We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveler rating
375
511
175
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
511
175
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room forbidden city great location glass wall wangfujing street walking distance minute walk modern hotel shopping area wang fu jing food street jingshan park mini bar hotel restaurant taxi driver major attractions buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Great hotel with great location. Got a room on the second floor with a private terrace! Nice big bed and large bathroom. Location of this hotel is a must! A lot of little restaurants nearby! Worth visiting it!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Franco8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The room itself was nice, but as others have mentioned it did appear that some parts needed some updates such as grout in the bathroom, outside furniture, etc. I had a courtyard room, but most of the courtyard is a large stone garden and one chair was broken so we didn't use it much. It was also very warm one day (80 degrees Fahrenheit) and our room was very warm. We were told the hotel hadn't turned on the air conditioning yet so there was nothing that could be done.
We didn't explore too terribly much as we had just 2 days and we had tours booked for both days, but the reception did have very good English and we had no problems with our stay! For the price, I probably would stay somewhere else but there weren't any major problems to hinder us from not considering this hotel in the future.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed here twice during our two week visit to China. On our first visit, the room we were initially allocated on the second floor was very dirty and poorly maintained: stained tiles in the bathroom, missing grout, dust and dirt everywhere. The rollaway bed I had requested was not in the room initially and the one that turned up when I called reception looked like someone had been stabbed on it (see attached photos).

After struggling with the reception staff's poor understanding of English (Google Translate helped enormously) we rejected our room and requested a cleaner one. The next room (on the fifth floor) was much better and we stayed two nights.

The breakfast had a good selection, although I was concerned that many of the chafing dishes containing meat products were almost cold..not great for preventing food poisoning, so we steered well clear of those.

The WiFi was free and fast enough to be usable for email, searching etc but nothing more (to be expected)

Our second visit a week later fared no better. We were upgraded to a suite on the sixth floor at checkin (great, we thought) however again the room had lots cleanliness issues with other peoples hair in the bath, pubic hair on the toilet seat and stains on the bed.

We asked to see the other suite, but it was worse so we begrudgingly accepted the room as the smaller room that was clean from our first visit was occupied by other guests.

It was however the worst nights sleep I've had on the whole of our trip. The air conditioning didn't work, and opening the window onto the street mean hearing all the horns and loud vehicles from the busy street outside.

I would not recommend this hotel, despite it's closeness to the Forbidden City. The rooms are tired, poorly maintained and housekeeping standards are well below what I'd call acceptable.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Spellman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We opted to stay here based on trip advisor reviews that raved about the location. Well, that depends. Sure, it is only about a 20 minute walk away from the entrance to the Forbidden city and Tiananmen Square, but it also nearly that long to the nearest subway stop (Wangfujing on Line 1 or Dengshikou on Line 5) and since we used the subway to travel throughout the city, this wasn't as much an advantage as you might think.

Our room was disappointing. We were given an interior room which meant no window. This made it seem like living in a cave and since it was nice Spring weather in Beijing, we missed out on the sun. I didn't even know that they had rooms with no windows. Our room was also quite warm (27 degrees C) and we asked how to turn on the A/C only to be told that the system hadn't been turned on yet. C'mon - it's 24 degrees outside and it was warmer in our room! You shouldn't have to put up with this at a decent mid range hotel. Our room was quite large and the king sized bed was firm which I like. Glass wall between bath and bed, but there is a curtain if you want privacy.

Wifi was slow and unreliable and of course China blocks access to Google and Facebook so forget about posting those travel pics unless you have a VPN.

We were going to eat breakfast in the restaurant, but a walk through showed that the food on the buffet hadn't been restocked and it looked "old" so we passed and went to the nearby market for local treats.

Service was good. Staff seemed friendly and I got to be good friends with one of the restaurant employees as I asked him regularly for ice during our stay.

Probably wouldn't stay here again as there are other good choices nearby.

Room tip: ask for a room with an outside window
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The hotel is located in the very center near Forbidden city and Tian an men square. For those, who is interested in sightseeing - excellent location. It is European style hotel. Good breakfast with even cheese (which is very unusual for China) and Chinese food. The rooms are comfortable. There is set for tea and coffee. Very helpfull staff. The only dissapointing thing is price. It can be lower for the hotel like this. May be be a use of the location.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews