We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pentahotel Kowloon, Our Cozy and Trendy Accommodation in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
Ranked #70 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Pentahotel is a contemporary hotel located in the area of Kai Tak in Kowloon East. It is a neighborhood lifestyle hotel ideal for vacationers looking for a place that is away from the crowd and busy streets of Hong Kong. It provides a great atmosphere that holidaymakers and nomads will like. The hotel is stylish and cozy that makes it also a great base to have a pleasing and relaxing vacation in the city.

Three rooms were reserved to our group and all were pentaplus King. I was delighted to see my room because it has sufficient space that I needed. The room was well appointed with a king size bed, a working desk, a toilet and bath, and a space for luggage.

The bed was very comfy. I've got my needed restful sleep every night. The bathroom was also clean and it was provided with excellent bathroom amenities. The room also has LED TV, electronic safe, air-conditioning, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. My room also has a wonderful view. I was also surprised to see a smartphone, which was provided by the hotel free of charge.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear “marxtermind”,

Thank you for your amazing review and spreading the good word about our hotel. Please come back again very soon!

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 413 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2016

Pentahotel Hong Kong is part of a chain of 28 Pentahotels across the world, with most located in Europe, so they will be familiar to any European travellers who are visiting the far east.

The hotel is located near the Diamond Hill MTR station in Kowloon, in what appears to be old manufacturing district. An interesting fact about Hong Kong is that instead of big sprawling industrial complexes and office parks like you get in most western countries, their factories go up. The area does appear to be rapidly gentrifying however there is still a lingering smell of diesel as you walk to and from the hotel and the MTR (although this could be contributed to by the pollution problem from nearby China).

We stayed here for four nights as our interim stop before we travelled onwards to Taipei. We arrived early in the evening, and were checked in by the lovely Carrie Yeung, who just so happens to be the Hotel Guest Services Manager. She provided us with a map to show us the best route to get back and forth from the MTR station (we had actually walked a longer way en route to the hotel which took us through some roadworks, the route she provided was much quicker), and offered to help us out if we had any questions or wanted to know more about what to do around the city. I travel to Hong Kong frequently so didn't need to take her up on this offer, but it was great to know that it was there - she showed a genuine interest in our stay and what our plans were. To top it off, she gave us her business card, which had her personal phone number and email address - impeccable customer service, especially for a couple who have never stayed at the hotel before.

The hotel is very modern, with hip decor and artwork both in the rooms and within the common areas. The check in area is called 'pentalounge' – a single area that combines lobby, reception area, bar and café together. The cafe is called 'eatstreet@pentalounge' and their website says that it offers local Hong Kong dishes and a variety of comfort foods and all-day drinks. We didn't try out the cafe but it was very busy at the time we checked in - because it is a combined area, we were worried that it was a tourist group and we were going to have to wait some time before we could check in. Thankfully Carrie called us over to the desk. They could perhaps look at better delineating the area so guests checking in don't feel intimidated by the crowd!

The hotel has two Games Rooms, where you can play Wii, a game of pool, or foosball. You can surf the web in the Internet Corners, or browse music playlists in the 'pentafun' Music Stations. They offer free wi-fi in the rooms so we didn't need to use any communal computers, but these would definitely be useful if you are not travelling with a laptop (although most people have a tablet these days, so airprint would be a great feature that all hotels could introduce, something that Hilton Garden Inn have already implemented in some of their hotels). The downstairs area where you enter the hotel also has a pizza bar.

We checked out the gym and outdoor swimming pool on our first night. The pool is seasonal so wasn't open, but it looks like it would be a lovely area during the summer months. The gym is very well equipped, better than many chain hotels that I stayed at.

The hotel offers a free minibus transfer to the K11 Art Mall (in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui) however we didn't utilise this as it was easy enough to just walk and use the train. However upon reflection, this would have saved us a little bit of money, albeit it would have been slower than the train if the bus is caught in traffic. Pentahotel offer citywide and airport transfer at a charge, but I still definitely think you should just slum it and catch the Airport Express (buying tickets through Klook is the cheapest way) and MTR.

When using the lifts to get to your room, or anywhere else in the hotel, it is a guessing game as to which of the six doors will open. I think they need to have a louder door opening sound, or a light next to each door. We almost missed the lift a couple of times!

We stayed in a twin room with a fairly decent view of other Hong Kong high rises!

The beds are pushed very close together, which kind of ruins the point of them being separate. So keep this in mind when picking a room if you're travelling with a friend or business colleague! The beds in the rooms are very comfy - the pillows are a bit hard when you first lie on them, but they get softer.

Unlike other hotels I have stayed at in Hong Kong, this one does not offer a free smartphone for use around the city, which I have found very useful during past stays. There is however an iPhone clock radio dock next to one of the beds, which makes for convenient charging, especially if you have forgotten a universal power converter like we did.

The room and bathroom come with amenities that are standard with most Asian hotels - two free bottles of water per day, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, and toothbrushes/toothpaste. If you're like me and have travelled through Asia a lot and have got used to not needing to pay for spring water in hotels, it'll frustrate you a tonne when you visit a western hotel and have to pay AU$4-6 per 600mL bottle - it comes out of the sky for goodness sake! In this hotel, the housekeeper even offered us two extra bottles when we left the room one morning.

We had a bit of a problem with hallway noise, but I took care of this myself (there was a lady and man yelling outside our door at about 6am on one morning, I got up, opened the door and said really loudly that people are still trying to sleep... I am not sure whether they understood me, but my body language obviously had an effect, as they disappeared shortly thereafter.) The taps in the shower are difficult to work, and you either get too hot, or too cold.

There are also no tissues in the actual room itself, only in the bathroom. We moved them into the main room and then they replaced the bathroom box the next day.

Overall, our stay was very comfortable. The rooms were clean, service from hotel staff was excellent, and the modern ambience of the building really detracted from the raw industrial nature of the area that the building is located in (insert wink face here). Will definitely stay here again for my future Hong Kong travels.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Dear “Daniel K”,

A million thanks for your detailed 5 star review. Thrilled to see that Carrie welcomed you so well. We will certainly acknowledge her passion to look after you.

We will look into the elevator experience you raised too and see if we can change the volume of the call sound.
Hope to have the pleasure of your company again with us on your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

Modern, new, clean and awesome. Really great decor and staff and also offered a handy shuttle bus into shopping area.

Think Ace Hotel / The Standard but in Kowloon.

Oh and also crazy good value (just over £50 a night, which is like a fifth of The Ace / The Standard).

Stay here, you have my recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2016

Dear “Ben F”,

A million thanks for your recommendation especially for using "awesome" to describe us! Hope we get to see you again in the very near future!

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

great value for money , great pizzeria at downstairs , room service !! thought that there is the best bed where i have ever slept , good soundproof , fast check in , gonna stay again our next trip to hong kong :)

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 122nataljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2016

Dear “122nataljam”,

You described us perfectly! We are really proud of our bed quality, pizza and service. Please tell everyone about us back home.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016

For good point, the room is clean. Besides, we can add appox.HK$400 for a nice dinner buffet per person. I like it very much. The oysters are flash.

For bad point, I find there is no hair conditioner to use.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank waye_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2016

Dear “waye_wi”,

Thank you for your compliments about our dinner buffet. We have worked hard to perfect it and I am delighted to see you enjoyed the results.
To reassure you, we do have hair conditioner in our rooms but will look into your point about that. Thank you for sharing.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#64 of 726 in Hong Kong
456 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Address: 19 Luk Hop Street, San Po Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₱4,132 - ₱12,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, the first international brand hotel situated in the famous Kai Tak area of the fast-emerging Kowloon East, offers modern technology features and uncomplicated services for stylish, independent-minded travellers and digital nomads. You can experience pentastyle throughout the hotel - the contemporary rustic decor seamlessly blends with whimsical local cultural references. The 695 practical guestrooms at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon mix fun with functionality, comfort with creativity, and style with simplicity. Ranging from 22 to 44 square metres, our comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night's pentasleep. Room amenities include free WiFi, a smartphone docking station, an LED TV with selected Cable TV channels, an electronic safe, individually controlled air-conditioning as well as coffee and tea making facilities. Be prepared to be surprised by our pentalounge - a single venue combining lobby, reception area, bar and cafe together. It's a lively place with 230 seats which offers favourite local Hong Kong dishes and a variety of comfort foods and all-day drinks. Please be advised that our outdoor pool area is closed from November 1st, 2016 until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing