We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
60
82
22
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
82
22
10
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2019

Firstly, one must understand accomodation standards in the Northern Philippines are fairly basic. For a lot of rooms, even having a powerpoint is considered on the higher end of luxury and so people need to lower their expectations accordingly.

My wife and I stayed at Sanafe lodge for a night while on recent trip to banauae. We paid 1200PP, which was double the cost of the adjacent accomodation but it was of a much higher standard. Here are a few of my thoughts.

PROS
* Clean
* Location - It's located near the main drag of banauae and a couple of hundred metres from the bus station. However, its rooms are on the valley side of the hotel so you don't get heavy street related noise which is good.
* Hot water worked
* Service from the hotel was good
* Restaurant - The restaurant has a patio that overviews the town of banaue including it's rice terraces. The food was decent although like in most of the Philippines, the service was slow
* Rooms - Fairly decent size with comfortable beds. The whole place is made from thick wood which gives a cosy 'log cabin' type feel.

CONS
* Wifi didn't reach the rooms and was scatty.
* Bathroom - Toilet and shower not seperate
* Noise - Did get some noise from the valley coming in through the window in the early morning.

Overall this was the best of the fairly low standard banuae accomodation and I would recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Cheap lodge and restaurant on the main square, it boasts a beautiful view on the rice terraces from the veranda where you can have breakfast, a drink or dinner. The rooms are basic, bed and a small table with a drawer, but there is a touch of coquettishness in the details (Ifugao embroidery in curtains and decorations, choice of colours, hanging paintings) so that the atmosphere is pleasant. The bathroom has a small wash-basin and an area shared by toilet and shower, no possibility not to flood the toilet when you shower. But the water is warm (not hot) and soap is provided. There are no electric outlets but you can recharge in the lobby for free (other places in Banaue charge you and the absence of room plugging is the rule). There is no WiFi anywhere on the premises. Don’t expect your room to be cleaned every day.
The owner is extremely kind, helpful and talkative and so are the other people working there, it’s a pleasure to stay.
The restaurant offer decent Filipino dishes and a good choice for breakfast. No credit cards are accepted.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan P, Owner at Sanafe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your review Laura. I apologise about the wifi. Smartbro mobile data is very erratic up in the mountains. Unfortunately, cable internet is not available anymore.

As for cleaning of rooms, we have a sign in the room that states that should our guests require cleaning, for them to request such at the reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

There isn't really much reason to stay in Banaue unless you are visiting the rice terraces of Bataad which is what we did.
We stayed 2 nights here at Sanafe Lodge and it was fine. It is very simple accommodation but at the upper end for Banaue. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the views from the terrace while having a beer and watching life go by are really good.
Our room was very clean and tidy, we had a queen deluxe room with our own bathroom and plenty of hot water (advance warning... you cannot flush toilet paper... think that through :).
Breakfast was good... the pancakes are excellent.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2018

My family and I stayed at this rustic lodge and restaurant situated on a hillside with a lovely outdoor restaurant with an amazing view for 3 nights. The staff for both the lodge and restaurant provides great and friendly service. I highly recommend eating at their outdoor restaurant (breakfast, lunch or dinner) with a lovely view and bird watching in the day time. The food is delicious!

Enjoy the fresh cool breeze in the evenings and wake up to the sound of roosters at sunrise. In room massage service is available upon request. Conveniently located in a central area walking distance to several restaurants, markets and money exchange services.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marseeahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2018

This hotel / lodge / restaurant is located in the central area of Banaue. I stopped on night on a road journey from Sagada to Manila via Cagayan Valley highway.
The owner, Maam Susan, was a charming character. Other staff were helpful. Food served in the restaurant, both for evening meal and breakfast, was excellent. The restaurant has interesting decorations.

Room tip: Facing the mountains
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan P, Owner at Sanafe Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you again.
Safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews