We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngerende Island Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
US$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (157)
    Filter reviews
    157 results
    Traveler rating
    147
    8
    2
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    147
    8
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssafari experiencemara riverdrinks waitingpersonal butlergame driveslake vieweach mealyour beck and callbutler servicemasai guidestaff were exceptionalhot water bottles in the bedevening gamebeautiful animalsjonahfireplacedaniel
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 157 reviews
    Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

    The service is five star all the way. You have a personal Butler at your beck and call 24/7. You feel very special. Anything you want they will give you if they have it. However the lack of availability of hot water on demand in my opinion takes the lodge out of any five star standard.

    Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    2  Thank Regina M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 18, 2017

    My husband and I travelled with our 18 month old daughter and my parents to Ngerende this past weekend ,and I must say that it is an amazing lodge. This was me and my husband's 3rd safari in the Mara and we agreed that it was the nicest overall camp that we've been to. We absolutely loved the tent/lodge setup. Each tent had a balcony that overlooked hippos lounging in the Mara River. The balcony had ample seating and would have been a great place (it could fit 5 people comfortably) to relax if I didn't have a very active toddler with me. We also loved the fireplaces in each room! Anyone who's gone on safari before (even at a luxury camp) knows how cold it can be at night and each night in addition to the standard hot water bottles in the bed, we had a fire burning that warmed the room. The service at Ngerende was also top notch. The camp is small (I think only 7 tents/cabins) so you get personalized butler service. Chef Elvis was great and took time to make sure he made special meals for my daughter every day. We went on game drives with Jonah who was excellent and super knowledgeable. Overall we had a great time.

    Stayed: July 2017
    3  Thank Maisha O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 3, 2017

    My husband and I travelled with our 3 year old ,and picked ngerende island lodge for 2 nights and ngerende in the wild 2 nights ,they were fabulous.the service was impeccable.we went to masai mara with all sorts of inhibitions and worries,but they drove all our worries away.the food was spectacular the chef made sure the food was to our taste,and also checked in on our daughters meals.the rooms are spacious and well kept.the driver and guide were both wonderful and knowledgeable.they made us very comfortable and were eager to help in any way possible.the service team seems well connected and like a family,and it shows.cheers to ndgerende team for going out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable.wonderful wonderful place.highly recommended.cheers!!!!

    • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank rubyhq8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

    Finally at age 5 & 6 we thought our girls old enough to make the return trip to Ngerende. Thankfully very little has changed, the rooms have been well maintained and are still exquisite, especially when you consider how far away from the nearest town you are. The grounds have matured nicely, and there is now a swimming pool which the girls used a couple of times, and a spa - which we didn't even look at I'm afraid. We also spent 3 days at Ngerende in the Wild - lake view (which I have written another review for), and between the two you get the ultimate safari experience.

    The staff at Island Camp were superb and made a huge effort to make sure that everything during our stay was perfect, really taking care of the children. The chef checking after each meal that what he intended to cook for us next time was suitable. There were fires lit both outside and inside the bar after our evening game drives with drinks waiting. A fire lit in the bedroom and hot water bottles in the bed - although during our stay we cancelled these after the first night as it was warm enough. The cool box on the safari drives was always well stocked.

    Although the lodge and staff were exceptional, the highlight was the game viewing.
    Daniel (our Masai guide) and Alex (our driver) between them managed to find almost everything. There was a report this week on the BBC that cheetahs are facing extinction - well we certainly saw quite a few, the fact that Daniels brother works for Cheetahs Forever (a program set up to monitor these beautiful animals) may have helped but even Daniel said he'd never seen quite so many with one set of guests before, approaching 20 different ones. There were dozens of lions, some with young cubs. Elephants galore and all the usual variety of antelope and gazelles. The only thing really noticeable by there absence were other safari vehicles - several companies have gone out of business since we last came and some times it felt that not only were we at an exclusive small lodge, but also the Mara was there for us alone.

    Both Daniel and Alex were extremely knowledgeable and spent plenty of time trying to make our game drives as interesting and varied as possible - from visits to the river to find enormous crocodiles and huge numbers of hippos to searching amongst the trees for the elusive leopards. The girls loved every minute, there were plenty of tears when it was time to go home.

    Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    4  Thank tonymasters
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

    We had the most amazing honeymoon we could have ever imagined!

    The hotel was fantastic and the safaris were incredible! We were exceptionally lucky to see all that we did! Jonah was a fantastic guide, we truly couldn't have asked for better. He was so knowledgeable about every aspect of Africa and all its inhabitants!

    All staff were wonderful and made us feel so welcome, the food was fantastic too!

    We would highly recommend to everyone!

    Stayed: September 2016
    2  Thank Ellen M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews