We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cara Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Georgetown)(Great Value!)
US$90
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandsville Hotel(Georgetown)
US$83
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eldorado Inn(Georgetown)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Signature Inn(Georgetown)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rima Guesthouse(Georgetown)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durban Hotel(Georgetown)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$206
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
63
86
34
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
86
34
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial buildingcovered courtyardballet roomcourtyard barcharm and characterspent a week herecharming boutique hoteltropical raincolonial timeshot showermini barfelt safe and securebring earplugswell appointed and comfortablewest indiescentral locationair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here upon arrival and departure on a birding trip. The rooms have AC, showers have hot water with good pressure bed was comfortable. Hotel was generally noisy. Bring air plugs. If possible, ask not to be placed above the kitchen!! The banging of dishes and pots and pans go in till 2 or 3 a.m. and the staff of course are busy talking and laughing . All the office staff and service people were kind and respectful. Count on waiting for about two hours for your dinner, perhaps you can place an order early and return? That was the only bad part. Everything else was great. It is far atom the airport, so don’t plan on an early departure!! We had to leave 3 hours early in the middle of night to catch our plane because you have to allow time for security check and immigration and all that stuff. But once it’s all done you will really appreciate how special Guyana is and how Wonder The People are. Especially in the interior. Make sure to go to Botanical gardens with a guide or group to be safe.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank goCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Owner at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Car Lodge and especially our staff. Unfortunately as the building is over 100 years old, sounds can travel but as a rule staff would not be working that late unless there was a large function. I am sorry for the long wait for meals, that is definitely not our normal standard and I will follow up on this. We are glad you got to also experience the interior and see the warmth of Guyana and our people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We recently spent 4 nights here--2 each at the beginning and end of our stay in Guyana. The rooms were quite adequate, though with little indication of the building's colonial heritage. Hot water was always available, the A/C worked well and the wifi was adequate for emails, but not for streaming. The restaurant was quite good and the staff were uniformly delightful and helpful.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Everseeking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Owner at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

We are glad that you had a good stay with us and that the hotel's heritage was particularly enjoyable. We have strived to maintain the amazing history of the building whilst ensuring that all the modern comforts are available. Thank you for the recommendation of our staff - they clearly demonstrate the best of Guyanese hospitality. We have recently changed our wifi and streaming should have been possible - I will look into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Cara Lodge in Georgetown is a super cool older colonial style hotel that exudes charm and history. We always look for hotels like this. Mick Jagger stayed here when he was in Georgetown to watch a test cricket match between England and the West Indies about 10 years ago.

The manager Gavin is awesome, super helpful as is his whole staff. The restaurant is excellent - and the downtown location is very central.

Guyana is a really interesting country to visit. Our main reason for going was to see Kaieteur Falls which was spectacular. Do not miss this excursion to one of the four great waterfalls on Earth.

We were lucky to meet a great taxi driver/tour guide at the airport that we hired for our entire time in Guyana. His name is Andrew Callender and his phone number is 692-5525. We did an all day trip with him on a private boat up one of the black water canals which was fantastic. We saw super interesting birds and monkeys, stopped at the Santa Mission and went all the way up to the Arrowpoint Resort before returning. Our final day we went to Suriname for lunch. Andrew took us there via the "back track" crossing at Skeldon.

We loved Guyana and the Cara Lodge is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 100-50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Owner at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for the fabulous recommendation of both our hotel and our staff! Gavin is very much the face of Cara Lodge and I will ensure he and our staff are aware of how much their attitude made your visit so enjoyable. We are lucky to have our hotel in such an amazing and historic house and I believe it truly helps all our guests get a true sense of Georgetown and Guyana.

Guyana is full of spectacular natural landmarks and we are glad you got to visit Kaieteur and then return to your base at Cara Lodge

We hope to be able to welcome you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

My husband stayed here about 15 years ago and had harboured a wish to return and so we finally took the opportunity to pay a visit. Whilst some minor changes had taken place it was exactly how he remembered it. We were welcomed and escorted to our room which was clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The fan & air-conditioning unit worked well for us and tea & coffee making facilities in the room were good. We live in a building at home which dates form the late 1600's so are used to the more quirky and quaint aspects of an old historic building! It possibly will not suit those who like modern glossy hotels. I especially loved the veranda that was outside our room and the beautiful wooden staircases. We found the staff pleasant & helpful indeed two of the younger members of the team played a key role in helping us to secure a trip to the Kaieteur Falls for which we will forever grateful. The food was fresh, well presented and inexpensive. if I'm ever lucky enough to find my self back in Guyana then this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paddiperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Owner at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

We are so glad to have been able to again welcome you and your husband at Cara Lodge! Nothing pleases us more than return guests, especially those who come back and still love our hotel. Cara Lodge is indeed a very quaint building and although historic we have tried to add the modern touches that today's guests need. Thank you for your commendation of our staff - I will ensure they are made aware of how their help made possible your trip to the amazing Kaieteur Falls! We sincerely hope to see you again for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Our stay in the Cara Lodge was lovely. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is terrific. The food is great, and the atmosphere is nice. The tree in the covered courtyard is lovely. Compared to other places in Georgetown, the wait staff is prompt and thoughtful. AC worked just fine, hot water was plenty. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MsEmilyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcs50, Owner at Cara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you Ms Emily Rose, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and were welcomed and cared for in true Cara fashion. We certainly look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews