We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
219
129
15
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
129
15
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine serviced apartment apartment hotel fully equipped kitchen great apartment washer dryer combo one bedroom apartment finnish sauna grocery shopping living room taxi driver pedestrian mall swimming pool subway station dvd player microwave oven nice view of the river
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I thought this place was a regular run of the mill hotel. Turns out, it's actually a pretty great service apartment. You get the space you're used to in North America, plus a lot of extra conveniences. There was a washer / dryer combo, along with good closet space. Only down side was that the furniture looked a little bland. But if you're not an interior designer with an OCD twitch when it comes to colors, you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pihish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris H, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your staying at Somersert Jiefangbei Chongqing. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your stay was an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Chongqing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Was here on a business trip, stayed for 3 nights.
Clean room, ample space with living room and kitchen.

Within walking distance to jie fang bei, its very convienent to shopping district. Hong ya cliff is just right below which is a recommended place to visit.

Only downside is e pillow is very soft. Need to stack 3 pillows in order to sleep well, other than that its good!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris H, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your staying at Somersert Jiefangbei Chongqing. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your stay was an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Chongqing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Our 5 nights stay at the Somerset JieFangBei is nothing short of amazing. We booked the 1 bedroom apartment (asked for river view). The rooms are big and cleaned. TV reception and wifi reception is good. Staff can understand English and mostly helpful. One staff readily offered to use her wipay account to help us book our excess baggage with WestAir. The beds are comfortable. Only complain is the bedroom is too cold and pillows were too soft for our liking. Breakfast is simple and can be further improved with regular replenishment.

The property is very centrally located with XiaoShiZhi station (line 3) just under 5mins walk. Carrefour supermarket is at the train station. Many surrounding local food stalls, one bakery and banks. HongYa cave is 2 mins walk from the side entrance. JieFangBei is a short stroll away and so is the arts centre. You can also take a 7 min walk to the rope tram (30 yuan return) to take in the city views. As we found the trains overly crowded, we mostly took the public bus (2 yuan flat rate). Take bus no 105, across from the hotel to the Chong Qing North railway station to go to Wulong County and 181 to the 3 gorges museum, both rides took less than 30 mins. It is a fun alternative way to see the city view on the bus. The famous BaiYi Lu food street is also walking distance.

We will definitely stay at Somerset JFB again when we next visit ChongQing. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2211 & 2212. Unblocked views of the mountains, Yangtze river and highways.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jbchua225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris H, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your staying at Somersert Jiefangbei Chongqing. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your stay was an enjoyable one. Your valuable feedback on air-con, pillow softness and breakfast varieties have been well received with an action plan on the way. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Chongqing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Hotel features nice rooms in a convenient location with a supermarket not far from the front door. Area is exciting to walk around and easily accessible for public transportation. Staff was helpful. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank krautland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris H, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your staying at Somersert Jiefangbei Chongqing. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your stay was an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Chongqing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The second time staying in this hotel. This time we had reservation for 3 adults, and room type was one-bedroom premiere. When we signed in they had some problems to find our reservation (it was made through the hotel official website), but after few minutes they found it. We got a room from the highest levels but when we went to check it seemed like totally different than the pictures. Dark, no big windows and small sofa in the living room. We felt a little disappointed and also wondering where the 3rd person sleeps because the sofa was so small. We went back to the reception and first they told us, when doing the reservation we should had chosen from the packages the extra bed for the 3rd person, but when I was doing that reservation I didn't see there any possibility to choose the extra bed, there was only breakfast package and airport transfer package where to choose (and it seems there is still only those two packages only). Anyway, we got new room with bigger sofa from lower levels but there wasn't good river view we expected. Next morning after good sleep felt still a little disappointed and send feedback to the hotel and after few hours hotel manager Annie (hopefully I remember the name correctly) called us and wanted to show new room for us. That room was located in the 17th floor and the view from the windows were absolutely stunning! She also offered us the extra bed for us for free, but we were ok with the big sofa. So that was handled more than perfectly. Big thank you!
All other things was again perfect during our stay. Staff is friendly and speaks English and the breakfast is good. Also we were pleasantly surprised of the water temperature in the pool. Last time (2014) it was too cold for swimming but now it was perfect. And we absolutely recommend to try the sauna too. True Finnish sauna.
So, after our second visit to this hotel we still come back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Satumaa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris H, Manager at Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your staying at Somersert Jiefangbei Chongqing. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your stay was an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Chongqing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews