We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Musee de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 15 April 2018

It's well worth stopping in here for an hour or two. The price is cheap and the museum is well looked after. There are some areas where there could be more English explanations but all in all it's a nice way to relax and have a look at New Caledonia during WWII

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank peterwZ6364MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"second world war"
in 8 reviews
"audio guide"
in 6 reviews
"war museum"
in 5 reviews
"small museum"
in 5 reviews
"new caledonia"
in 32 reviews
"local population"
in 3 reviews
"audio machine"
in 2 reviews
"well laid out"
in 2 reviews
"entry fee"
in 3 reviews
"english explanations"
in 2 reviews
"pacific islands"
in 2 reviews
"short visit"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"ww2"
in 21 reviews
"role"
in 6 reviews
"nc"
in 8 reviews
"involvement"
in 4 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018

This little gem in the city of Noumea. We were given English translation devices, which we listened to as we walked through the museum. It was very informative and well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Hubby's side note was he was expecting some model planes etc and there was 1very small one. Otherwise the museum was well worth a look. Value for money.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 11Annette11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

very small museum, beware that in the photos on the net the P61 fighter aircraft is a small MODEL, it looks life size in the photos I saw, everything is in French but English translation is available. 200 franks to enter

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank charles q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We had visited already visited 3 other Museums in Noumea and this was the last on our list. We were not disappointed. The cost to enter is minimal (just make sure you have 200CFP cash with you as they don't accept credit cards) The museum is full of informative and often interactive displays the majority of which have been translated into English. Some brilliant memorabilia housed in glass displays plus excellent timelines and wall charts of the events which led to the 2nd World War and the part played by New Caledonia which was strategically placed in the Pacific Ocean. I would have liked an English handout - but that is my only negative comment. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank DawnHendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We went here as my husband's father had been part of the Australian forces there in WW2. We found the staff very welcoming and the English audio tour gave us all the information we could have needed. The entry was very reasonable due to our senior status. The restroom was very clean and we could refill our waterbottles. Easy walking distance from the square.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank HAMACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing