, the hostel organized a couple of free activities during the day, or set up some day trips for us. That was great! :-)

The design of the hostel is amazing. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The bed is comfortable and the rain shower is great! Maybe could have used a closet or more hooks for my clothes in the room.
The location is great, you can easily walk to all the restaurants, shops and bars in El Nido town. But it is also quiet during the evening/night. The breakfast is amazing! They have pancakes, omelets, bread, fruit and local food. I loved it.

Wi-Fi connection is a bit slow and they only have Wi-Fi connection in the common area.

Highly recommend this hostel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hey Eline M

Super thanks for the awesome review. Too bad that the weather wasn't as good as you hoped it would be. But it's great that you get to participate and join in the nightly activities of the hostel.

Wi-fi is really not so good in Palawan, but we are looking into other options for a better and faster internet service.

See you and hope to SPIN with you again!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Stayed in a private room. The room was okay: spacious enough for one, and bathroom was fine except for the hooks near the shower (normally I really appreciate hooks to hang things up!). Because the wide shower door can swing to be the toilet room door, the spacing was too tight to open the shower door without backing up against and often scraping my back on the hooks if I wanted to avoid the toilet. There is little in the way of aesthetics, but functionally, the room was fine. The air conditioner worked most of the time and there was lots of lighting to choose to turn on or off. The bathroom fan (and air con) could be quite noisy and could impede your sleep if you leave them on all the time. Since it was torrential rain and wind while i was there, it wasn't that hot so I could turn them off at night and still be relatively comfortable. Bed and pillows were comfy.

The bath mat and towels may have been washed, but they didn’t look like it, with the bath mat having many orangey-brown stains and one of the towels having dark grey-brown-black spots. Steady migrations of ants in the room, but not a big problem.

Staff (including Nathan, JanJan, Jun, Arvie, Jinky) was friendly and hardworking. A shout-out to Nathan who patiently and diligently made eggs to order and very fluffy pancakes every day for all the hungry hostellers. Grace was great at getting guests to participate in games and sightseeing, even in the rain. Everyone was kind and helpful which helped to make the stay pleasant despite the uncooperative weather.

Wifi is only available in the common areas and can be spotty at times.

It's a place where you can meet lots of other travellers and is located conveniently enough just up the hill from downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lriglevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hey Iriglevart!

Thanks for leaving us a high rating even though there are some things that didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your honest review and we will take into consideration all the points that you mentioned and we'll do our best to address those issues. It's great that we get to hear from our guests, positive or negative feedback, it guides us to give you the best possible experience here at El Nido.

We hope that you'll give us another chance and that you'll SPIN with us again soon.

Cheers and safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017

My first time traveling solo and it was the best choice I made to stay in this awesome place. The staffs (Arvi, Nathan, Jinky, Dom Jan, and the rest of the gang) were very friendly, chatty, and accommodating to your needs. The night games to make your guests mingle was a great idea. The hotel does its best to make your stay really great. Thank you for having me at your hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlynbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi carlynbee!

Thank you too for choosing to stay in our hostel! We're super happy that we made your stay an unforgettable one. We do our best to make everyone happy, and knowing that our guests are satisfied, it keeps us inspired to keep doing what we do. We hope to SPIN with you again soon!

Did you join in any of our games?

Cheers!
Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews