We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip I ever had!”
Review of Scandi Divers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandi Divers
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2017

I have been diving for a very long time, worked for a huge dive shop in the past.Guam Jamaica, Texas, , Palau. Hands down this is the best time I have ever had on any trip. My family and I arrived, check in was a breeze, we were brought cold calamansi drinks ( a small citrus fruit) We stayed for three nights I did 3 dives with Leo as divemaster. I finished my checklist of creatures I wanted to see in the first ten minutes, and it was a long list. The shop staff are true pros and the air had no taste, just clean air. My family loved the food, the beach,(my son spent most of 2 days in the water) the service, and the genuine pleasant personalities of the staff. The room was spacious and very clean, even had a 2 new TV's, so I could review my dive videos. If you are looking for a great place for a dive trip, this is the place to go. thanks again to all the staff, and David, the boss.

Room Tip: Stay in the waterfront One Bedroom suite, quite with two great A/C's and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank koji2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2017

The review below breaks down some comments from our recent stay and experience with Scandi Divers:


We were greeted warmly with a welcome drink, and given the necessary forms to fill out before dives. The rooms were quite clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning was great because of the muggy, humid weather. The showers were basic but there was hot water and a flushing toilet, plus a good amount of toilet paper and towels were provided.


These people were great, it was obviously low-season, so everyone seemed a lot more relaxed but we had good food and good service. I would say the food was quite pricey for what it was (we could eat at Verandah, the 'best' restaurant on Puerto Galera for the same prices...). I liked the fact they gave water bottles and then a refill station. Perhaps in the future they should provide aluminum bottles for a deposit, and the refill station.


This is generally where they could do better, I think. Firstly, the dive costs $27 / PHP1350 per diver, per dive. I struggled to understand where this cost actually goes, since our dive sites were not more than 5 minutes by boat AND we were a large group of 8 divers (2 guides). Additionally, that cost DOES NOT INCLUDE equipment rental.

After much discussion, I was grateful for a slight discount for our group at $25 per dive, but that still did not satisfy my need to know the cost breakdown. Compared to other diving resorts or dive shops that are at least 3*, a similar cost to the dive would include equipment hire, boat use for sites over 30 mins away, and food...or at least a discount for a large group. The fact that neither breakfast nor lunch were included...where exactly does the money go apart from the guides? For this level of service, I would look to be paying $15-20 per dive. Moreover, I had my own equipment, so I expected to be paying less.

The guides were OK. The briefings were basic, but they gave us the necessary information. Being a divemaster myself, I observed how they operated. One of the divers in our group was a novice and was obviously having trouble with her buoyancy control, so I went to help her a couple of times. The guides did not bother at all. Our dives were very short (mostly down to air consumption though), and the pace of our first dive was too quick for the less experienced divers.

One of our group was a lady with a small frame, and when she asked for an XXS-sized BCD the dive guide said (in Filipino) "Well, if you need a size like that you should have brought your own!" - that comment was completely unnecessary and very UNPROFESSIONAL.

The dives on our first day were average (we went to Monkey Beach and Escarceo) - but we chose to go to the Canyons and Sabang Beach the next day and thoroughly enjoyed those.

I have mixed feelings about the way the dives were conducted, because they seemed good enough, but it lacked the 'extra care' and 'interest' component I always expect when I dive.


Our check-out was quite pleasant, and after working on a discount (we were staying and eating there too) and I am very grateful they gave it. They had a lot of staff there waiting around, but no one offered to help carry our bags to the waiting boat. Reading the other reviews, it's as if they give a better service to foreign guests than local ones.


I think overall, Scandi Divers is a good enough place to be based in when diving in Puerto Galera. I have definitely had a better service elsewhere (I have also had much worse), but from the perspective of someone expecting the 'extra care' and hospitality from a Foreign & Filipino-run establishment, I felt it could improve further, especially on the diving front. The accommodations and restaurant were operated well and service was good, so no issues there.

We were satisfied enough with the quality of the dives and the guides except for some unnecessary comments that could have been dealt with in a more professional manner.

Would I recommend Scandi? Of course I would, but I would warn the people that they charge for every little thing.


As a dive operator and resort owner, please try to do things in a more sustainable manner and reduce plastic consumption; for instance - the use of straws in drinks. Plastic straws are one of the largest problems of plastic in the sea. If you invest the money in stainless steel straws, this is not only eco-friendly but also lessens your regular expense on the plastic straws, and these can be washed with the cutlery and glasses.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank beachedmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

This was another great stay with my friends at Scandi Divers. I have been stating there since 2014 doing my Open and advance diving courses there. We are always welcomed with a big smile and greetings from everybody on staff. They baked meca birthday cake that was delicious. I did 10 dives and my guide Leo always giving plenty of opportunity to take pictures. Personally i am not good with some of the changes being made but i have enjoyed the ride and always had a great time. The staff is always cuetisty, kind and ready to help, IMO best diving crew on the island. I give them a string 10.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank tennesseesmokey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

The only place we paid a second visit, it's not just about PG's beach and beautiful sea but most importantly my favorite diving instructors Richard and Liz. Thank you so much for all the great memories and you're the reason that smiles were always on my wife's face during our stay and diving. Hope more divers shall find a wonderful journey with your expertise and care. 我们唯一去过两次的地方,PG是个美丽的地方尤其是Verde Island,不过对于一个潜客来说,更加吸引我们的还有专业,严谨和友善的教练。非常感谢加拿大籍的教练Richard和他可爱的太太Liz,同为潜水教练,一起度过了一段美好的时光,太太嘴角上的笑容说明了一切。期待更多潜客在这儿找到属于自己的那份幸福回忆,同时技艺精进。OW-AOW-高氧Nitrox

Room Tip: Campbell is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brightle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017

I was originally in an upstairs room, but since I have some minor back problems they moved me downstairs after just a few days. I was right next to the pool - great room, quiet, comfortable, pretty much exactly what I expected.

The diving operation here is top notch. Arman kept things flowing and my divemaster (Conan) was great at finding critters (often very tiny ones), and picking great dive sites. I was there

Room Tip: Top notch rankings for diving. In-room wifi didn't work. AC strong. Laundry caused clothes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davedo20, Owner at Scandi Divers, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

We are really happy you had a good stay at Scandi and I hope you will come back again soon. I think our new big 30 meter dive boat especially for Verde Island and Anilao dive trips will be completed in the next 3 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.4 km away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#8 of 54 in Puerto Galera
181 reviews
4.1 km away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
257 reviews
0.4 km away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
322 reviews
1.2 km away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#14 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
9.3 km away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#6 of 54 in Puerto Galera
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandi Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandi Divers

Address: Big La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Scandinavian Divers)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: ₱2,452 - ₱3,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandi Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Resort Hotel and Dive Center with Waterfront and Poolside rooms. We also feature small Beach Cottages and 1 to 3 bedroom Waterfront Suites. 2 beachside restaurants serving Starbucks coffee. PADI and NAUI dive instruction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scandi Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing