We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,516)
Filter reviews
3,516 results
Traveler rating
1,068
1,557
636
174
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
1,557
636
174
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cosmopolitan hotel happy valley racecourse race course times square causeway bay jockey club shuttle bus family quad room shuttle service ocean park free wifi deluxe room sister hotel hk station free calls mobile phone city view
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 3,516 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Stayed here as a four night addition to our China tour.. we were told that we had been upgraded to a twin double bedded room. The beds were big but to the detriment of the space in the room. No wher to all around the room or store our clothes... one advantage was that we had four bottles of water each day instead of two. Had to ask for milk for the coffee and could not use the fridge as it was locked.
Breakfast was ok but not so much choice as the hotels we stayed in while in China. Not such a nice neighbourhood with a great view of the roads and flyover from the rooms and breakfast room.
Hotel courtesy bus a bonus. Poor choice at restaurant for evening meal and very expensive .

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Braunston1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectation this time. On your next visit, you may try out our other room types that measure up to 48 sq. m for more spacious and comfortable stay. Your comments on the in-room amenities as well as the restaurant are well taken for our continuous improvement. Rest assured that we will continue providing the best stay experience to al guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I mistakenly due to the time difference booked 3 nights. I was surprised the hotel didn't reach out to see what happened. They also wouldn't do anything for us and we had to pay for the night we didn't stay there. What I liked about the hotel was they had an option for a room with 3 beds which is unique. The wifi was good but you had to keep logging back on. The gym was great for a hotel gym. The airport shuttle was great and it was easy to get to the Macau ferry from the hotel using the public bus system. English wasn't spoken very well so a few things took a bit more time than usual to explain. Checking into the hotel took almost 20 minutes which was frustrating as we were very tired. Location was ok, good if your going to the racetrack and not much else. We booked a room with the included breakfast whihch was ok, nothing to rave about. I would probably save your money and eat elsewhere. All in all an ok hotel but would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this time. Dorsett Wanchai is located amid Wanchai and Causeway Bay where the closest MTR station as well as numerous shopping and dining options are just in minutes of walk. Regarding the room charges, we do appreciate your understanding that if your booking was made under a non-refundable package, no cancellation or refund can be arranged upon confirmation. That being said, please be assured that the services you encountered was not reflecting the standard of services we always strive to deliver. Training on the frontline team will be reinforced to ensure the best services are provided to all the guests. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a good location in Hong Kong. View from the room was great. I think some of the rooms have been redecorated recently, but ours wasn’t and showed some signs of wear and tear. Still nice though, and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexander Nybor... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Alexander,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our location. Your comments on the room condition are well taken for our prompt rectification, sorry for the inconvenience caused. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

The Dorsett Wanchai (formerly the Cosmopolitan) is nicely located in Wan Chai on the Hong Kong Island. It is a little off the beaten path but that is what is nice about it. The rooms are small but neat and clean. The hotel offers' a free mini bus to 5 popular locations. One that is nice is the free shuttle bus to a Airport transfer station

Room Tip: I would not upgrade to the Happy Valley view. The view over the cemetery is unique
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tvler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our amenities. On your next visit, you may try out our other room types that measure up to 48 sq. m for more spacious and comfortable stay. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to al guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The hotel was fine, clean and fair priced. We did not have any breakfast in this hotel and we don't think there's any need to since you're really quite close to the city centre (about 12 min walk) so you find eateries about in every corner. There is a very convenient shuttle bus that brings you to Causeway Bay and picks you up from there to the hotel back. Some few things I would improve here: the shower/bathtube which has a very small wall you you'll spoil water while showering on the floor (next to the bathtube) in the bathroom, but we could deal with that just fine. Another thing we would improve is the bed - it was quite done out, so as a couple you'll basically roll into together into the centre where is the lowest point in the bed.
However, it's definitvely a hotel I would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our amenities. Your comments on the in-room facilities are well noted for our continuous improvement. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews