We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$35
View deal
Priceline
$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/18/23
Agoda.com
$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/18/23
Expedia.com$28
Travelocity$28
Hotels.com$28
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
35
10
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
10
8
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2018

Papa Fred's was a great choice for anyone looking for great, clean, basic accommodations. The staff were super friendly and helped me book a moped ride over to White Beach for the day.

My room was on the ground level and had a great little porch to relax on.

It was a super easy walk straight from the dock where the boat let me off. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe and looked after at Papa Fred's.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
26  Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

This hotel is located at Sabang beach, currently the Sabang pier is under renovation and construction so boat cannot stop here.
Need about 10minutes walk from the main street.
Average hotel in term of the pricing.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank absolutelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

So let me preface this with perhaps my expectations of Puerto Galera and Papa Fred's both were just too high. The glossy pictures and video of a clean pool and hot tub and nice place on the beach front were deceiving to say the least but to arrive and find a barely existent island infrastructure, a very terrible odor of raw sewage every time I stepped outside was too much. The room, for what it was, was clean-ish. The air conditioning we paid extra for on the rooftop didn't work. The bed was a very hard mattress on a platform with only a sheet and it was stiff and smelled badly like it had been hung outside to dry. The water in the shower and sink smelled of sewage too. The pool was really a mosquito cesspool and the chairs were rotting rubber pads.
So, besides all of that there is the island itself. I will say from a distance it's gorgeous! The scenery is beautiful and the water is clear as you come in. But the sewage and trash are heavy and the people are desperately poor and will hound you every time you walk out. The restaurant at Papa Freds was dirty and the food was more expensive than a really nice clean modern restaurant in Manila.
There are girly bars literally everywhere and creepy men wandering around waiting for the right girl. There were sick and dying animals everywhere. There's just a dirty seedy vibe here.
We chose not to stay but one of the four nights we booked. We can't get our money back but that's ok... It was really that bad. There was no way we were going to dive... Just simply didn't trust the dive gear, the shops or anything about it.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank lauramV4891TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
435MikeG, Owner at Papa Fred's Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion on your recent stay at Papa Fred's Beach Resort.
We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

But in review well how can I say.
# The air con is included in the room price. You didn't paid extra! Air-con was working by the way.
# You are the first which complain about our mattress since we open 4 years ago.Also nonsense!
# The water do not smelled to sewage coz there we have our own deep well. No public water!
# Yes its small pool but at least some pool for our customer and it will be cleaned every day!
# According the Steakhouse kindly let me know what should be dirty? Also if you can't afford the food why you eat here? You see our prices in the menu. We stand for quality food in our restaurant.
# etc...

In my opinion you find many way for complaining which isn't truth by the way coz you feel not comfortable i guess.
When you check out we ask you personal if everything was ok. You replied to us "ALL FINE" We wanna go Manila now. So if you have any complain (if there is one) why you never talk to us?


The entire team is looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in room 11....propably the best place for to stay in Sabang. Highlight is the whirlpool on he terrace...in combination with the beach chair and a large rattan couch just perfect for to enjoy the sunset and a romantic night under a wonderful starheaven.
Resort is connected with the best restaurant...Papa Freds steakhouse.
Just walking distance from the pier.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

I went here last April 2018. If you just want to stay in a quiet area in Puerto Galera, stay here. Since they're location is not in the white beach (crowded area). But if you want to visit white beach sometimes, this place is too far. You have to take a jeepney and tricycle. Travel time is around 40-50mins.

This place is in Sabang beach. Which is super near in the port going back to Batangas. :)

I hope someday they can offer breakfast for in house guests. :)

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank msanonymousmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews