We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top resorts in Sabang and its away from the clubs”
Review of Mermaid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mermaid Resort
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Spent several days with them and I was pleased with my decision to stay at this location.

Hotel Pros:

- Quiet: Its not down in the heart of the city and clubs so you don't get the hustle and bustle and the noise that comes with it. Be aware that you are right next to the main road so you will hear cars and motorcycles.
- Clean: The hotel is very clean and well maintained
- Friendly: Everyone is very nice and helpful
- Food: The food prepared was tasty and at a good price
- Comfortable: The room is well done and they have hot water all the time. Bed is nice and the fridge in well stocked.

Hotel Cons:
- Not close to shore so you have to walk a bunch up and down the street (not far, but you should know)
- Stairs: Its built vertical so you will being doing your steps
- Restaurant hot: They don't have an indoor eating area so you will be hot while eating
- Reception Hours: They are not staffed 24 hours so no help at night
- Diet Soda: They don't have diet soda available in the rom so I had to always go out and get them at the store down the road.

SCUBA Pros:
- Staff: I have to say the Liza was great in the dive area to help the divers with anything they could need. Anthony is a great Divemaster and I enjoyed diving with him (being an instructor I would welcome him to be my Divemaster)
- Boat: They clearly have the best boats in the area. Twin outboards and well designed.
- Gear: As I brought my own gear I did not use rentals but the others there did use the rentals and they looked well maintained.
- Options: Standard Air, Nitrox and Mixed Gas is available
- Location: They have a dive shop right on the water so you can keep your gear right there and not have to lug it up and down.
- Gear handling: They handle your gear for you so you don't need to worry about it being cleaned and hung each day.

SCUBA Cons:
- Assist: While this is a minor issue, I was surprised that they did not lift your gear into the boat for you. We had to climb up the boat ladder with the gear on our backs. Every other operation in the area has you remove your BCD int he water and they lift it for you while you climb in without the weight on your back. They need to adopt this standard.
- Validation: No one ever asked to see my C-Card? Ever!

A few Notes:

- If you are there only for the diving, they have good rooms at about half the price directly above the dive shop. You an save some money and not have to walk up the road. If you are traveling single then this is the best bet (no pool or restaurant but that is not an issue if you are alone)

- Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor if you are staying at the main location to have a view and not be in the sound echo

- Remember to provide a tip at the end of your stay. I spoke to a couple of people that did not realize this was customary and these people need the tips to survive.

I WILL BE BACK - THANK YOU ALL

Room Tip: Choose a High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jtmandelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2016

I stayed for a long weekend with Mermaid Resort in one of the rooms over the dive shop. I have stayed at the hilltop location of Mermaid previously, but I think this will be my preferred location going forward. It's right on the waterfront so there is minimal street noise and it's easy to get to several of the dive shops and restaurants along the beach. The room was recently renovated and was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kburas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Just had a week at mermaid resort and enjoyed sabang so much I extended by 4 days. Very convenient just out of the main town, nice food, beer 24/7 and a pool that's hardly used (quality for late nights). Rooms are quiet (unless next to the road) with everything you could want. Will definitely go back there.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank Teccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the budget rooms of the dive centre which belongs to the resort. The rooms were air conditioned and had bathrooms and showers as well as tvs and a safe. We stayed one night and billed two dives with our dive instructor Rolly. We were the only divers at that day and we've enjoyed it. Lots of fish and beautiful coral. We fed the fish and went down to the ship wrecks in Sabang bay. Great dives.
Really recommended and affordable prices!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank flipo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Didn't believe the bad reviews and paid dearly. Booked a non-smoking room with a terrace, but was given a room in lower ground, with no terrace. There's a window, but it faced the corridor and toilet door, so we kept it shut. Room smelled of smoke, with cigarette packs on top on the fridge. No apologies for the inconvenience. Oh, the hotel is nowhere near the waterfront. In this intense summer heat, we would have stayed indoors, except that it's like being trapped in a cage. Wifi is spotty, at best.

Asked the reception where to get tickets for the return ferry, and was told I could get it from them the next day. Asked them again the following morning, was told to get it at noon, and it's been reserved. Finally, got the ticket, but when we got to the dock -- surprisingly, we weren't on the passenger manifest, and there's no more space. So had to walk back again under intense heat, with luggages, to get a refund. Again, they're not even sorry. Did I mention it was the last boat? Had to take a motorcycle to get to another pier, hoping to catch a ferry. There wasn't, but that's another story.

Oh, placed my pants by the chair, which was dusty, but since the closet had no hangers, and nowhere else to put it. By the time I got home, my legs were inflammed, full of bites from bugs! Would love to post a picture, but it ain't pretty!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lyza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Hello Lyza25,

First of all we would like to apologize about your experience but we want to clear some points also.

First of all we apologize for your rooms since it does not have a private balcony but during your check-in time after you saw your room you can ask our reception if there are any other rooms available with the same category and price and our reception staff can check on the availability for your preference.

Second, all our rooms are non-smoking rooms, but we do have cigarette packs available in the minibar. Even though we are selling cigarettes but all the rooms are still non-smoking rooms, guest can smoke outside their room or on the balcony outside the rooms which ashtray is also available. And since the cigarette packs are in the minibar it does not smell or emit any since it is still sealed and our housekeeper check it twice daily. And if you still be able to smell the cigarette you can ask our housekeeper or the reception just to take-out or remove the cigarette packs from the minibar.

Third is yes we are not on the front beach or near the shoreline and we are not advertising it in anyway. Our dive shop (Mermaid Divers) is just infront of the Sabang shoreline (beach) but we advertise that as a Mermaid Divers (Diveshop) but not the Mermaid Resort itself.

Fourth is we do sell boat tickets just to make it easy for the guest that want to travel or commute on the public transport. Problem is the boat operator/management does not inform us about their change in procedure. There supposed to be a slot for the ticket sold in the resort we apologize for the inconvenience that it cause. In addition to this once our guest buy boat ticket from us we ask the guest to be on the port 30 minutes before the scheduled boarding time in case there last minute changes of the schedule of the boats due to weather condition and or technical stuff. At the moment we stop selling any boat tickets after this scenario.

Last is regarding hangers on the room, all our rooms have hangers, and if your your does not have one during your stay you can easily phone the reception from your room and ask for the hanger and we are happy to provide you. Regarding the inflamed legs we cannot comment on that since we we never have anyone complaining about bugs in the resort and dust that can inflamed legs so far. But after reading your feedback we do check your room for bugs and any uncleaned area but we found nothing.

Again we are very sorry for the inconvenience that you experience, this experience is also an eye-opener for us and intermediately we act on especially on the boat ticket issue and now we are not selling anymore and we are not recommending our guest to travel using public transport.

Thank you and good day.

The Mermaid Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.7 km away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
3.8 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 53 in Puerto Galera
232 reviews
0.3 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
0.7 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 53 in Puerto Galera
340 reviews
3.4 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 53 in Puerto Galera
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Resort

Address: Sabang Beach | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: ₱2,934 - ₱4,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera is the finest dive resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. The waters around have been dubbed the center of the center of marine biodiversity in the world. Mermaid Resort features 40 large guest rooms and suites -- all exclusively furnished with the comforts of a modern hotel resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Puerto Galera
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing