We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
738
76
21
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
738
76
21
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior view chef george game drives private airstrip our waiter mara triangle safari guide south africa our honeymoon every meal entire stay room attendant electric fence wake up call hot air balloon out of this world a hot water bottle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Kichwa Tempo was perfection and more! It felt like we were arriving at the home of good friends. Such a special feel here - loved the design, the grounds, the view, the feeling of space. And the people!!! We were absolutely blown away by their warmth, their beautiful smiles (always!) and their attention to us having the perfect experience. The surprises were so much fun (you’ll see)! It felt good to support their mandate of sustainability, care for the wildlife, the land and the people - such admirable and welcome goals.

Our guide Robert was fabulous and our safaris - from first to last were a thrill. A big thank you to Robert for your enthusiasm, your expert driving, your incredible knowledge and sense of fun.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented. We loved our candlelit tables at night and our lunches and bkfsts overlooking the lawn, always attentively and thoughtfully presided over by Edward. So appreciated charming Chef Edmund’s attention to my gluten free needs. Thanks also to DanCan our room steward for your special touches and to Riana for your conscientious oversight and enthusiasm always. Thanks too to the Masai men who were always so personable and ready to escort us to our tent at night. Communication amongst the staff was exceptional. Steph, I wish I could wake up to your bird calls every day!

Our introduction to the Masai here brought us deeper into a fascinating world we didn’t anticipate getting to know so well. Loved their dancing and later on in the trip, learning about the Masai culture.

The welcomes and goodbyes were unforgettable! We were sad to leave these beautiful people and this special, special place.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We loved every second of our stay at Kichiwa Tembo. Needless to say, this is right in the heart of Masai Mara Safari, so you'll see some smaller wild animals within the properties as well: Water-hogs, all kinds of birds and monkeys. Going to sleep and waking up to this gorgeous view and the sound of animal was truly an experience of a lifetime.
What made Kichiwa Tembo so special is: the staff and the facility. The facility is well-maintained and breath taking. You'll be assigned a butler, a restaurant server, and a safari guide for the entire stay - This created a bond between the staff and the guests as well which made our experience even more special.
Each and every staff members at this facility were so kind, genuine, and thoughtful. I will never forget the day when I first met our restaurant server. He asked me if I've been to Kenya before and I answered by saying this was my very first time in the continent of Africa. His answer was "Welcome home." I almost teared up when he said that.
The food they served was excellent as well; The quality of food was something I would enjoy in New York City. Hats off to the chefs and staff members for being able to provide top quality food in the middle of nowhere in Masai Mara. (I'm still so curious as to how they did it!)
The guide we got assigned was David. He is a wealth of knowledge about the entire landscape of Masai Mara, and even the Serengeti. He also always made sure everyone was in a safe environment. After having him as our tour guide for 4-5 days, we became friends and I sincerely appreciated all of the information he shared with us as a Masai Warrior.
Every single staff at Kichiwa Tembo is genuinely happy which creates a ripple effect. We were so sad to leave after 5 days and wished we could have stayed longer.
If I ever go back to Kenya, I would stay at Kichiwa Tembo in a heart beat! And I highly high recommend Kichiwa Tembo to anyone who is planning to visit Masai Mara!

Room tip: best views, best service, beautifully maintained facility overall!
Date of stay: April 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukeyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

This is extreme glamping! Five star service and friendliness from everyone! Minutes to the game reserve maximizing time observing the sights. Food was excellent, Joshua looked after our needs before we even asked some times. Pool and bar lounge were cozy and relaxing.

Room tip: Those closest to safari have best views
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Kichwa. The small aircraft flight had great views and there were 2 lions waiting at the side of the runway as we landed. What a welcome! All the staff at the camp went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The food was fresh, varied and tasted great. The game drive and our guide were excellent. We had numerous sightings of elephants, giraffes, hippos, leopards, hyenas, zebras, lions, buffalos and much more. It was excitement all the way.
I would highly recommend this lodge and hope to return one day.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Great welcoming from David our guide and everyone from the Hotel! Steph, Riana, Edward, Jackson, Mike (Big Mike), the chefs, John... everyone was great!! The views from the room are amazing, from everyplace of the room! Bar is awesome! The safari game drives where amazing, we could see almost every animal from the book they gave us even a Serval!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Estecallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews