We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$196
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
US$108
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$123
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Woodmere Serviced Apartments(Nairobi)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/21
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveler rating
593
332
91
29
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
332
91
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage marketkaya spajiko restaurantafrican artboutique hotelshopping mallunited nationsbeautiful hotelfourth floorpublic areasrooftop barbusiness tripnairobi trafficembassieskenyagymsecurity
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I liked this hotel and loved everything about the design and facilities matching with the venue needs to facilitate the workshop, i was attending .
I was enchanted and delighted by the professionalism customer oriented service at the front desk. I recommend everyone to be served by Winnie, second to none and charming front desk staff.
A very little disappointment, on billing system or communication of room cleaning shift, in terms of coordination.
I will certainly be staying here again!

Best

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
Thank karege h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear karege h, thank you so very much for your review and your constructive feedback. We appreciate this very much and are looking forward to your next stay! Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel holds itself out to be a 5 star hotel but there is nothing behind the thin veneer and smiles of the staff - almost every interaction with them was a fail. We arrived at 4 20 pm and our rooms were not ready. They were very apologetic and said they would just need 5 minutes and escorted us to a nice sitting area and said we could order any non alcohol drink on the menu. We explained we had dinner reservations with friends at 5 30 so really needed the rooms and they assured us they were on it.

After sitting for about 10 minutes a waiter came over and took our orders - 3 of us orders mango smoothies. 10 minutes later the waiter came over to say they don’t have mango smoothies and was unable to offer anything else - so we all just got water

10 minutes later - so 30 minutes now a customer service manager came over - we were thinking to apologize for the delay and take us to our rooms - but no she knew nothing about our room delay but was only coming over to tell us we could not sit where we were sitting as it was a private area - we told her that the people at the front desk escorted us here and gave our room story and she really only cared about us leaving that area

We got our rooms at a little passed 5

We had an early morning safari so had to order breakfast to go - my wife placed the order the night before and repeated it 3 times with the lady on the phone. The next day they were waiting for us early at the the front fest so we took them and went. In the trip we opened up the containers and every single order was wrong - all they put in was plain scrambled eggs and a croissant - not even close

On our return our room was cleaned but not the bathroom no towels or soap

At check out the lady at the front took about 20 minutes to process a very simple 2 night stay - I am a spg gold with many points and was staying on points - when she handed my the statements she asked for my credit card - I asked why as the balance was zero - she told me it was not zero - I had to show her the statement and how it worked and that the 0 at the bottom of the page meant nothing is owing

She had to go into the back office and about 5 minutes later came out to confirm with me that I was indeed right the 0 under balance owing meant I did not owe anything - she was very sincere in thinking she had solved a problem.......

You can see they are trying to provide customer service at a high level and are very smiley and apologetic all along the way but there is an underlying competency in training and systems that is missing from this team

The extensive and defensive responses to all the negative feedback on these reviews from the manager kind of confirms my conclusions that the level of staffing is not at a 5 star level.

That being said the architecture of the hotel could for sure qualify as a 5 star.

However The Fairview hotel is leaps and bounds above this hotel and actually paid to stay there on our return even though I could have again stayed for free using points at the Tribe -so I think that says it all

Read my review of the Fairview - first class place

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Pdobrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Pdobrow, thank you for sharing your feedback and your opinion here on tripadvisor. We apologize for the hiccups happened to you during your stay. It is surely not our aim to provide unsatisfying service but unfortunately and with all honesty there are moments one experiences challenges out of the normal, so do we and we constantly give our all to resolve them by focused training in all areas of our hotel. We operate for nearly 10 years now and accommodated more than 1 Million guests over all these years to date throughout the hotel. Only 1026 guests (0,1% of all our guests) wrote a review to date with 3% being on the lower scoring side (0,003% of all our guests). You may call it "defensive", I would want to correct and call it "realistic" with all due respect and appreciation. Best regards, Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Great reception and floral on our wedding night. The food was also nice and we really enjoyed the hospitality. However, a lot can be done to improve the check out process which we felt was a bit poor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Alan M, thank you so much for your review and your feedback. We appreciate you pointed out the areas for improvement as well and will pay attention to it accordingly. Best regards, Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

There are plenty of nice B&Bs and guest houses in this area within walking distance of village market. There is really no need to stay at Tribe. Even for a splurge it is disappointing and totally not worth the price. If you want a treat I recommend looking elsewhere. The hallway I stayed on was dirty, the sheets did not fit the bed and after several nights in parks and Naivasha I was craving a bit of TV. Though there is a nice flat screen there are only a few channels. For $250 and up per night I think they should be able to pay for some DSTV. The massage (Thai) at the hotel spa (Kaya) was amazing though the salon was part was not nearly as nice.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Jennifer M, thank you so much for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. I wish we would have met! I understand your frustration on the topics you are raising. I still though do wonder whether you seem to refer to a permanent situation or a temporary one. Surely hallways can look a bit "used" after a lot of traffic on the corridors during check out or check in time. We constantly monitor all public areas and soft clean permanently but we have to limit our deep cleaning hours (hoovering) to 8 am - 8 pm so we don't disturb sleeping guests, which should be understandable. I invite anyone who reads this to walk into Tribe and to walk around with us. We indeed offer DSTV in all our rooms, did you mention that there was a technical error whilst staying with us? I have a 24 hrs team on board to take care of any technical issues which could arise at any time of the day or night just like in the comfort of your home. Having approx. 300 guests visiting us on a daily basis and all the positive feedback's we receive I am confident to say that we provide an excellent service, surely not denying the occasional moment where not everything looks like on glossy photographs as we are a working hotel with quite a high occupancy despite most other places. My team and I surely work extremely hard to ensure you have a great experience and we can easily be talked to whilst a guest is staying with us. I suggest to make use of a team's presence in case you are experiencing things which don't satisfy whilst staying in a hotel or guesthouse next. Thank you once more and best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel situated in the Village Market along Limuru Road still ranks as Nairobi’s top hotel. It is beautifully designed and the decor is simply stunning. The Spa and the Gym are great! The Bar has lots of entertainment including live shows. The rooms although quite small are practical and functional. The restaurant is an amazing culinary voyage! It offers an eclectic menu and although it is quite busy, the staff genuinely try to make you visit comfortable. There is however an awful stench around the entrance that needs to be addressed.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank kemboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear kemboy, thank you so much for your review and your positive comments and compliments. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. The stench you have mentioned was nothing permanent and went with the wind just as it came. Thanks so much again and we hope to see you soon again here at Tribe! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews