We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$89
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$88
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$95
US$77
View Deal
SAVE US$18
Free cancellation until 05/03/21
eDreamsUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$89
FindHotelUS$95
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
197
149
79
26
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
197
149
79
26
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old city jaffa street boiled eggs washing machine hummus central location light rail shower curtain rooftop market tram shabbat shekels laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2019

Don’t be misled by the website, or the lobby. The rooms are dingy, sad, and reminiscent of what I imagine an Eastern European prison cell looks/feels like.

The beds were so hard and uncomfortable that they must have been carved from Jerusalem stone. Even worse, the temperature will be controlled by an indifferent employee at the front desk. Your personal preferences for sleeping temperatures (hot or a little cool) are not under your control. In my case, the heater never shut off the entire night, even after a polite visit to the lobby to beg for mercy. I ended up sleeping with the balcony door open to get some relief. This came with the added benefit of getting to listen to a late night street basketball game, drunken yelling, and skateboarders practicing tricks into the wee hours of the morning.

I checked out after one night and booked a wonderful apartment on AirBnB for substantially less. Lesson learned. Avoid this place and enjoy your time in Jerusalem.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank TeaMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, Guest Relations Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Hello dear guest
thank you for taking your precious time to write a review.
we hope that in your next visit our hostel will be more similar to western European standards.
all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 November 2019

This was in the area surrounded by cafes and shops, with the tram very close by.And close to the old City. I got room 11, the only point that might be considered negative is that there is live music in the square outside. Personally I enjoyed it. Shower and toilet was inside the room. There is a kitchen with seating, as well as a dining room where the breakfast is. At the time I took breakfast, it was kept topped up and guests made an orderly queue. Maybe because it is a bit smaller then another hostel I stayed at, the guests were more interactive. One female member of staff greeted me on entry, the men staff were approachable, but did not go out of their way to be friendly or say hello.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kareena2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, receptionist at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

thanks for your response! we happy that you had a good experience,
looking forward to see you again!
the jerusalem hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2019

Very close to the old city of Jerusalem and in between shops and restaurants. We got a good advice about where to go for dinner. Hostel has a very pleasant atmosphere. The breakfast is served on the roof, very chill and with nice views over the surroundings.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ajr112019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, receptionist at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

thanks for your response! we happy that you had a good experience,
looking forward to see you again!
the jerusalem hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great time, great location, nice people, it was clean and everything you need is closeby Met a lot of different people. I would really recommend it, and I am already planning my next trip.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, receptionist at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

hi nadia, thank you for your response.
it's grate to hear that you had a good experience here, and we are looking forward to see you again!
the jerusalem hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

· -Location! Very Central (the most important thing if you like to walk around, to old city, to markets, etc).
-Simple breakfast in a rooftop (open area). Its a great breakfast for this type of stay.
-The wifi works!

· -People always talk loud in the hallway of bedrooms with video and phone calls out loud. This is nothing to do with the hotel but with some guests who doesn't know there's is an object called "headphones" that can be used to talk more privately with others. I don't want to know your conversations in full audio.
-Small Bathroom (when you take a shower, all space becomes an ocean.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Route66por
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, receptionist at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Hi,
thank you for your response.
it's great to hear that you had a good experience here, eventough some people were loud.
We are looking forward to see you again!
The Jerusalem hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews