We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
33
62
28
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
62
28
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering domestic airport great hotel large fridge minute drive rental car anse vata jug cooktop english convenience bay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Really happy with the Le Stanley Hotel and if I'm back in Noumea will have no hesitation in staying again. The rooms are located right on the water with picturesque views perfect for a relaxing holiday. The place is slightly dated but is very clean and comfortable. For the price it is definitely worth it! Staff are friendly and help where they can, the pool is really nice looking straight out to sea with poolside beds to sun bake and relax on. We had a car so made the stay super easy to get into town, without a car it might be a bit difficult but we did see buses drive past regularly. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Hello,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very grateful that you highly recommend our hotel ! We are proud that you find it very clean and comfortable with a very good-value for money.
We are very happy that you loved the place : you’re very right, Le Stanley is the best hotel for RELAXING HOLIDAYS with amazing and picturesque views on the sea and a very pleasant swimming pool. Our guests are always very satisfied with it ! Many of them choose, like you, to rent a car and we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography.
We are also very happy that you find the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you very much for it ! We will share with the team your nice review !
Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley !
Best regards from Noumea.
The Stanley hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2016

I stayed at 'Le Stanley' for 3 nights in October 2016. Thankfully, having been alerted to the transport problem (the hotel is far away from Noumea's CBD and also far away from any restaurant), I hired a tiny little car at a big price at Noumea Intl Airport .. everything is small in portion and big on price in NC. The hotel is a 1970s motel-style building of say 2.5 stars with 1 big difference: it's views. The hotel is built right on the foreshore of 'Bai de Citrons', and I mean RIGHT on it. The views at all hours of the day are absolutely spectacular. Nothing else is at the hotel, but hey, it suffices, provides sufficient comforts and is ok priced. There is a store ('magazin') right behind the reception area and if you get hungry, buy a croissant and some cheese for a around AUD 8 all up and presto, there is your filling dinner. The room I was in had cooking facilities and I found myself shopping for cans at the local Carrefour supermarket (400 meters from the hotel, on the left when you approach) which I then prepared for dinner. One can only eat so much of the truly delicious traditional Scottish Food in New Scotland (McD). And AUD 80 for a dinner for one every night became a bit outrageous. Hence the cans. Do I recommend the hotel? Yes. Nothing grand, but okay and liveable. Friendly staff, too. Would I go back? Yes.

Room Tip: Write to them asking for a 'chambre avec un vue pacifique'.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank quorxxx q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed the spot (effectively RIGHT on the sea) and the view : at Le Stanley, each room has an amazing view on the largest lagoon in the world ! It’s definitively exceptionnal at Noumea. At Le Stanley, it’s possible to enjoy a sunrise directly from bed and even our car park has a wonderful view on the sea.

We are also proud that you liked our staff : at Le Stanley, it’s very important for us to welcome friendly and to be helpful with each guest !

We are very satisfied that you enjoyed the possibility to cook yourself good meals at a good price, « comme à la maison ». Please, don’t forget too that the hotel does not only offer breakfast and fresh french croissants : our guests have the possibility to buy, at the reception, convenience meal and fresh French baguettes !

Concerning the location, you’re right : it’s better to have a car, but don’t forget that Hotel le Stanley is situated in a very smart and quiet area… The most important point for a RELAXING stay !

Would we pleased to welcome you at Le Stanley, one more time ? Yes, of course ! :-) So… Hope to see you very soon at Le Stanley.

Best regards from Noumea,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This is a great place for some peace and quiet. It's not on the main beaches with restaurants within walking distance so you need a rental car. We found that a rental car for the week wasnt that much more than airport shuttles both ways so we collected and returned our rental at the airport. Hotel Le Stanley is overlooking a quiet bay but the swimming isn't great there. Only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata and other great beaches. However the peace and views from our room were the best. We made good use of the kitchen and full sized fridge in our room, dining in most nights as the restaurants are really expensive and we went out most days. We had the best spot on our private terrace to dine with views of the sunset.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with private patio which went right onto the sand. Probably a bigger view from upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank globalsoulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you took time to share your views with other travellers.
We are very happy that you loved our location : you’re very right, our district, the district of Ouémo is quiet and peaceful. Our guests are always very satisfied with it ! Many of them choose, like you, to rent a car and we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography.
We are also very happy that you enjoyed the spot and the view : at Le Stanley, each room has an amazing view on the sea and on the largest lagoon in the world. It’s really exceptionnal at Noumea !
Last but not least : we are very satisfied that you enjoyed the possibility to cook yourself good meals at a good price. A very important point for a RELAXING stay ! Please, don’t forget too that the hotel does not only offer breakfast : our guests have the possibility to buy, at the reception, convenience meal and even.. fresh French baguettes !
We hope to see you soon !
Best regards from Noumea.
The Stanley hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a week this September and we enjoyed it. The hotel is around 45 minutes from Tontouta airport. We arrived 3 hours early for check in but we were given our room right away. Check in was a breeze, staffs were nice and everything was explained and no drama at all. All the rooms have the ocean view which was really great. The hotel has 4 floors where reception is located on the 4th floor because the hotel is in a sloping area down to the ocean. We were accommodated right across the swimming pool on the 3rd floor which will be noisy when kids are having fun swimming but at least the pool is closed after 7 pm so it is quiet at night. If you want a quiet room, ask for rooms away from the pool. The room has a balcony with table and chairs where you can have your breakfast/lunch/dinner looking into the ocean. The room is clean and big enough for a couple with a queen bed and an extra single bed. The room doesn't have a proper desk to work on. It has a 32" flat screen tv. It has a kitchenette with electric cook top, microwave oven, kettle, refrigerator, pans, plates and utensils. There is a free wi-fi in the room but only 1 device can connect at a time.

The hotel is in a residential area and is a 20 mins ride by taxi or a 45 mins ride by bus. There is a bus stop just a few steps outside the hotel. Hotel has a small restaurant that only offers breakfast but no lunch and dinner. This is a hassle if you would like to have lunch or dinner, you have to go to the city or to Anse Vata to have one. Your best option is to buy seafood (live mud crabs are cheap!) at the market and cook it in your room which we have done on several occasions.

I recommend this hotel for people on romantic holiday or just wanting to have a quiet time on their own.

Room Tip: If you need quiet time, choose a room not fronting the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Hello.
Thank you very much for your nice review, very precise and detailed. We are proud that you were well welcomed by our staff : it’s really essential for us !

We are also very happy that you enjoyed the spot and the view : at Le Stanley, each room has an amazing view on the largest lagoon in the world ! It’s definitively unique at Noumea. At Le Stanley, it’s possible to enjoy a sunrise directly from bed and even our car park has a wonderful view on the sea.

Concerning lunch and dinner, please, don’t forget too that the hotel does not only offer breakfast : our guests have the possibility to buy, at the reception, convenience meal and even.. fresh French baguettes ! It’s excellent with mud crab (for instance…).

Last but not least, you’re definitively right : Hotel Le Stanley is really the place to be for romantic holiday or for people who want to have a quiet time on their own !!

Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley.
Best regards from Noumea,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight after a cruise and before flying back to Australia. About 20 minute taxi ride from central noumea (XPF2,000). Check in was friendly and helpful, room with average facilities and stunning view. Very relaxing, sitting on balcony. Major disadvantage is the isolated location of this hotel entrenched in suburbia with nothing in walking distance. The hotel only offers breakfast, so for other meals, unless you have a car, you need to catch a taxi elsewhere.
It appears that in its heyday, this hotel would have been something very special with such a great location and outlook, almost resort style property. However, these days it appears to be a bit run down and very local, such a shame.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Hello.
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you liked the room, the amazing view and our staff : at Le Stanley, it’s very important to welcome friendly and to be helpful with each guest !
We are pleased to hear that your stay was RELAXING : to choose Hôtel Le Stanley after a CRUISE seems to be actually the best choice : each room has an amazing view on the largest lagoon in the world and you have even the possibility to enjoy a sunrise directly from bed !
Concerning the location, you’re right : it’s better to have a car, but don’t forget that Hotel le Stanley is situated in a very smart and quiet area… The most important point for a RELAXING stay ! Please, don’t forget too that the hotel does not only offer breakfast : our guests have the possibility to buy, at the reception, convenience meal and even.. fresh French baguettes !

Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley.
Best regards,
The Stanley Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews