We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 118 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to experience a real Filipino home experience, this is the place for you!

It’s strategically located at El Nido town near to restaurants, coffee shops, bars, convenience stores, services, etc. Upon entering I was greeted with the lush garden and an imposing old tree. It felt like I was not in the middle of the town. The architecture is pretty straightforward with Filipino architectural elements that gives warmth to the structure. The staff was cordial and friendly. They make you feel like you’re at your own home. The room is clean and complete. The bed and pillows were really comfortable especially after a long day at the beach.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2017

it is a new lodging, the staff was nice, but the payment has to be improved since we had some misunderstanding while we were making reservation half- year ago, it could be better eventually... visiting the island while in the rain season, it made me back again next time...

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Complexmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a total of 4 nights at Amakan. The hotel rooms are clean first of all, the bedding is fresh and the grounds are well maintained. You can rent motorcycles and organise tours here. There is WiFi but only in the communal areas not in the bedrooms, there is an additional communal area on the roof but there is no WiFi there. Breakfast was a buffet garlic rice, a soup dish, cereals and toast, omelette (type changing daily) and a meat dish (also changing daily) juices etc, this was sometimes delicious others not so much.

The staff on the other hand were a mixed bag, some extremely helpful and smiley but did not have any idea of the local amenities, e.g cash machines (which are an issue in El Nido) they directed me to the one in the municipal building however when I got there they said it had been not working for the last 6 months???! They do not accept card and were very moody when asking for water during the night.. like we disturbed their sleep...wtf..the security was always friendly.

There are always a group of tricycle riders outside the gates ready to pounce on those who may be interested in using their services.

The location is good too, 10 Minute walk to the beach if that!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TimothyCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

best part about this hotel is the location.. just 5 mins walks to almost everything.. clean and modern compared to most places in the surrounding area. staffs are helpful with island hopping tours .. only complain was no wifi in rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hdidxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends chose this hotel since it is very accessible (5mins or less walk to the beach). I saw here on trip ad that rooms look new and clean although not that big but cleaniness matter thus also offers a good price. Staffs at the front desk counter were nice and accomodating but we encountered some issues upon entering the room. Since working in a hotel you know what to look at first... the sheets. Checked if they were clean but then there were smudges on them, pillow cases and the bed sheet itself as well as some flies on the walls. Before we went out we asked to have our sheets changed because we werent comfortable with it. We went out to the beach and ate lunch. We went back to our room at past 4pm only to see that the changing of sheets were not yet done and so we had to tell them again. We finally got to our room and as we entered there were literally lots of flies inside the room as the doors were left open upon make up room. We had to call asistamce frm Hk to have them removed it was a bit stressful. Thankfully we did not encounter any issues after that day. Breakfast was okay, I guess some people there owns the place and they were nice. Wifi is only available downstairs, as well as not forget bringing some spray since mosquitos are abundant in el nido.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank kimitalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Nido hotels
23.8 km away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
246 reviews
0.3 km away
Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido
1.4 km away
Caalan Beach Resort
Caalan Beach Resort
#3 of 118 in El Nido
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#4 of 105 in El Nido
218 reviews
2.4 km away
Outpost Beach Hostel
Outpost Beach Hostel
#6 of 118 in El Nido
48 reviews
0.2 km away
Mansion Buenavista
Mansion Buenavista
#2 of 105 in El Nido
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast

Address: Amboy Street, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Specialty Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: ₱1,764 - ₱7,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakan is a modern, tropical and traditionally inspired boutique accommodation right in the heart of El Nido town center. We are your home away from home, where little comforts matter, in one of the most beautiful islands in the Philippines - Palawan. Amakan is the Filipino word for the bamboo matting found in traditional Philippine stilt houses called bahay kubo/nipa hut. Bamboo is a strong and durable material is used for many purposes - to build homes and boats and can be weaved together for walls, floors, mats, bags and containers. In Amakan, we have merged the traditional with the modern, providing the ambiance and beauty of the Philippines with the creature comforts of home. What we like to consider as a homey approach to hospitality. By providing a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere to base yourself in while in El Nido, we know you will be able to truly enjoy your time in Palawan. Welcome to Amakan. We hope you stay a while. #stayatamakan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing