We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cadlao Resort(El Nido)
US$211
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$33
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$109
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$34
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Qi Palawan(El Nido)
US$156
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tapik Beach Park Guest House(El Nido)(Great Value!)
US$8
US$5
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$99
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$45
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$426
US$384
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
44
31
19
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
31
19
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsginger teacommunal areasjam sandwichqueen deluxe roomno lifton arrivalwelcome drinkclean roomsenjoyable staylobby areaflat screen tvminute walk to the beachupon checkbook toursbreakfast buffethighly recommend this placeel nido town
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

it is a new lodging, the staff was nice, but the payment has to be improved since we had some misunderstanding while we were making reservation half- year ago, it could be better eventually... visiting the island while in the rain season, it made me back again next time...

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Complexmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a total of 4 nights at Amakan. The hotel rooms are clean first of all, the bedding is fresh and the grounds are well maintained. You can rent motorcycles and organise tours here. There is WiFi but only in the communal areas not in the bedrooms, there is an additional communal area on the roof but there is no WiFi there. Breakfast was a buffet garlic rice, a soup dish, cereals and toast, omelette (type changing daily) and a meat dish (also changing daily) juices etc, this was sometimes delicious others not so much.

The staff on the other hand were a mixed bag, some extremely helpful and smiley but did not have any idea of the local amenities, e.g cash machines (which are an issue in El Nido) they directed me to the one in the municipal building however when I got there they said it had been not working for the last 6 months???! They do not accept card and were very moody when asking for water during the night.. like we disturbed their sleep...wtf..the security was always friendly.

There are always a group of tricycle riders outside the gates ready to pounce on those who may be interested in using their services.

The location is good too, 10 Minute walk to the beach if that!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TimothyCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise-Emanuel, Public Relations Manager at Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Timothy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us in improving our services, particularly in the training of our team. Our aim is to provide you a homey experience in El Nido and we hope to have another opportunity in the near future to accommodate you. :)

Warmest Regards,
Your Amakan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2017

best part about this hotel is the location.. just 5 mins walks to almost everything.. clean and modern compared to most places in the surrounding area. staffs are helpful with island hopping tours .. only complain was no wifi in rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hdidxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise-Emanuel, Public Relations Manager at Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are very happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. Your feedback on wifi is noted and we hope we can improve on those services. We you choose to #StayAtAmakan again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in El Nido :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends chose this hotel since it is very accessible (5mins or less walk to the beach). I saw here on trip ad that rooms look new and clean although not that big but cleaniness matter thus also offers a good price. Staffs at the front desk counter were nice and accomodating but we encountered some issues upon entering the room. Since working in a hotel you know what to look at first... the sheets. Checked if they were clean but then there were smudges on them, pillow cases and the bed sheet itself as well as some flies on the walls. Before we went out we asked to have our sheets changed because we werent comfortable with it. We went out to the beach and ate lunch. We went back to our room at past 4pm only to see that the changing of sheets were not yet done and so we had to tell them again. We finally got to our room and as we entered there were literally lots of flies inside the room as the doors were left open upon make up room. We had to call asistamce frm Hk to have them removed it was a bit stressful. Thankfully we did not encounter any issues after that day. Breakfast was okay, I guess some people there owns the place and they were nice. Wifi is only available downstairs, as well as not forget bringing some spray since mosquitos are abundant in el nido.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank trishTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise-Emanuel, Public Relations Manager at Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us work tirelessly each day to improve our services. Rest assured that since your visit, we have installed further mosquito repellant devices in the areas near your room. Unfortunately being an accommodation in an island setting with public open areas, natural pests will always be present, however we will continue to work towards making all areas most comfortable for our guests. We apologize for the lapse in housekeeping and please know that these issues have been investigated and addressed accordingly. We do hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Your Amakan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I wouldn't come back here, yes it is clean and modern compared to most places in the surrounding area that I could see but the room was the size of shoe box so if I did I'd defiantly be upgrading in size because I felt very squashed. Breakfast was very average, and I returned to my room after a tour one day and they had cleaned the room and left the door wide open... after that I was convinced I would never be back!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise-Emanuel, Public Relations Manager at Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Sophie,

We are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Your feedback on room size and breakfast has been taken with great consideration and we are working tirelessly to improve in these areas daily. We performed an investigation on the house keeping described and discovered that due to an unfortunate incident a room in the next floor, our three man housekeeping team left the room being cleaned momentarily to attend to this emergency. We have addressed this incident, reprimanded the team accordingly, and apologize for any unease this has caused you. Please know your comfort and peace of mind are our top priority and we do not take these incidents lightly.

Rest assured we have since then implemented much stricter controls during our housekeeping rounds. Your review is very important in helping us improve our services, and we do hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Respectfully,
Your Amakan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews