We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget accomodation and dives”
Review of Mermaid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mermaid Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Budget accomodation and dives”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the budget rooms of the dive centre which belongs to the resort. The rooms were air conditioned and had bathrooms and showers as well as tvs and a safe. We stayed one night and billed two dives with our dive instructor Rolly. We were the only divers at that day and we've enjoyed it. Lots of fish and beautiful coral. We fed the fish and went down to the ship wrecks in Sabang bay. Great dives.
Really recommended and affordable prices!

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flipo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
38
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Didn't believe the bad reviews and paid dearly. Booked a non-smoking room with a terrace, but was given a room in lower ground, with no terrace. There's a window, but it faced the corridor and toilet door, so we kept it shut. Room smelled of smoke, with cigarette packs on top on the fridge. No apologies for the inconvenience. Oh, the hotel is nowhere near the waterfront. In this intense summer heat, we would have stayed indoors, except that it's like being trapped in a cage. Wifi is spotty, at best.

Asked the reception where to get tickets for the return ferry, and was told I could get it from them the next day. Asked them again the following morning, was told to get it at noon, and it's been reserved. Finally, got the ticket, but when we got to the dock -- surprisingly, we weren't on the passenger manifest, and there's no more space. So had to walk back again under intense heat, with luggages, to get a refund. Again, they're not even sorry. Did I mention it was the last boat? Had to take a motorcycle to get to another pier, hoping to catch a ferry. There wasn't, but that's another story.

Oh, placed my pants by the chair, which was dusty, but since the closet had no hangers, and nowhere else to put it. By the time I got home, my legs were inflammed, full of bites from bugs! Would love to post a picture, but it ain't pretty!

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidResort, Public Relations Manager at Mermaid Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2017
Hello Lyza25,

First of all we would like to apologize about your experience but we want to clear some points also.

First of all we apologize for your rooms since it does not have a private balcony but during your check-in time after you saw your room you can ask our reception if there are any other rooms available with the same category and price and our reception staff can check on the availability for your preference.

Second, all our rooms are non-smoking rooms, but we do have cigarette packs available in the minibar. Even though we are selling cigarettes but all the rooms are still non-smoking rooms, guest can smoke outside their room or on the balcony outside the rooms which ashtray is also available. And since the cigarette packs are in the minibar it does not smell or emit any since it is still sealed and our housekeeper check it twice daily. And if you still be able to smell the cigarette you can ask our housekeeper or the reception just to take-out or remove the cigarette packs from the minibar.

Third is yes we are not on the front beach or near the shoreline and we are not advertising it in anyway. Our dive shop (Mermaid Divers) is just infront of the Sabang shoreline (beach) but we advertise that as a Mermaid Divers (Diveshop) but not the Mermaid Resort itself.

Fourth is we do sell boat tickets just to make it easy for the guest that want to travel or commute on the public transport. Problem is the boat operator/management does not inform us about their change in procedure. There supposed to be a slot for the ticket sold in the resort we apologize for the inconvenience that it cause. In addition to this once our guest buy boat ticket from us we ask the guest to be on the port 30 minutes before the scheduled boarding time in case there last minute changes of the schedule of the boats due to weather condition and or technical stuff. At the moment we stop selling any boat tickets after this scenario.

Last is regarding hangers on the room, all our rooms have hangers, and if your your does not have one during your stay you can easily phone the reception from your room and ask for the hanger and we are happy to provide you. Regarding the inflamed legs we cannot comment on that since we we never have anyone complaining about bugs in the resort and dust that can inflamed legs so far. But after reading your feedback we do check your room for bugs and any uncleaned area but we found nothing.

Again we are very sorry for the inconvenience that you experience, this experience is also an eye-opener for us and intermediately we act on especially on the boat ticket issue and now we are not selling anymore and we are not recommending our guest to travel using public transport.

Thank you and good day.

The Mermaid Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2016

The room and location were fine. Good A/C and one block away from the center of Sabang. However, they have this weird system for wi-fi. They give you a password for two devices with limited data for just the duration of your stay. I asked for three devices. That's when the fun began. Yvonne at their stuff was trying every possible "Go away now" message with me. Finally, I managed to talk to the manager who also gave me their best "Tomorrow" explanations. I could not understand why they just did not give me another password. Finally, they complied. The next day, I ran out of data. The "Go away" explanations started again. Because of that, I moved to another hotel. I hope that they will realize that by saving money on wi-fi like that, they are losing guests.

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remigny, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2016

I had chosen the Penthouse room and it was definitively a good choice,
Big room with nice terrace and Jacuzzi.
You really feel alone and it is relaxing
The service was good but I didn't t test the food

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Wow. Perfect hotel location right across from the main street facing Tropicana and views of the ocean. Had the Penthouse room which was huge and awesome. Loved that I could be at any bar, or restaurant in no time at all. Close to all the bars ,money changers, food markets, and action. Also, hotel has a great restaurant with good food and laundy service. Great service from entire staff and the owner is a great gentleman who is friendly and honest man. Hotel can arrange tours, scuba, snorkeling, and even your return ferry ticket to Batangas Pier. Plus the hotel design and room cleanliness will keep me going back time and time again. Salamat Po!

Room Tip: Penthouse room and be patient with WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.7 km away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
148 reviews
0.3 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.7 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 52 in Puerto Galera
217 reviews
7.7 km away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
161 reviews
3.0 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Resort

Property: Mermaid Resort
Address: Sabang Beach | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price range (per night): ₱2,727 - ₱3,293
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera is the finest dive resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. The waters around have been dubbed the center of the center of marine biodiversity in the world. Mermaid Resort features 40 large guest rooms and suites -- all exclusively furnished with the comforts of a modern hotel resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Puerto Galera
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing