We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
41
102
27
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
102
27
12
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at their family room. You may bring luggages directly to the 6th floor, then one member from your family/group can just use the stairs (fire exit) to go down to the 5th floor for the fast check-in procedure. Take note that they only accept cash payment for the succeeding nights of stay. Sir Ken at the reception office is very accommodating and helpful. They also sell there discounted tickets to Ocean Park, The Peak/Madame Tussauds/Tram, Ngong Ping, Macau, etc., (for adults and children)

The Golden Crown court building is just a very short walk away from the MTR TST station, and also from the A21 bus stops to/from airport or Disneyland. Fastfood that are familiar to the kids (McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut, etc.) are also very near, so are a number of international grocery stores.

The corridor and rooms at New Yiu Fai are nice and clean, thanks to the Filipina housekeepers. The flat and rooms inside appear to be newly renovated. There are no closets, but you could just hang clothes with hangers using the hooks provided at the back of the door. They provide a dispenser for hot and cold water, and there's also a ref for shared use. I think these are standard features for guest houses in the area, and we greatly appreciated the water dispenser, it greatly reduced our expenses for bottled water. The towels provided are of a very thin material, but they are clean and smells clean, and could serve their purpose well nonetheless. Body soap and shampoo are also provided in dispensers. Toothbrush, toothpaste, and other toiletries, you'll have to bring them yourself. Hot/cold water is available in the showers. Wifi is fast and reliable. And 3 socket adaptors are already provided with their extension power cord.

We'll definitely consider New Yiu Fai again for future trips to HK.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jose Jr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights both in Golden Crown and New Yiu Fai Guest House (same owners).
We couldn't get a booking for 6 straight nights as they were always fully booked.
We had to transfer 3x but we did not mind. They took care of transferring our stuff to our room. We left our stuff in the previous room and when we came back all our things were already placed in the new room.
We tried 3 kinds of room accommodation on the 6th Floor. 1 night in Golden Crown Quad Room. 1 night in NEW Yiu Fai Quadruple Large and 4 nights in NEW Yiu Fai Connecting Quad. Golden Crown has smaller rooms and cheaper rate (680 HKD) than NEW Yiu Fai (900 HKD)

* Our booking was made on line and paid via Paypal. They have efficient booking system. Kenny (son of the owner) swiftly replied to our email inquiries. He was very accommodating in person as well. They have Filipina / Chinese - lady cleaners who were equally nice and helpful,

* We arrived around 11am and we were able to check in right away.

* Location - Just 1 bus ride (A21) from the airport. Very easy to find :).
MTR TST Carnarvon Exit just walking distance from the guesthouse! We definitely love the location!
Near Shopping Areas like Harbour City Mall (400 meters) / K 11 mall just at the back of the Guesthouse etc. Also Near Avenue of Stars (700 meters) / HK Space Museum, etc

* Rooms comfortably fit 4 pax - Shampoo / Soup / Towels are provided. They give toothbrush and toothpaste if requested. Rooms are cleaned everyday.

* They sell discounted tourist attraction tickets. BUY THERE don't buy on sight. We bought Disney / The Peak / Ngong Ping / Macau Ferry tickets.

* Lots of resto around the area. One of our fave was Cafe de Coral. They served good/affordable breakfast

* Fast Wifi

* Please note NEW YIU FAI is different from Yiu Fai Guesthouse

All in all, we had a grand time in HK. We will definitely book again in Golden Crown / NEW Yiu Fai,

Highly recommended :)

Stayed April 2014

Room tip: Get the Connecting Quad if you are travelling as a family
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The rooms are very small and without cupboard for clothes,
but it seems to be standard in HK.
Our room in the 6 floor was very quiet and clean. The staff was friendly.
Free WILAN and the aircon works good.
The TV had only 4 regional channels.

Not good are the beds which were really hard and let us not good sleep.
The hostel lay very central and that was really the best!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernd-hinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was very pleased that when the booking email exchange I had with New Yiu Fai Guesthouse was smooth and quick. It was a bit difficult at first to locate the building but we eventually did. It was really close to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station. The elevators were very small though but it was able to bring us and our luggages to the reception at the 5th floor (or was it 6th?).You can immediately buy CHEAPER Disney and Ocean Park tickets once you check in. It was actually my first time to stay in a hostel in Hong Kong and I thought it was going to be like the hostels in Europe. Let me just say though that the room we stayed in was really small! Maybe because we were 5 people in 1 room but we barely had room to move around in. Toilet and shower was also very cramped but I guess this is normal for Hong Kong. The pullout bed also could hardly fit my friend, I think you have to be 4 feet tall to be comfortable. But for the price, I think this is what we paid for.

I like that it's great for people on a budget and also had budgeted tickets but if I were traveling in a bigger group, I'd definitely choose a different hotel or at least get 2 rooms. I liked the location in Mira better though even though it's also on Nathan Road. Overall, it was an okay stay.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelJuliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A tiny little room, hard to find, expensive. The location, Tsim Sha Tsui, was good though.

The proprietor entered my room while I was in bed to dig through the drawers looking for something the previous guest had left. English was not spoken but I knew that the woman waiting in the hallway had left something. A surreal experience.

Room tip: stay somewhere else
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews