We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$132
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$147
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$196
US$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
177
185
45
23
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
185
45
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barindian cuisineairport pickdefinitely stay here againsarit centrewestlands areasuperior roomcomfortable bedtop floorbusiness tripthe air conditioningthe hotel is cleanhotel is locatedexcellent stayrestaurant staffenjoyed my stayhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Your service was really excellent; I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. You really think of everything; it's the first time I have seen a hotel going as far as providing tooth brushes, toothpaste, morning gown and even slippers! Keep up the excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alaster S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time I'm in Nairobi I spend my days in this very good hotel. The staff is kind and friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, the food is excellent, the location is well placed and easy to find. I will continue to be your guest!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank metafiore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent more than a month with the good people at La Maison and they must be acknowledged: Christine was so much more than a housekeeper – she was like a dear friend who made us feel welcome every day, Nelly was a wonderful substitute cleaner, Miriam did our laundry with love and care, Peter and Albert upstairs on the rooftop always treated us so well and were so professional, Kones was SO helpful with our various mechanical and electrical issues, and Samira and Moses, our management team did everything possible to make sure our stay with them was acceptable.

As to the hotel itself there are Pros and Cons:
PROs:
- The staff are exceptional. They will go to great lengths to ensure you are comfortable, this is important.
- It is very reasonably priced for the services provided.
- The hotel is located in the heart of Westlands and near Sarit, Westgate, and with easy road access to all of Nairobi.
- It is located on a side road, which means that it is quiet for a good night’s sleep (with the exception of the occasional late night party upstairs)
- The two restaurants upstairs offer broad menus, one of continental food, the other Indian – both with much to offer
- The rooftop terrace is a lovely spot for a cappuccino or an evening drink, we will go back to enjoy that.
- The beds are comfortable, the linens fresh, and the laundry service is really exceptional: great staff and same day service with warm air drying.
CONs:
- The internet/wifi is not stable and can result in tremendous frustration. Trying to do business from the hotel just became untenable so we had to leave.
- The reasonable pricing also means things feel ‘cheap.’ It’s a balancing act for both an owner and a guest – what are both willing to put up with to earn/pay the rates.
- The rooms and bathrooms are dated (at least the one we were in), with furniture that was chipped, broken pieces, stained, the shower door leaked significantly, one of the sink stoppers didn’t work, little things of course but the general impact was that it felt shabby.
- No outlet in the bathroom, so had to buy a mirror and use an outlet near the bed to dry hair.
- The air conditioning was so loud it couldn’t be used while sleeping, (was it old? Needed cleaning or maintenance?)
- The lighting in the rooms is white/cold halogen, which over a period of days becomes depressing.
- ‘Mood lighting’ around the bed area could not be turned off completely (even after the electrician ‘disconnected it’), making it hard to sleep, especially with jetlag.
- The exercise room is actually a hallway, into which are packed a number of machines, some of which don’t work and the a/c also doesn’t work, meaning when I used the treadmill, a standing a/c had to be found.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I and my family arrived early in the morning and needed to freshen up before having breakfast. The reception staff we very friendly to accommodate us by taking us to our room and gave us a detailed brief on hotel and room facilities.
We stepped in for breakfast that had a wide selection to choose from. Breakfast was so delicious. The live station was amazing and the chefs made the best pancakes and half moon folded omelets.
P service staff were outstanding. The hotel is fairly priced and gives wvalue for money.
We shall recommend our friends to visit.
Thanks
Henry.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank henry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for the great services.The rooms were super clean and spacious and food was perfect.I also liked the gym which is well equipped and the sauna.I will definitely come back again and recommend.Thank you!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Jacquelmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Maison Royal... N, Front Office Manager at La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jacque,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a lovely review following your recent visit. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Samira Wairimu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews