We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Musee de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting Museum

This museum was very interesting. The history of the area during World War 2 was very well... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2018
W O
,
Canberra, Australia
Great WWII Pacific perspective and historical overview

Interesting perspective re the 20,000 New Zealanders who served in New Caledonia in WWII along with... read more

Reviewed 24 July 2018
Karen P
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Read all 141 reviews
  
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
78
53
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
53
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second world war audio guide war museum small museum new caledonia local population audio machine well laid out entry fee english explanations pacific islands short visit worth a visit ww2 role nc involvement
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

This is very interesting and a well organized representation of Noumea and World Wars. A interesting audio helps guide u around as all signs are in French. We thoroughly enjoyed the displays and it is well worth a visit. The receptionist was most helpful and informative on our visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Mostly in French but a brilliant depiction of the part New Caledonia played in Second World War. Shows all about the natives and their interaction with US and Australian troops.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank peterandmmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

As always we like to look into the past of where ever we venture...this was the place for it..no only for New Caledonia but some other pacific Islands......you have a great display and we both thank you for it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank graden45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We visited here when we had some time to spare and I am glad we did. The museum although small and predominately just in French allows you to have a better understanding of Noumea's history and involvement in WW2. We particularly liked this as we found that most other tourist destinations did not talk about New Caledonia's history.
Whilst most is only in French there was more than enough in English to gather an understanding and to enjoy your visit. In the end we only spent probably about an hour but it was extremely enjoyable.
It has an extremely low entry price, only costing us equivalent of $4aud for two people. for this reason I would definitely suggest making a short visit to this museum if in Noumea.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

It's well worth stopping in here for an hour or two. The price is cheap and the museum is well looked after. There are some areas where there could be more English explanations but all in all it's a nice way to relax and have a look at New Caledonia during WWII

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank peterwZ6364MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews