We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Arabic food , service friendly ”
Review of Nafoura

Nafoura
Ranked #40 of 813 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Armenian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Nafoura Restaurant is located inside the old city's Jaffa Gate adjacent to the old old city wall and in the heart of trh christian Quarter,Nafoura sprawls gracefully over almost quarter acre of dining areas with archaeological columns ,gardens and fountains. The concept behind the Nafoura Restaurant is to provide a tranquil haven for visitors of the Old City away from the noise and the bustle of the bazaars.Opened all week except sundays. Barbecue night every thursday for special meats ,chickens ,and fish .From six till ten (summer time only)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very good Arabic restaurant in the Christian quarter just by the Jaffa gate . Sitting in and also in a beautiful garden in summer . The garden border are the walls of the old city . Salads were great . Shish kebabs were good . Fixed menu for the group including eat as you can salads , shish kebab on rice , fries and cold drinks , 28 USDLRS per person .

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gidons51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2019

Visited Nafoura mid-week having tried to find it the night before (but google maps had the wrong location marked) . We were warmly welcomed and shown a table at the back fo the restuarant, where a couple of large tables were full and a few smaller groups were located.

Menu provides enough to cover everyone's food needs, and mains come with a range of delicious complementary starters which are filled up if you wish (the Turkish salad and aubergine were personal favourites). My friend and I weren't too hungry and the manager actually suggested we order just one main to go along side the starters we had selected as it was probably enough, and if it wasn't we could order another dish. That was really decent of him as there was nothing to stop him from letting us order two mains and us not being able to finish the food. Of the starters we ordered, the fried cheese was really good and was a huge portion. We shared chicken skewers for the main which was good too and enjoyed a bottle of local red wine as we ate.

The restuarant was not very full at all at the time of our visit which was a shame as the atmosphere was a bit flat as a result. It was also a bit chilly but there were gas heater to keep us warm. I imagine this place is amazing in the wamer season as there is a lovely patio/courtyard out at the back, eating on which would make the dining experience all the better I am sure.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Went as a huge group. Food was excellent, very authentic and fresh. Atmosphere is quiet and very homey, well kept with a large garden-facing wall to the right. Owner was very friendly. You can taste the food was cooked with love, not a tourist trap. Amazing falafels! Also had baba ganoush, a decent hummus, grilled meat (awesome lamb kofta) and some herbed white slaw and red slaw. Perfect hideaway for rest and great food in this mostly rundown and touristy area.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jp384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Delicious lunch with falafel, hummus e different kind of sauces! Excellent wine service very good!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Konstantin_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2018

This is my favorite restaurant in Israel. If I could I would give it a ten. We had lunch here in April 2016, and enjoyed it very much. So much that we made it a point to return on this trip. Our dinner was even better.
My husband and I had the chicken skewers with rice and the ten side salads, with lemonade. It was delicious! We had some pretty great food during our time in Israel (except for one meal), but this is by far our favorite place to go.The food is fresh. They make everything from scratch. We got to talk with our server, who was friendly and kind, and the owner. They take great pride in the quality and taste of their food.
Being in the US, it is too bad I cannot pop out to Nafoura for dinner at anytime. In fact, I could use one of those meals right now.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nafoura also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing