We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$53
View deal
Expedia.com
$52
View deal
Agoda.com
$49
View deal
Priceline$65
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com$52
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
77
49
17
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
49
17
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2019

This was my second stay at the Mermaid Resort. I am happy to have visited again. The location is on the main road. It's close to the bay but just above the noisy restaurants and bars.

The penthouse rooms offer a nice view of the bay and a giant outdoor whirlpool tub. Air conditioning is a modern split mini with remote control - great! The bed has a memory foam mattress and duvet-type comforter.

The bathroom has an enormous tub/shower. There are two shelves for toiletries, etc. Everything was very clean. There is a large TV with lots of channels. Internet speeds are solid: 5 mbps down, 6mbps up.

The staff are terrific. They arranged a water taxi for me and a transfer to Manila. I'd be happy to return.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

I have been to Sabang in the past and stayed in the Mermaid Resort. There are some changes in the transportation to and from Sabang. Currently, there is no regular boat connection from Batangas to Sabang. You need to choose a connection to Puerto Galera and then go by trike for 20 min to Sabang. When I was faced with the problem to leave the island the hotel staff and the owner of the hotel helped me to secure a boat ticket from Balatero back to Batangas. You can only buy the ticket (from the boat company) on the same day (which does not make sense at all) and not in advance. This means if the boat is full on that day before you arrive at the ticket counter then you have to stay on the island. The Mermaid staff sent an employee to purchase my ticket early in the morning of my departure so I could easily make it back to Batangas.
I also like the hotel because the owner built in an own water filtration system to process the regular tap water before it reaches the hotel guests. In the Philippines it is not safe to drink regular tap water and you should even brush you teeth with bottled water.
Overall the hotel is very clean and the associated dive shop of the Mermaid resort puts safety first for its guests. That means all the dive guides are local and know all othe dangers of rapidly changing weather conditions and the currents in the ocean.
I will return to the Mermaid again.

Room tip: Ocean is nice but pool view is sufficient if you spend most of your day diving.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ThaiFriendLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 21, 2019

It was a bit of a disappointment after all the positive reviews, but that is also partly due to the area. Sabang is a bit sad. I guess it is good if you are looking for lots of diving schools or lady bars, but not great for a family. There is a beach close by, but it isn't for bathing, although there are some nice restaurants alongside it.

Positives: friendly staff, especially the owners and staff at the bar.
Very accommodating at arranging trips like island hoping and waterfall visits.
Clean basic rooms.
Two minute walk from the centre and the beach.
Nice pool.
Free pool table.

Negatives: both rooms really smelt of smoke, even though they were non smoking and they tried spraying them. I think that is because there is a balcony right outside of each room (which is very nice), with a sitting area and an ashtray. So naturally the rooms smell.
Noisy area.
The views aren't great.
No breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pingviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 7, 2018

When the staffs are happy and praise their boss, you know you are staying in a good hotel. Diving is very good with only short boat ride. Plenty of marine life and turtles. I stayed in the penthouse with good view of the land scrap. Nice to stay out in the balcony and chill in the evening. Everything is within walking distance. I can get used to the egg, corn beef and rice served every morning at the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

Hotel clean well constructed and very good service. There are rooms higher up with views or lower down on the pool side. All rooms are good from what I saw. I did prefer the pool side rooms just to be able to take a dip during the heat. The hotel is like new and certainly the best we saw at the dive side of the island Sabang. No details overlooked for a hotel in a developing market such as Sabang. 2 min walk to everything no taxi motor bikes are required or Jeepney unless you are going to White Beach or Puerto Galera. Restaurant on site is quite nice to save having to go out to eat. Prices are reasonable in all regards. The family also owns Mermaid Diving which is excellent. Will definitely return to this property to dive in the area, some of the best diving I’ve done having sampled several countries in the area. Thank to the great staff at the hotel which were always available when required.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews