We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:15 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Jodensavanne
from US$105.51
More Info
from US$255.37
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
44
39
17
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
44
39
17
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We went to Overbridge and with a guide we went in a boat to The Jodensavanne. A beautiful place with a lot of history. A must to see when you visit Surinam. Take a rest after the trip in the restaurant or take a swim in the river.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Bertine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you find yourself in Paramaribo, be sure and check out Tours with a Flair and Marina Da Costa's trip to Jodensavanne. You will have a wonderful day on the river as well as tour the Jewish settlement. She is a wealth of historical information about the Jewish settlers as well as Suriname. It is her personal touch that makes this day special. Whether you are a Jew or a Gentile, this trip will be a true blessing to you.

Date of experience: July 2013
3  Thank IslandDreams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Interesting to see all the graves and ruins, but I liked it the most because it was so calm and peaceful there.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank Kikimaniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I highly recommend this tour with Marina daCosta Tours with Flair-- to Jodenne Savanne in suriname. It is well worth the reasonalbe price. A full day with a boat trip, many delicious snacks, lunch, and Marina is so wellinfomred adn also enthusiastic abou the history of the Jodenne Savanne and the old Jewish cemeteries
She is from one of the oldest Jewish families in Suriname so the trip is a very personal experience. It is highly enjoyable, relaxing, and well organized. I highly recommend this day trip.

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Phyllisstoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Though there are an infinite number of tours to choose from, Marina DaCosta is the most culturally engaging guide we found in our search. You can see she is personally motivated and enthusiastic about Jewish history in Suriname. This makes her tour a lot more valuable. It gives context to ruins, names, and sites and it makes her willing to do more for you to see and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Alana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews