We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$125
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$157
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$62
Hotel Direct
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$89
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal View Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
HK Disneyland
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
HK Disneyland
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,020)
Filter reviews
3,020 results
Traveler rating
1,529
1,247
193
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,529
1,247
193
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight showpeninsula hotelmall cafefamily suitepartial harbour viewnext door to the peninsulanathan roadcultural centerthe star ferry terminalbowl of fruitspace museumsofa bedlaser showfantastic locationocean terminalkowloon stationvictoria harbour
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3,020 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the place to go in Hong Kong on the cheap. It's literally next door to the Peninsula Hotel but a fraction of the price. The room is HUGE by Hong Kong Standards. Full bathroom and bath tub and a couple English stations on the TV. Super easy to get to... The airport express to Kowloon, then took the K2 shuttle and it dropped me off right behind the Peninsula Hotel, about 20m from the YMCA. Check in was easy, and if you book direct they give you a voucher for free breakfast and a free drink, along with a variety of coupons. There's a cafe restaurant inside the hotel which is nice, not world class but decent enough foodb if you're in a pinch for a restaurant. Nice to be able to have a place to sit and have a pot of tea while inside your hotel. I would 100% stay here again and will likely make this my go-to hotel for Hong Kong visits in the future, assuming they keep the prices reasonable. It's not a luxury hotel so don't get your hopes up, but it's great for what it is. Oh and room AC works GREAT... it's absurdly hot out today and my room is a comfy 65°F. Blackout curtains are also awesome and actually overlap, really blocking the sun if you need a midday jet lag nap.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank Spidermonkeyfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA_of_Hong_Kong, General Manager at The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Spidermonkeyfx

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time and effort to share your extensive review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to know that you have made the most of our convenient location which is just adjacent to the Tsimshatsui MTR subway station and just 3 minutes’ walk away from the Star Ferry. Meeting the expectations of our Guests will always be our uppermost priority, and your feedback has certainly been most helpful in ensuring our future improvements.

It has been a great pleasure serving you and we really look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

Kenneth Yong
General Manager

18TA099

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We loved our experience overall. Great room, clean, modern, well kept. Location is wonderful : subway access super easy and close, close proximity to shopping mall and pier. Two negative experiences : room cleaner coming in the room without knocking and with no apologies, grabbing extra towels in bathroom and leaving. The more mature staff not as courteous and helpful as younger staff both in the restaurant and behind the reception desk. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Vivimilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA_of_Hong_Kong, General Manager at The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vivimilie

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time and effort to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to know that you have made the most of our convenient location which is just adjacent to the Tsimshatsui MTR subway station and just 3 minutes’ walk away from the Star Ferry.

Please also accept our sincere apologies on behalf of our room maid who went into your room without waiting for your response to enter. We have also taken note of your comments on the dearth of hospitality from our restaurant and front office staff. Our managers will certainly look into it and make improvements. We endeavor to provide the best service to our guests. Nevertheless, it is obvious from your comments that there are gaps. We will focus on making improvements. Meeting the expectations of our Guests will always be our uppermost priority, and your feedback has certainly been most helpful in ensuring our future improvements.

It has been a great pleasure serving you and we really look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

Kenneth Yong
General Manager

18TA098

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

When we stay in HK we always prefer the TST area for the ease to get to places like street markets, Star Ferry, etc. This was our first stay at The Salisbury and we weren't disappointed. We knew it was connected with the YMCA and sits next to The Peninsula Hotel. We arrived early and they did have a room ready for us. Was surprised that the room was quite large when compared to other HK hotels we have stayed in. Even though we had not booked this, we did receive a partial view of Victoria Harbor and looking down at Ball Tower. The room was situated behind one of the elevators and there was some machinery hum but nothing bothersome and other hotel guests weren't an issue either. Some noise did filter from the outdoor plaza that is in front of the hotel on one of the lower levels but it was short-lived possibly due to the cool weather during our visit to this magnificent city. Our check-in process was efficient and easy and they were helpful with any questions like where a supermarket was located or what cost to expect for a taxi to the cruise terminal. The lobby is open and best described as woodsy but this does not extend to the rooms that are more contemporary though a bit drab in color scheme. In the rooms there is not adequate room to place and open two large suitcases. The bathroom was average in content but at least it was not a tight fit. When we booked online we received a voucher for a certain amount to their casual restaurant where we had dessert plus we had one breakfast voucher for each of us. We normally would prefer to eat breakfast out in this city filled with so many restaurants but we utilized the breakfast vouchers on one rainy morning. The breakfast venue is filled with glass, great for views but horrible on a cold day. Don't expect to have a heavy proper British breakfast here, but there is plenty of variety to fill you up. Would I pay for this breakfast? Absolutely not again because of the choices you outside of the hotel. In our future visits to HK we will definitely consider The Salisbury again because we felt we received a decent deal in this expensive metropolis.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flashncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA_of_Hong_Kong, General Manager at The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear flashncrash

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time and effort to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to know that you have made the most of our convenient location which is just adjacent to the Tsimshatsui MTR subway station and just 3 minutes’ walk away from the Star Ferry. Meeting the expectations of our Guests will always be our uppermost priority, and your feedback has certainly been most helpful in ensuring our future improvements.

It has been a great pleasure serving you and we really look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

Kenneth Yong
General Manager

18TA094

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Let’s start with the price. Over $200 per night. Prices in Hong Kong are not cheap anyway, we knew this before coming, so price wasn’t really the issue.The main problem is the service and attitude of the staff, mainly in the dining part of the hotel, but also extends to the hotel rooms. We found it completely unacceptable when paying around $220 dollars per night in a superior room that the hotel refused to give us any complimentary water after the 2 tiny waters they supplied in the room. We were thirsty and needed some water late in the night at around 22.00. The hotel completely refused this!! In the end we had to get changed and go outside to find some. It’s absolutely crazy!! Terrible management probably the issue here, which filters down to the staff.

We also decided to try the restaurant/cafe, whatever you call it. I ordered chicken with fresh vegetables and “potatoes”

When the meal came it resembled chicken wing and legs at best. And you guessed it “1 SMALL POTATO” with a dash of veg for god measure.

I politely pointed out to the staff and manager that the menu stated it came with “potatoes” and not 1 single tiny potato.

Again they point blank refused to even offer me a few more potatoes. They even tried to charge me extra!! The meal wasn’t exactly cheap either!!I’m a big guy and said look, I’m a man,not a mouse. After a stand off he went away and brought me 1 extra potato free of charge.

I couldn’t be bothered to argue anymore so decided to tuck in. That was until I found the chicken was not even cooked, it was full of blood! What kind of hotel employs chefs that think it’s acceptable to serve bloody chicken, it’s a recipe for disaster. But to be honest I don’t think they give a monkeys as long as they take your money. In the end I sent the meal away and left.

BREAKFAST!!

Or should I say lack of breakfast!!!

A hotel that is so called 4* in HONG KONG that charges high prices should provide a “BREAKFAST”

It provides nothing of the sort. This is the worst breakfast I have ever seen or eaten! I’ve visited umpteen hotels in Cambodia, hotels that are situated in the middle of nowhere thst are light years behind Hong Kong,and there breakfast was even more superior to this junk

3 ITEMS OF FRUIT
3 BAKERY ITEMS
FRIED NOODLE, NO MEAT
1 TYPE OF DUMPLING
CHEAP COFFEE
TEA
BREAD
PLAIN CONGEE

THSTS IT FOLKS!!! That is your breakfast in a nutshell!!!!


OH, I FORGET THEY HAVE SOMETHING THAT SLIGHTLY RESEMBLES AN EGG STATION!!

But you guessed it baby!! they want to charge you for this privilege of having an egg for your breakfast!!! What kind of people are running this place. Even hotels that are 20 dollar per night provide eggs with your breakfast. This place is a joke run by jokers, scamming you at every possible opportunity. Avoid!!!

The only good point is the gym and pool which are great!

Would not stay here again, worth around 70-80 dollar per night at very best. And with that I’m factoring in the fact it’s in HONK KONG.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Kimly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA_of_Hong_Kong, General Manager at The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kimly S

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time and effort to share your review on Tripadvisor.

It is only through constructive criticism and feedback from caring guests like yourself that any good hotel can grow and improve upon the guest experience. I would therefore like to thank you for this review - it is much valued and appreciated.

We have taken note of your comments on asking for more bottles of water in the room. We provide two bottles of complimentary water with daily replenishment. Our usual practice is when the guests ask our Housekeeping staff for more bottles of water, we will be happy to oblige. I am extremely disappointed that our usual very high standards were not met on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Our Housekeeping Manager will certainly look into it and make improvements.

Your comments on the breakfast menu in the Mall Cafe are very much appreciated. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the quality of the chicken and potatoes that you ordered at the Mall Café. Our Director of Food & Beverage has reviewed this matter with the restaurant and kitchen staff, and will make the necessary changes, including conducting additional training. We endeavor to provide the best service and food quality to our guests. Nevertheless, it is obvious from your comments that there are gaps. We will focus on making improvements.

I also sincerely hope that you will allow us to restore your confidence by giving us another chance to provide our true hospitality and best service. Please contact me directly at kennethyong@ymcahk.org.hk for your next reservation and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Best regards

Kenneth Yong
General Manager

18TA093

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Such a perfect location !!! Close to the ferry ( so you can go to Hong Kong island anytime) and also close to promenade from where you can see the symphony of lights every night at 8pm... Very Close to The Peninsula and The Inter Continental
The service was great, Mary welcomed us and answered all our questions (being our first time in Hong Kong we had many ) she was amazing
Our only disappointment was the time they open the buffet breakfast (7am), which is a bit inconvenient for people with early tours (to Macau) in my own experience most of the hotels I have been to the breakfast buffet opens at 6am.... everything else was great

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank hotmamaamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA_of_Hong_Kong, General Manager at The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear hotmamaamalia

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time and effort to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to know that you have made the most of our convenient location which is just adjacent to the Tsimshatsui MTR subway station and just 3 minutes’ walk away from the Star Ferry.

We are very thrilled to note that our colleagues have made an impression on you. It is indeed very encouraging and motivating for us to receive such wonderful feedback. I will surely share your generous compliment with the team, especially with our Reception Staff, Mary Shum.

We have also taken note of your comments on the opening hours of our breakfast buffet and we will review it. Meeting the expectations of our Guests will always be our uppermost priority, and your comments have certainly been most helpful in ensuring our future improvements.

It has been a great pleasure serving you and we really look forward to your much valued patronage again in the very near future.

Best regards

Kenneth Yong
General Manager

18TA092

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews