We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good but staff can be little bit more attentive ”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 976 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

The food was great. The journey or sequence of service should have been perfect if the staff did not forget about me.

I had to call the attention of one of waiters. Which was a surprise as the greeter seated me but no one came to serve me.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Razelging
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thanks for sharing! We always appreciate honest feedback, and whilst we are happy to hear that the food was good, we certainly apologise for the lapse in customer service. Many thanks for taking the time to review. KInd regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 188 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2019

a place ill advise travelers who visit Nairobi to go to.just few minutes from the Nairobi cbd,thopse who love nature walk and museum antiques will find it amazing

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank junglelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Hello, thank you for your great five star review. We are happy that you had a good meal and appreciate you advising other travellers to visit us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

wide range of international cuisine. Staff ready to assist in food selection .
Recommend the place for international expirience.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kennedy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Dear Kennedy, Many thanks for your great 5 star review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meat and found the staff helpful and the menu extensive. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

We went to have lunch which was part of our Safari package.
We arrived 10:30am so we sat down and had some drink while we were waiting to get our menu for our lunch. The food we had was quite nice but not spectacular, especially Lemon Chicken didn’t have any lemon flavour, instead it was more like tomato flavour.
The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and staff were friendly.
I would have liked to have a look at normal menu.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank takakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review. It was disappointing to read of your unsatisfactory experience and we were troubled to hear that the lemon chicken didnt have any lemon flavour and though the staff were friendly, the service was slow. The restaurant is known for its food and service and it is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell way short of our customer service mark, which is to provide the best for each and every one of our guests. We appreciate your valuable feedback which have been passed on to the team concerned for corrective action. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

Came for lunch again for a few years.. and quite appalled by the state of the furniture and overall run down look and feel of the place : seat covers with stains, holes and tears, cracked table tops, washed out place mats, gutters in need of repair and to top it off lipstick marks on the napkins... food was ok, service kind.. but it feels like the place needs some urgent love and care.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank linekes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time review. We are sorry to hear that your meal was not the best and you were appalled by the overall run down look and feel of the place. It is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell short of your quality mark. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able maintain and indeed where necessary improve upon our product offering and we thank you for your candid comments which have been passed on to all concerned for corrective action. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.