We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$18
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
180
155
60
20
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
155
60
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port barton the cottages tour pesos philippines generator bucket filipino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2019 via mobile

I’m posting this review both here and ‘Greenviews’ as the hotel has changed its name recently.

I booked ‘sea view’ cottage with air con. The cottages are old, desperately in need of refresh and does not matter about the sea view as they have shutters on windows so you can’t see it anyway. The air con is awful-ineffective and sounds like a jumbo jet at night.

The toilet did not flush, every day I request it to be fixed and everyday it remained broken. The water through taps and showers was orange.

Bed was incredibly uncomfortable, terrible quality mattress and pillows.

WiFi-there is none, do not believe staff who insist that ‘just broken today’, ElNido is bad for WiFi but most places pay for a ‘booster’ to help-Greenviews does not.

And above off the service, or complete lack of customer service. the staff all need to partake in a hospitality service programme to at least try and make the customer feel good. I made a complaint about a maid throwing away a valuable item, the solution was the maid, or anyone else, no longer made up my room.

Finally, so overpriced at 6000 pesos a night- stay somewhere else along this beach strip and enjoy a much better experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank 757juliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Greenviews hotel. The resort was pretty, cosy with a local look. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We enjoyed the nice sea view from our cottage and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We also recommend the Greenviews restaurant that offered by far the best currys of Port Barton.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PaulineJ685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

We had high expectations of this place, a friend of mine stayed there 3 years ago. Too bad there’s a new owner, who doesn’t care about offering a decent service. Our room was very small, smelled so bad (I don’t want to think about it again actually) and had blood stains all over the place. The bathroom was horrible, it flooded when someone took a shower. Toilet didn’t flush either. We left after only one night (although we should have left even earlier). There was a leak in our roof, when it started raining at night we got wet.

The bar service was also horrible. Not a lot of choices for drinks or foods. Happy hour was really a joke, I haven’t had an awful cocktail as theirs in a long time. For food: their special that night was a pizza. When I ordered one at 6.30 PM, they were all out. Since I’m a vegetarian, options were limited. I choose the cucumber salad. I literally only got cucumber...

The place is runned by a few minors, who have no clue about running a hotel or offering a service. We booked a tour via them and got ripped of all the time. Everything was extra, ofcourse our hotel didn’t mention that.

It really was our worst night in the Philippines. Maybe it’s a cheap hotel, but I wouldn’t even go there again if I got paid for it.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jana_vh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

We booked four nights at Greenviews Resort, and ended up leaving after one night.

The room was nowhere near as advertised. It was extremely dirty and unsanitary. Furnished with two single beds pushed together with a queen size mattress. We had to ask for a mosquito net, which really should be mandatory in every room. Every wall was covered in stains of dried out blood from killed mosquitoes. The toilet could not flush and there was almost no water in the shower. We had to flush by filling a bucket of water from the "bum gun" to flush. Electrical blackouts is common in El Nido, and the place boasts having an emergency generator. This was not used during the two 30 minute blackouts we experienced.

The "restaurant" was not much better. A simple dish called pork adobo is a staple of the Filipino kitchen. We received fatty pork cubes boiled into oblivion with a thin sauce of soy and garlic.

At breakfast we ordered pancakes with fresh fruit for the price of 200 PHP (150 PHP for pancakes with no fruit). Fresh fruit would usually imply some melon, papaya, mango or other local fruit next to the pancake. We received two pancakes with 10 thin slices of banana (in total probably half a banana) baked into the pancake. Thus we paid 50 PHP for half a banana.

When we mentioned this to the staff, they looked at each other and quite loudly laughed at us. This is simply unacceptable behaviour towards guests paying for overpriced rooms and overpriced food. The staff can laugh at the guests all they want, but do so when the guest has left the room.

When trying to pay for the food, they could barely give change for a 1000 PHP bill. The 1000 PHP bill represents a very small value, and we were shocked that it was a problem to pay with. They did not take credit card either. It becomes a problem every time the customer does not have exact change.

The weather at El Nido unfortunately turned out to be extremely bad, even in the rainy season. We ended up canceling the rest of our stay, despite no refunds given.

When asking for help with airport transport, they offered a private van f 1000 PHP for two persons for a 20 minute ride. As we declined this, they refused to help us call for a cyclo.

The only thing positive about this place is the location right on Corong-Corong Beach.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andreasbielefeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2019

We stayed at the greenviews for 4 nights in may at the beginning of our trip to the phillipines and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect- directly on corong corong beach- so easy to walk to any of the beach front restaurants and get to the boats for trips out. The staff were always very attentive and friendly. It was lovely to be met with cold ginger welcome drinks. The room was cleaned daily and had AC, which was a big bonus in the heat. Although basic facilities, for the price you are paying this is an amazing little gem. You feel safe with security on hand at all times and theres an option to put your valuables in a special safe behind reception. Would highly recommend and hope one day we can visit again!! Thank you for a great stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RCHG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews