We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Sabang”
Review of Lalaguna Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lalaguna Villas
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best resort in Sabang”
Reviewed April 15, 2017

This was my second trip to Puerto Galera, with a friend. We did not book any resort, and we sort of just planned to just look for rooms when we get there. And unexpectedly, we met an old pal in Lalaguna Villas, and chatted for awhile. While we were there, we decided to check out the rooms and so we ended up staying there. We got the room on the 5th level, it was quite a bit of a hike but admittedly worth the view. The room is equipped with complete amenities, you name it, they have it. Clean, and spacious. It has a big terrace where you can relax at the sunbed overlooking the ocean. Which, for me, was a perfect escape from the crowded city.
Their restaurant offers a delicious foods, big serving, that you get what you paid for.
The staff are friendly, and very accommodating. They make us feel like home. And so as the owner Chris, who been such a generous host during our stay.
Too bad we only stayed for one night as we need to go back to the city. But will definitely coming back again.
And, thanks Trish for the speed boat service going back to Sabang.

  • Stayed April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joram o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
43
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2017

My wife and myself stayed at La Laguna Villas for 2 nights as part of our delayed honey moon. In short, best in class experience!

The Hotel itself is a boat ride away from the main Sabang pier and walking distance to the pier itself or, other beaches.

We had booked the executive room and the room was big, filled with amenities such as microwave, hot and cold distilled water dispenser which were a nice touch. The room is fully airconditioned and with an attached veranda to sun bath in lounges.The bathroom has 24 hours hot water, and also included a whirlpool jet bath tub which added to our experience of feeling pampered.

The staff are an asset to La Laguna Villas, always courteous and friendly, accommodating all our requests and inquires. The staff also helped us arrange island hopping excursions which were fair in price. A family atmosphere!

We also had the BBQ on the roof top, which was a delightful experience! The food was plentiful and atmosphere overlooking the bay contributed to a romantic affair for us as a couple and is something for travelers to look forward to!

There are fair bit of nice restaurants of all flavors to try within a short distance of the hotel as well. There are many bars also located at a short distance as well as diving schools should you take the fancy.

We recommend La Laguna Villas to anyone who would want to feel right at home for a relaxing and pleasant stay. Best in class and value for money!

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MUYAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay here. I booked for 2 separate rooms online and they offered us an upgrade to the 2 br villas for 2k a night add on. The room was spacious for our family and clean. We were able to cook our own food. Beach front was not good for swimming but you just need to walk 5 mins and theres a nice beach at the back.

Stayed April 2017, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Notzilog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2017

I stayed for 6 days and I enjoyed every single one of them. My room was spacious, clean, with balcony overlooking the ocean and I even had access to next-door kitchen. Wifi is strong everywhere within the resort (and rooms) and fast.
The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good too, so I ended up eating mostly in-house too. Staff was friendly and I honestly can't say a single bad word about my stay there. If I ever go back to PG, I'll stay here again for sure.
PS. Unless you have a backpack, it's worth dishing the P200 for boat pickup as it's a bit of a walk from the jetty.

  • Stayed March 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Be very very cautious when making reservations at this hotel. I had a reservation for the night of December 25th 2016. Due to a Typhoon, the ferry to the island was not running. The hotel was kind enough to send me an email stating that the ferry was not running. When I requested a refund, I was told that my reservation was not refundable. The only thing they would do was issue me a credit for a future visa. I am from the United States with no plans to return to the Philippines any time soon. A Credit does me no good. A hotel that will not refund due to cancellation because of an Act of Nature is one I would be leery of.

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Manager at Lalaguna Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Dale,

First of all we would like apologize for your inconvenience with your booking here at Lalaguna Villas.

Unfortunately the typhoon in December was so severe that the coast guard had no option but to cancel all crossings to the island of Mindoro due to passenger safety issues.

We do understand and sympathize with your frustrations over Orbitz's cancellation policy. Unfortunately you choose the non refundable option when you made the booking, but as a gesture of good faith on our behalf, we have offered you one night's stay here at Lalaguna Villas as compensation even before you wrote this review.

We are looking forward welcoming you to our resort here in Puerto Galera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
4.0 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 52 in Puerto Galera
222 reviews
0.8 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.0 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#2 of 52 in Puerto Galera
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
150 reviews
3.2 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
91 reviews
3.0 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalaguna Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalaguna Villas

Property: Lalaguna Villas
Address: Small Lalaguna Beach | Sabang, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price range (per night): ₱2,564 - ₱9,451
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lalaguna Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lalaguna Villas Resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera is an exotic beach resort resting along the lush green forest mountains of Mindoro that connect to a white sand, blue water beach. We offer a private villas-style atmosphere with charming Filipino hospitality on a quiet beach within a short walk of the center of the lively town of Sabang. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from studios for the budget conscious, to suites and villas to suit even the most discerning traveller, up to our signature multiple bedroom Penthouse apartment. We have a large pool and recreation area, complemented by rooftop gardens. All rooms are equipped with top quality brands such as Slumberland mattresses, Samsung TVs, DVD players, Refrigerators. Guests receive unlimited free bottled water, free laundry, 24 hour room service - truly a 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lalaguna Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing