We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
$888
View deal
Agoda.com
$845
View deal
Vio.com
$799
View deal
Etrip$913
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveler rating
839
125
42
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
839
125
42
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach villa el nido resorts reef sharks pool bar small lagoon monitor lizards the resort manager hobie cat huge bathroom the general manager private dinner heaven on earth manila airport special dinner our honeymoon f b manager marine life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Pangulasian Island is described as El Nido Resorts’ Eco-Luxury island resort in Bacuit Bay, El Nido where I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights recently. The cost of the three nights for bed and breakfast and certain tours and activities was £574 ($720) per night so expectations were high and Pangulasian Island was being measured against similar priced experiences I have had in other resorts and hotels. The short break definitely had elements of luxury and the location is just picture postcard perfect and definitely ticks the location, location, location box. Being escorted to and from the local airport and transferred by boat was smooth and nicely done as was being greeted and serenaded on departure (though a little prolonged) and check in in the room was slick. The outside of the accommodation was a little tired but could pass for being shabby chic as island life can be. The inside of the accommodation met expectations, though as reported by other guests the temperature of the showers was found to be variable but didn’t detract from the whole experience. The free gifts were a nice touch. The team conducting local water based tours and activities were excellent, attentive and engaging. Unfortunately the whole luxury experience was let down for me by three factors:

1. The whole resort is tired and desperately needs refurbishment with visible signs of damage, decay and general disrepair though I won’t expand in detail as the resort is closing for said refurbishment in July of this year.
2. The food is mediocre at best and not up to standard for a luxury resort (even on an island), the breakfast buffet was average though food hygiene is questionable with flies on food sitting around uncovered, the toaster was wired in a dangerous fashion and provided electric shocks along with the toast which when raised as an issue the response was “we know that’s why we provide plastic tongs!”, omelettes were served burnt, sausages under cooked with associated risk of food poisoning. The majority of fish related items (and these were limited) at the pool bar were unavailable throughout the stay and the fries accompanying food tasted as though the oil they were cooked in was old and well past its sell by date – again on complaint a “oh well” attitude was displayed. Evening al a carte meals were better and presented well but again the food itself was not up to expectations.
3. Everything has a 10% service charge whether food, drink or additional activities and whilst I don’t mind paying for good service it grates a little when you are not getting good service.

On the whole the trip was a welcome distraction from time working in Manila. The resort has the potential to be great, especially considering the location and the things it has got right but is sadly let down by the points raised and in my opinion not worth what is currently being charged.

I communicated the above via email to El Nido Resorts and received the following response:

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at El Nido Resorts – Pangulasian Island. We are however disheartened to have read your email and we do regret to know about all the short comings in service issue that you experienced. We do apologize for this and we are sorry that you had to go through such inconveniences – this is really unacceptable. This is deeply unsettling news, as it is of major importance to us that our guests truly have a memorable experience that they enjoy whilst staying at any of our resorts. We will be renovating the resort this July and all maintenance issued will be addressed. In line with the renovation, our staff will also undergo refresher course and training. We are also reviewing the menu and will feature new dishes. Our kitchen team will also have their training enhance their skills. We will improve our service when we reopen after the renovation. Looking forward in welcoming you back in Pangulasian or to any of our affiliate resorts. We will ensure your stay will be a better one. Apologies, I was not able to meet you on your recent visit as I was in Manila for my days off. Please know that we take all negative feedback very seriously and that we shall be addressing all areas that you mentioned and looking into this immediately, therefore we sincerely thank you for informing us so this may be looked into. Regards, Heidi, HEIDI HOCSON, CGSP, CHA | Resort Manager, El Nido Resorts – Apulit Island/Pangulasian Island.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank 771darrenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Good:
1. Privacy and luxury feel
2. Great service! - They are all accommodating, professional and respectful.
3. Great snorkeling and diving sites just a few meters from your room.
4. Food - Great selection of local and foreign dishes
5. Sustainable development - They don't allow single use plastics and they source some of their goods locally.

The resort is currently under renovation (July-December).

Expecting the same feel and hospitality with better facilities.

Room tip: Get the beach villa or pool villa
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macasaetchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ElNidoResortsPH, Manager at El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time and effort to express your appreciation in TripAdvisor. Guest feedback such as yours has immeasurable value to us. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with our resort and your experience here. We will surely pass along your nice words and commendations to the team. I’m sure this will spur them to further surpass the already great work they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

This is a 5-star resort on a beautiful island. Great for snorkeling, diving, hiking . The menu has variety and food is good. Friendly staff But the service needs much improvement to meet the 5 star expectation. And the badly in need of renovation which is planned for the next three months. Our room had a leak. They are not equipped for rainy moments at all. Overall it’s important to note if you pay these prices, you expect the service and amenities to go with it. If it weren’t for the drop dead island itself, not sure it’s worth the expense staying on the resort itself. Especially at rainy period.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
8  Thank Ria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ElNidoResortsPH, Manager at El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time and effort to express your appreciation in TripAdvisor. Guest feedback such as yours has immeasurable value to us. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your activities and we wanted to inform you that we just recently re open , we did major repair in all of our rooms and improvement in some hotel facilities. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove our service . We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Wow, the best vacation we had so far, mainly because we love snorkeling. Just get into the water and you’ll find lots of corals and variety of fish. If you’re lucky enough, you’ll find yourself swimming with black tip sharks and turtles. All personels are very professional. The view, the people, the place...... just awesome.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vynvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ElNidoResortsPH, Manager at El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time and effort to express your appreciation in TripAdvisor. Guest feedback such as yours has immeasurable value to us. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with our resort and your experience here. We will surely pass along your nice words and commendations to the team. I’m sure this will spur them to further surpass the already great work they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

You can literally walk out to the front of your villa for excellent snorkeling (no need to take a boat ride out). We saw 6 baby black-tipped sharks on our first snorkeling session (and two turtles) along with an immense variety of fish. Pictures don't do the place justice. Food, though, continues to be an opportunity. The Pad Thai was great.

Also, there was one night when we forgot to order food, and we didn't know room service closes at 11PM (fine print at the foot of the menu). The staff was gracious enough to take an order so we wouldn't starve overnight. Really appreciate their flexibility.

Room tip: Beach villas if you like snorkeliing
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ElNidoResortsPH, Manager at El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time and effort to express your appreciation in TripAdvisor. Guest feedback such as yours has immeasurable value to us. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with our resort and your experience here. We will surely pass along your nice words and commendations to the team. I’m sure this will spur them to further surpass the already great work they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews