We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Fine Dining “par excellence””
Review of JW Steakhouse

JW Steakhouse
Ranked #203 of 3,221 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: ₱1,917 - ₱2,875
Description: A contemporary take on the classic American steakhouse. Premium quality cuts are enhanced with varying dry aging techniques and paired with modern interpretations of the classic steakhouse sides. The art of mixology, is brought tableside with a range of concoctions; a world class grape list will compliment and lift the JW Steakhouse experience.
Restaurant details
Description: A contemporary take on the classic American steakhouse. Premium quality cuts are enhanced with varying dry aging techniques and paired with modern interpretations of the classic steakhouse sides. The art of mixology, is brought tableside with a range of concoctions; a world class grape list will compliment and lift the JW Steakhouse experience.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Visited on our last night in Abu Dhabi, as we wanted a “Special” night to finish our trip.
Decided on the Chef’s 8 course Tasting Menu with drinks pairing at 350 AED each. Described as “A journey of taste and senses”.
We were not disappointed, the table was ours for the night from 7pm until we finished at approx 10:30pm. All courses were introduced personally by the chef (Stephan Benkendorff) who introduced himself to us on arrival and also checked for any allergies or sensitivities. Each of the 8 courses was accompanied by either a cocktail (some alcoholic and some not) or appropriate wine, described / introduced by the sommelier. The menu was packed with surprises and included Tomato & Burrata, Lump Crab cake, Seafood Bisque, Slow Braised Beef cheek tortellini, Loch Fine Salmon with pistachio and green pea crust, Striploin of Aberdeen Angus (28 day dry aged) served with salt baked red skin potato, and charred Leek & Hazelnut vinaigrette served on Stilton & White port fondue. Red Cabbage Sorbet, Cheese course from Cooleeney Farm Ireland - served in the Winery, before heading back to our table for New York Cheese Cake with Berry Coulis and Strawberry sorbet presented on a mirrored panel with a personal message iced on to the panel - also a selection of petit fours to take away.
This was by far our best meal in a long time, and one you would not be disappointed with if served in any of the Michelin starred restaurants in London.
The kitchen brigade also only consists of three staff !

If this restaurant was in the UK - there would be a waiting list to get a table - seriously.

Stephan has to be Abu Dhabi’s best kept secret!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppiina P, Manager at JW Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Mick W,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write about your dinner with us and for such a wonderful review!
Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that we were able to create so many memorable moments for you with our 8-course Chef’s Tasting Menu. We are constantly striving to exceed our guests’ expectations and therefore I would like to thank you for your truly kind words of on behalf of Chef Stephan and the whole JW Steakhouse team. It gave me great joy to share your review with the team and I know it will inspire all of them to keep on creating memorable experiences to all of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to JW Steakhouse again soon and having the opportunity to create many more fantastic dining experiences for you.

Thank you once again and Kind Regards
Peppiina Pentti
JW Steakhouse Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

An overnight stay at the Marriott Abu Dhabi, I decided to go to JW’s as they are usually fairly consistent.
I chose French onion soup to start and beef short ribs to follow.
The soup arrived with a puff pastry top with a few sprinkles of cheese.
It was terrible, raw pastry underneath and no sign of any onions in the soup. Two spoonfuls was enough, the rest went back.
On the good side, the complimentary bread was excellent and the short rib was very tender and tasty. Although the Maitre D and chef were very apologetic...I really think they should stick to traditional recipes for something basic like French onion soup.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Sightsee235995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppiina P, Manager at JW Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this platform.
I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Oak Smoked BBQ Short Ribs and home made bread and butter selection however I am sorry to learn that we could not live up to the JW Steakhouse experience the fullest during your recent visit with us. We continue to look for opportunities to improve further and we rely on our guests feedback and suggestions to take our hospitality to the next level. It would mean a lot to us if you could write to me at peppiina.pentti@marriott.com and share more insights about your experience and help us to become even better. The whole team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to JW Steakhouse again soon.

Kind Regards
Peppiina Pentti
JW Steakhouse Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

It goes to show how taste differ. A friend recommended that I try the JWSteakhouse, and so I did. The entrance seems to indicate that this is for invitation only, intrigued. Then the restaurant is very appealing and well designed with its open kitchen. I ordered the Smoked Loch Fyne Salmon as an Entree, and the 300g USDA Sirloin. First bread, delicious brown bread with butter on stones, interesting. Then a little amuse gueule, prawn tartar on a little cracker. Then the main dish, 300g of medium rare beef cooked to perfection with ChumiChimu sauce (oil and herbs) and a nice heavy side dish of spinach and cream sauce. The meal was delicious, but I felt unsatisfied, something was missing... dessert. JWSteakhouse could consider include dessert as part of their promotion, not difficult or complicated to organise. The white one was delightful and refreshing, the red was unmemorable. There is more out there to try.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z3724ZFnicolasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppiina P, Manager at JW Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Z3724ZFnicolasg,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us here at JW Steakhouse. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal, especially our home made bread and butter selection, your steak which was cooked to perfection and the overall ambiance of the restaurant. The team was very happy to read about your experience. I would like to take this opportunity to encourage you to also try one of our other promotions on your next visit. Steak Business is a daily changing 3-course set menu for 200 AED +++ per person. Thank you once again for your kind words. The whole team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Peppiina Pentti
JW Steakhouse Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017

What a disappointing Thanks giving dinner. FAR away from traditional Thanks giving. FoFo food. Fake pumpkin soup. Sugar flavored pumpkin pie. Nothing close to what the restaurant advertised. I am so let down to the point of disbelief.

If you are looking for authentic food and good and recipes. STAY AWAY.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nabilnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppiina P, Manager at JW Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Nabilnh,

Thank you for taking the time earlier today to speak and share more insights about your recent experience with us. As spoken we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to JW Steakhouse again soon!

Kind Regards
Peppiina Pentti
JW Steakhouse Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Simply put, this is one of the Best Steakhouses in Abu Dhabi !
I had the NY Strip, Medium with a side of Potatoes.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank sugarFortErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peppiina P, Manager at JW Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Rayomand M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit here at JW Steakhouse. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you consider our Steakhouse being one of the Best in Abu Dhabi! It gave me great joy to share your feedback with the team and I know it will motivate all of them. Thank you once again for your kind words. The whole team and I look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Peppiina Pentti
JW Steakhouse Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JW Steakhouse also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to JW Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.