We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in El Nido”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido
Ranked #2 of 119 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2017

The moment I arrived, I concluded that it’s the best accommodation for millennials or simply for people who want to meet other travelers. It was the kind of vibe El Nido lacked a few years back. Spin Designer Hostel has enlivened the place. I love how the hostel was designed—stylish with wide and open space surrounded by tall trees, allowing the air to flow naturally.

I got an air-conditioned private room that had the basic. I love how the pillows and the bed are soft, giving me a comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelosyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hey Travlosyo!

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We try our best to make SPIN a happy place where you can meet a lot of different travelers.

Thank you for the awesome review, hope to see you again!

Safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 436 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2017

PROS
-great location, right next to town. Staff was friendly. Participated their BBQ Wednesday event with outdoor seating. It was nice food with music and lights

CONS
-not to blame the weather, but we landed with pouring rain and everything was moist/humid. Was told it was raining the whole week. When we went in the room, the room smelled and the rug smelled. The shower door was also inconvenient. it is used to separate the shower and the bathroom toilet. The door didn't seal properly and water would go all over the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Swtyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Swtyoshi!

Our apologies if there are certain things that didn't meet your expectations. The weather this time of the year is really unpredictable, but if the weather is not so good, we are doing our best to keep the guests happy. We organize different nightly activities for SPINners to join.

We are also going to have a major renovation soon to address room issues. Hope you'll give us another chance and be able to SPIN with you again.

Cheers and safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

I enjoyed my stay in Spin Designer Hostel, special shoutout to Nathan, Jeff, Frank, Grace & Arvie who thoroughly met our every request. (Extra pillows, extra towels, etc)

Unfortunately there was a brown-out during my stay so there were moments where the aircon did not work, etc. Towels were also not washed properly.

Breakfast was really good. :) The pancakes and omelettes were amazing even if I ate them everyday they were always in great taste!!

Room Tip: Private Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ria Iestin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hi Ria Iestin C!

Thanks for the high rating! I'll make sure that your shout-out will reach the staff of SPIN.
We apologize for the power outage that you have experienced, it's a recurring problem here in El Nido. And as for the towels not being washed properly, I'll personally address this issue,

Again, thank you for the time and we hope to SPIN with you again!

Safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

Spin Designer Hostel is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! I traveled solo and stayed here for 5 nights (private room). First of all, the staff is amazing! They are super friendly and they all know your name. They also organize an activity (BBQ night, mini-cooking class, drinking game etc.) every single night. I joined a lot of them. It is a social hostel!
During my stay in El Nido the weather was pretty bad because of a typhoon. However, the hostel organized a couple of free activities during the day, or set up some day trips for us. That was great! :-)

The design of the hostel is amazing. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The bed is comfortable and the rain shower is great! Maybe could have used a closet or more hooks for my clothes in the room.
The location is great, you can easily walk to all the restaurants, shops and bars in El Nido town. But it is also quiet during the evening/night. The breakfast is amazing! They have pancakes, omelets, bread, fruit and local food. I loved it.

Wi-Fi connection is a bit slow and they only have Wi-Fi connection in the common area.

Highly recommend this hostel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hey Eline M

Super thanks for the awesome review. Too bad that the weather wasn't as good as you hoped it would be. But it's great that you get to participate and join in the nightly activities of the hostel.

Wi-fi is really not so good in Palawan, but we are looking into other options for a better and faster internet service.

See you and hope to SPIN with you again!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Stayed in a private room. The room was okay: spacious enough for one, and bathroom was fine except for the hooks near the shower (normally I really appreciate hooks to hang things up!). Because the wide shower door can swing to be the toilet room door, the spacing was too tight to open the shower door without backing up against and often scraping my back on the hooks if I wanted to avoid the toilet. There is little in the way of aesthetics, but functionally, the room was fine. The air conditioner worked most of the time and there was lots of lighting to choose to turn on or off. The bathroom fan (and air con) could be quite noisy and could impede your sleep if you leave them on all the time. Since it was torrential rain and wind while i was there, it wasn't that hot so I could turn them off at night and still be relatively comfortable. Bed and pillows were comfy.

The bath mat and towels may have been washed, but they didn’t look like it, with the bath mat having many orangey-brown stains and one of the towels having dark grey-brown-black spots. Steady migrations of ants in the room, but not a big problem.

Staff (including Nathan, JanJan, Jun, Arvie, Jinky) was friendly and hardworking. A shout-out to Nathan who patiently and diligently made eggs to order and very fluffy pancakes every day for all the hungry hostellers. Grace was great at getting guests to participate in games and sightseeing, even in the rain. Everyone was kind and helpful which helped to make the stay pleasant despite the uncooperative weather.

Wifi is only available in the common areas and can be spotty at times.

It's a place where you can meet lots of other travellers and is located conveniently enough just up the hill from downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lriglevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINHostelManager, Manager at Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Hey Iriglevart!

Thanks for leaving us a high rating even though there are some things that didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your honest review and we will take into consideration all the points that you mentioned and we'll do our best to address those issues. It's great that we get to hear from our guests, positive or negative feedback, it guides us to give you the best possible experience here at El Nido.

We hope that you'll give us another chance and that you'll SPIN with us again soon.

Cheers and safe travels!

Dondon
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
1.1 km away
Caalan Beach Resort
Caalan Beach Resort
#3 of 119 in El Nido
228 reviews
0.3 km away
Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast
Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast
#8 of 119 in El Nido
62 reviews
2.6 km away
Outpost Beach Hostel
Outpost Beach Hostel
#6 of 119 in El Nido
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Birdhouse El Nido
The Birdhouse El Nido
#1 of 119 in El Nido
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#4 of 105 in El Nido
218 reviews
0.2 km away
Our Melting Pot El Nido
Our Melting Pot El Nido
#4 of 119 in El Nido
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido

Address: Balinsasayaw Road cor. Calle Real, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 119 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: ₱1,919 - ₱3,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SPIN has the makings of a happening hangout joint for the crew: Instagrammable interiors, rooms for steady relaxation, hip amenities great for mingling, and events on the line-up for the young, adventurous crowd. Housing 73 beds in a combination of private rooms and mixed dorms, the hostel brings together an assorted bunch of backpackers, weekend warriors and beach enthusiasts out to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing