We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tel Aviv Foodie Must”

David and Yossef downtown
Ranked #279 of 1,846 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant "David and Joseph" DOWNTOWN located 21 Montefiore Street, Tel Aviv. Chef Dudu Almkias, behind 10 years of experience acquired in restaurant kitchens in the country and abroad alongside Chef Yossi Shitrit, with a wealth of experience in some of Israel's leading restaurants. They started out together about 3 years ago, a small structure bar at Jeremiah Street with 16 seats and dreamed of opening a quality institution that serves Mediterranean cuisine serving fish and seafood, along with fine alcohol with a special focus to music and the atmosphere speaks for itself. The dream became a reality and after three years in the small building, the restaurant moved in January 2013 to its new and distinguished place - 21 Montefiore Street The restaurant is spread over two floors and an outdoor terrace overlooking the street. Much work has put into the sound system and interior acoustics and the opening of the restaurant accompanied by consultant DJ "funky Fish" who has formed a unique music for the restaurant.
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Was invited to an event at the restaurant. Our hosts seemingly ordered the entire menu so we had quite a selection!
Highlights were the "Perfect Egg", Cauliflower Salad, and the Lamb Shawarma. But all of the other dishes were excellent as well.
Topped off with some great deserts (frozen creme brûlée for example).
I will definitely return on my next trip to Tel Aviv.
The food scene here continues to grow and evolve in a great way. David and Yossef is at the forefront.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at David and Yossef downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Warren A,

Thank you for dining D&Y as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
well reviewed(:, We are happy to read you enjoyed the food and service.
We appreciate your recommendation.
Best Regards,

see you again on your next trip to Tel Aviv

D&Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

the place looks great. feel like a trendy New York bar. the food is very good. high standard of materials and presentation. However super expensive. cocktails that cost 50 shekels for a small glass.
it's somewhere to go for a special occasion when you don't mind spending 600 shekels (150$ ) at least for dinner for two.
service was very good, friendly and professional.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 173keren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at David and Yossef downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dear 173Keren

Thank you very much for posting your feedback. we appreciated your review.
you are welcome anytime

see you again soon

D&Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Le me start and say - the food was good.
We wet 8 freiendcnds in the balcony. A fan facing us was blowing over our heads.
The waiter was kind and professional. We told him that we are here for the first time.
He offered so many courses how're dyad

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank RoniB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at David and Yossef downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Roni B,

The food is good… and you rate us 1 star?
it's was quite difficult to understand what was the problem beside the fan.
We hope you will come back for a better experience.

D&Y Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We been there for a family dinner and we sat outside. It was dense not so comfortable.
The food was good. We enjoy it but no more then any other restaurant at this level.
I don't think that i will come back.
It was nice and tasty for one time.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Dor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barak K, Public Relations Manager at David and Yossef downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Dor F,

Thank you for sharing your experience at D&Y
please share this with your friends as well
We like to welcome you again anytime.

BR

D&Y

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Great service! Tasty and creative food! Most recommended! The perfect egg dish is great... For sure you gonna back .....................

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank danielao885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David and Yossef downtown also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to David and Yossef downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing