We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a single bad thing...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lalaguna Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lalaguna Villas
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a single bad thing...”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for 6 days and I enjoyed every single one of them. My room was spacious, clean, with balcony overlooking the ocean and I even had access to next-door kitchen. Wifi is strong everywhere within the resort (and rooms) and fast.
The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good too, so I ended up eating mostly in-house too. Staff was friendly and I honestly can't say a single bad word about my stay there. If I ever go back to PG, I'll stay here again for sure.
PS. Unless you have a backpack, it's worth dishing the P200 for boat pickup as it's a bit of a walk from the jetty.

  • Stayed March 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
36
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Be very very cautious when making reservations at this hotel. I had a reservation for the night of December 25th 2016. Due to a Typhoon, the ferry to the island was not running. The hotel was kind enough to send me an email stating that the ferry was not running. When I requested a refund, I was told that my reservation was not refundable. The only thing they would do was issue me a credit for a future visa. I am from the United States with no plans to return to the Philippines any time soon. A Credit does me no good. A hotel that will not refund due to cancellation because of an Act of Nature is one I would be leery of.

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Manager at Lalaguna Villas, responded to this review, March 17, 2017
Dear Dale,

First of all we would like apologize for your inconvenience with your booking here at Lalaguna Villas.

Unfortunately the typhoon in December was so severe that the coast guard had no option but to cancel all crossings to the island of Mindoro due to passenger safety issues.

We do understand and sympathize with your frustrations over Orbitz's cancellation policy. Unfortunately you choose the non refundable option when you made the booking, but as a gesture of good faith on our behalf, we have offered you one night's stay here at Lalaguna Villas as compensation even before you wrote this review.

We are looking forward welcoming you to our resort here in Puerto Galera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Stayed at La Laguna Villas for 8 nights in Villa L66 (6th Floor) and it was the second time I have stayed at the resort and requested the same room. This resort has a range of room types to suit all budgets but if you are looking for modern high end accommodation with all the comforts of home then the Luxury Villas will meet your requirements. There are certainly cheaper options available but you get what you pay for. The room was exactly as the photos on the website depict with stunning views from the large balcony and the facilities around the resort are well maintained. Staff are friendly and accommodating and everyone from the cleaners to the security guard will greet you with a smile as you pass. The in house dining was good quality with plenty of choice and being 24 hours can order up some munchies after a night on the town. Internet is reasonably good for Philippines standard and for Divers one of the best dive shops in Puerto Galera "Action Divers" is literally right on the front door step. Personally the thing that sets this resort apart from others I have stayed in is the comfortable beds - they have spent the money on quality mattresses and it makes any holiday that much more relaxing when you get a good nights sleep. I will return for sure!

Room Tip: If your not so fit or don't like stairs request a room on lower floors but the higher the climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Lalaguna Villas was par for everything with the exception of the view which was a hole in one! We stayed at the penthouse with a balcony and that view alone was worth the night stay other than that unless you are sharing the penthouse with a group of people it's quite expensive.

They do have a boat that picks you up from the harbor which is great and starts things off quite nice.

The rooms were clean and definitely accommodating but nothing is free! You are given an awesome amount of bathroom supplies but be warned they all come at a price! There was a 3D TV which was fun to use. Their internet was high speed which I believe is far and few between in this area.

Depending on the person and the family this may ve a positive or a negative -- there is no elevator. So if you are staying at the penthouse or a high numbered room you are working to get there -- talk about a leg burn!

The pool is nice and great for families. The restaurant/bar has great service and the bartender is awesome. He mixes great drinks. The food though is just par -- nothing super fantastic or something to go out of your way to eat.

The one great thing at Lalaguna is the dive resort they partner with. Their front desk customer service is also very good and the staff are very friendly.

Overall it's a little over priced (but we did stay at one of the most expensive rooms) but the view was spectacular and the service pretty good.

Stayed December 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kcaleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Visited La Laguna Villas Jan. 31 to Feb 10th 2017 with a special someone and a lovely couple from Austria.

I must agree LLV is one of the nicest hotel in Sabang/Puerto Galera. I must commend that it has approachable and helpful staff (Kudos esp. Bar/Poolside, Receptions/Frontdesk, Security & SpeedBoat Crews).

There was just a little misunderstanding during the check out when the housekeeping staff inaccurately reported we ate 2 bars of chocolates in the fridge which were never there when we arrived, as well as the deo that H-staff thought belongs to LLV. The report was corrected, when we mentioned that we didn't even use any of the complimentary toiletries they have provided since day 1, as we have brought our personal toiletries.

Overall, it didn't affect my impression of LLV and its staff.

Very Good rating for now as there's a room for improvement especially for the housekeeping staff who plays a very critical role not only to keep the room clean and neat but most especially he/she is expected to be 100℅ accurate in validating the room's conditions when the guests are ready to check out.

Lesson learned: Next time? maybe i will take a photo of the fridge, bathroom or any storage box that has anything that can be billed during the check out. Lol! :)

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWithTheFLOW842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Lalaguna Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2017
Hi GWTF

Sorry about the mistake with the chocolate charge. No need to photograph the fridge next time, because we have tightened up on this in 3 ways:
- first, you automatically get an email with full details anytime any item is charged to you room; minibar replenishment is always charged to your room, so you will know immediately if something goes wrong and requires action.
- second, our HK team will only fill the fridge in full, or not at all, and this will be checked during room orientation.
- third, I have promised not to sneak into unoccupied rooms and eat the chocolate from the minibars.

We think these measures, especially the last one, will reduce errors to microscopic levels.

Not to make excuses, but we were a little understaffed during that busiest period of the year, as some employees were still chasing the roof which was literally blown off their house during the typhoon on Xmas day. These events are uncommon so there is a very good chance that your next visit will be completely perfect, as we strive to do with every visit by every guest.

Thanks for your feedback; this prompted a timely review and improvement of some of our procedures.

Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
4.0 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
205 reviews
0.8 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#2 of 52 in Puerto Galera
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
89 reviews
7.2 km away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
146 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalaguna Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalaguna Villas

Property: Lalaguna Villas
Address: Small Lalaguna Beach | Sabang, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price range (per night): ₱2,691 - ₱10,365
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lalaguna Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lalaguna Villas Resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera is an exotic beach resort resting along the lush green forest mountains of Mindoro that connect to a white sand, blue water beach. We offer a private villas-style atmosphere with charming Filipino hospitality on a quiet beach within a short walk of the center of the lively town of Sabang. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from studios for the budget conscious, to suites and villas to suit even the most discerning traveller, up to our signature multiple bedroom Penthouse apartment. We have a large pool and recreation area, complemented by rooftop gardens. All rooms are equipped with top quality brands such as Slumberland mattresses, Samsung TVs, DVD players, Refrigerators. Guests receive unlimited free bottled water, free laundry, 24 hour room service - truly a 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Lalaguna Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing