We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Airways Hotel(Port Moresby)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$139
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Papua Hotel(Port Moresby)
US$165
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ela Beach Hotel(Port Moresby)
US$139
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shady Rest Hotel(Port Moresby)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raintree Lodge(Port Moresby)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
78
31
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
31
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvision cityleaf restaurantmonsoon showershopping mallworld classpool arealook forward to my next visitmonsoon barworkout facilityhighly recommended hoteltv servicezen spadeck chairscoffee shopluxury hoteldirect accessbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

The Room was located on the 9th Floor,and the view was amazing. Absolutely breath taking. The room faced the pool, which was a beauty itself. However, during my stay, the pool was closed off for renovations. The advantage of having easy access to Vision City was great and efficient. However, for smokers, you will have to go all the way to ground floor, and smoke. The staff are very strict about smoking in the hotel, maybe its to do with the architectural layout of the building, and the fact that the building has a lot of timber and wood materials and is therefore highly flammable. When you enter the Hotel, its like you have walked into a different country and place, and for a split second there, you forget that you are in Port Moresby. Its the best pretend getaway for those who cant leave POM but just need to get away from POM. Weekenders are pretty good for relaxing and unwinding.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West and East Side have the best view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmzSuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff757, General Manager at The Stanley Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hi Emma M,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.I do apologise for the pool service area being closed due to the work being done out there. Unfortunately this is the quietest time of the year, so it was the best time to do this. You'll be happy to know the service area will open this weekend and the rest of the work completed by mid February.

The hotel smoking policy is inline with most major organisations such as clubs, bars and offices. If we allow people to smoke in the guest rooms then we can only sell that room to another smoker, as removing the smell is expensive and time consuming. I do understand the inconvenience that this causes having to constantly going down stairs to smoke, but the hotel has obligations to all our guests and a smoke free environment is generally considered to be a requirement these days.

Thank you for the positive comments about the hotels atmosphere and views. I will share your comments with all the staff at our next town hall meeting.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Haigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Recently, we were privileged to have taken a delightful holiday at the Stanley Hotel in Port Moresby. Not the usual spot anyone would consider for a holiday I guess but we were mighty impressed.
The room was spacious and comfortable as were the beds and amenities. The rooms were serviced daily by attendants who were very polite and helpful.
the executive bar and lounge was closed for renovations while we were there. despite this we enjoyed the food and ambience of the Green Haus,Monsoons and the coffee shop.
The location was perfect, with level 1 leading directly onto Vision City shopping mall.
Level 5 contained the beautiful infinity pool area and an extensive gym facility which we used daily.
Swan Security provide a safe and reliable limo service to anywhere you wish to go if you are happy to pay the price. Otherwise, Vision City parking has a very convenient and reasonable taxi rank if you are happy to haggle a bit and know where you want to go.
A big thank you to everyone at the Stanley who made our stay memorable, but particularly, Agnes and Jasmine at front desk, Reuben on concierge and the delightful Elizabeth at the Green Haus Restaurant for making our stay enjoyable.
We look forward to staying with you again

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are very nice. Above 8th floor best as the views of the city lights are also very nice. Suites are great
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff757, General Manager at The Stanley Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi princessslh,

Thank you for such great compliments about the hotel and the staff. I will pass these on to Agnes, Jasmine, Reuben and Elizabeth myself. As well as the housekeeping.

I apologise for the lounge being closed but we needed to replace some of the windows and this could not be done with the lounge open. Glad you enjoyed Monsoon, Green Haus and Rainforest. Having Vision City attached to the hotel is certainly a plus for all our guests.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Haigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Spent a long time here in October and November 2017. Loved it! Very high standards of service and facilities. Rooms are as good as anywhere. I've visited Port Moresby on and off since the 1970s. This hotel has taken comfort, safety and security up a significant notch. And what a great advantage it is to have a shopping centre right next door! Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: They're all good!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff757, General Manager at The Stanley Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi John L,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. The staff and managers are working very hard to prove that you can provide exceptional service and a quality hotel in Port Moresby with all the facilities you expect to see in a Luxury Hotel.

Thank you again for the great feedback..

Kind Regards,

Geoff Haigh
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Spent 2 nights here in late December 17 and the hotel was understandably very quiet. Very impressive standard, entry foyer and facilities and equal to most 5 star properties in Australia and overseas for that matter. Rooms a good size and bar and dinning more than adequate. Very close to airport and the interconnection to the shopping mall very handy and safe to use which houses shops and a variety of restaurants as access to any others would require a cab.. Tour office located within the hotel so very easy to organise a tour, or as we did, a car and driver which I would recommend. The really lovely thing about this hotel is the pride the staff have in the place. We were often asked our opinion and comparison with other hotels in Aust and overseas, and when responding in a complimentary fashion they were so genuinely appreciative of the assessment. If I return this will definitely be my spot.

Room Tip: Seek an elevated room with a view of the Ranges
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maffu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff757, General Manager at The Stanley Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi maffu2016,

Thank you for your very positive comments about the hotel. It is heart warming to here comments about the pride the staff have in the hotel. We have spent a lot of time working with the staff to educate them about the hotel and why we believe we are the best hotel in town.

We are all really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will see you again.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Haigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We had a satisfactory stay overall. I’ll start with the positives: excellent cleanliness of common areas, great water pressure, hot water, good selection - and plenty - of amenities, towels, the bed and pillows were comfy and heaps of power sockets. What you’d expect in a hotel of this size and caliber, really. The service, however, left a lot to be desired. By the end of the stay they did a remarkable job at restoring our faith in the brand but not before we had to complain - on more than at least 2 occasions - about things like: (1) the room not being made up, (2) despite being executive club guests, the executive club lounge was closed without any notice to us, (3) being inconvenienced to have meals downstairs and then being charged for things which would otherwise be included in the said lounge, etc. There seemed to be a bit of miscommunication about which guests were blue titled to what level of service but notwithstanding, like we’ve said, they picked up third game so we congratulate them and would therefore stay here again. It’s a great hotel and has much potential.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tui0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff757, General Manager at The Stanley Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Tui0200

Thank you for your comments regrading your recent stay with us. I am not sure how you booked, but there was a lot of information on our website, and facebook about the Executive Lounge being closed during this period. This information was also feed out to all travel agents via our booking system.

That said, we should have been able to identify who was entitled to lounge extras like drinks and breakfast without any problem.This is obviously not the case with your booking.

I will discuss the procedures we had in place with the relevant people and ensure this is improved should we need to close the lounge in future.

I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience we caused during your stay because of the lounge closure. Thank for recommending us to stay again.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Haigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews