We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$15
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
CheapTickets
US$15
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
TravelocityUS$15
Orbitz.comUS$15
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
33
9
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
9
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

It was our first night in Banaue and we checked-in in hostel, room price is just ok, rooms and linen are clean, staffs are kind, food is home cooked and great, but the toilets are just common and quite small.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank echotraveller548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2019 via mobile

We booked this hostel last April. Upon arriving they offered us a tour package. We already haggle for the price since we already have the idea for the price but then the reception and pastor like guy there insisted that the price has gone up and what we have research is not updated. They are not honest and their price is more than tripple of what is suggested by the tourism board. It was a very bad experience. Please book your tour package from the tourism board which is just a walking distance from this area.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 686deejayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2019

The Evergreen Hostel was the perfect place for us to discover the Rice Terraces.
We took a night bus (ca 9 hours with coda lines) at 9 o`clock (pm) and arrived the next morning at 5 o`clock. A tricycle driver was waiting for us to get us to the Hostel where Mariano and is wife welcomed us and served us Tee and Coffee. We enjoyed it on the balcony with a perfect sunrise. Then it was possible to take a short nap in a unreserved room, because ours was not ready at this early time. Thank you for that offer, because we needed this energy to fullfill a 7 hours hike from 9 o`clock. We booked a guided tour from the Hostel with a young guy called Ezekiel. He and his cousin did a perfect job and explained many things about the Rice Terraces (Batad) and the Philippines. We learned a few words in Tagalog while visiting beautiful spots like a waterfall or a little town. Back in the Hostel we enjoyed delicious food and get in a good conversation with Mariano. The next day the tricycle driver brought us to the top of the Baunaue viewpoint and we walked down the main street while taking pictures of the Baunaue Rice Terraces (around 2 hours). Because our bus was leaving at 1 o`clock (pm) this little tour was perfect for us. After nearly 12 hours from Banaue (because the driver stopped in many cities to drop or get on some locals) we arrived tired but happy back in Manila.

To say it short: The Evergreen Hostel is very clean and Mariano and his wife are perfect hosts. The food is great and we ordered really good sandwiches for the long busride. Booking a guided tour at the Hostel with Ezekiel and his cousin was the perfect way for us to discover the Rice Terraces. Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael2083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2019

Very helpful owner / manager, she went out her way to make our trip. Picked up at 4:30am from the night bus from Manila. Hot tea on arrival and allowed to check-in early. Organised two days of tours and transfers. The room was a simple twin with ensuite, good value for money. Bit noisy but still slept well. The food was simple but good. The personal service made the stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Stayed here for two nights in late-July 2018 to see the rice terraces. Hotel proprietor is one of the sweetest, nicest people you could ever meet. I had one of the two large rooms with two beds and the private toilet/shower room. Even if you decided to pick a room with no toilet and use the shared ones at the end of the hallway, it is a very short walk -- just a few feet away. All the guest rooms are upstairs and on the same hallway.

The hotel is clean and comfortable, although small and very basic. Located right on the main road through Banaue. The hotel has its own restaurant, and there is another small one downstairs in the same building, owned by someone else. Hotel restaurant has a decent menu and good food. Service is excellent.

No air conditioning in the guest rooms, but you don't really need it, as Banaue is at a high elevation. There was a large fan in the room. That plus opening the window during the day made it cool enough for me. At night, keeping the window open would have made it too cool for me. Bed was comfortable.

Water pressure in the shower was decent, as was the capacity of the wall-mounted water heater in the shower room to warm the water. You do have to step down one step from the toilet room into the main guest room.

The hotel owner will sit down with you and a map and explain the best way to see the local sites, including the various rice terrace viewing points and the hikes. She can also arrange your local tours, and I wish I had just let her do that, to keep things simple. Joan rightly takes great pride in being hospitable, helpful and kind.
If you go to Banaue, stay here and let a friendly local take good care of you.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stano494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews