We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
4
14
25
10
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
14
25
10
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

i was here on 24 march to 26 march 2015
the room is dirty and bed sheet
too expensive for this standard of hotel
no bathtub
good location
near to nightlife
breakfast is poor
the driver and receptionist are helpful and friendly.
i don't think i will recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The room was well organized with good environment great views on the Mekong river and corner very good city views. Breakfast room are well attractive the food was great delicious. Also there are rom for monthly rent accommodation for all services included food and housekeeper, best for business travel in quarterly. Better than apartments you be safe and secure.

Room Tip: Best view on the south side
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Palatsawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We unfortunately booked three nights
Hotel was very dirty
Room dirty
Bedding stained and old no mattress cover
Towels old. If you even got any
Bathroom shower dirty
very Very loud music long into the night
Breakfast was a discussing assortment of nasty food
No coffee in room
Unfriendly staff
Tv old and fuzzy
Supposed to me non smoking
Lots of smokers
The ash tray at the elevator never cleaned out and smoking was allowed at breakfast
Stains every were
Need to burn the nasty place down
We moved after a night
Positive
Hot water
Internet
View

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2015

At first sight the front of the Vansana is like a 60's style building and not very impressive. It styles itself as a 5 star hotel but in European terms it would only rate between 3 or 4. That said it is in a great location, probably the best in the city of Vientiane overlooking the mighty Mekong.
There are lots of good cafes and restaurants around the riverside if you don't fancy dining in. The small open rooftop pool and restaurant is pleasant but the food is pricy and not very good.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abrownyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Travelling around Laos – great mid range Hotels – clean, welcoming with friendly, helpful staff UNTIL we had the misfortune to stay here - definitely the worst hotel I have stayed in (travelling in Asia regularly).
Maintenance issues in rooms / Hotel in general - which I can cope with in a developing country. Unfortunately it was also VERY dirty and lacked even the most basic customer service. One of our group found Bed Bugs in her bed and was told ‘not at this hotel’. She was EVENTUALLY given a new room. The manager didn’t care and there was not even an apology.
Breakfast was served beside the pool – not a pleasant experience - nowhere near enough places to sit, tables were filthy, food choice poor and hot food was cold. A staff member dropped cutlery on the dirty floor and put it back on the serving table (dirty with spilled food from previous breakfasts). He then placed ham slices into a dish by picking up handfuls (after having picked stuff up off the floor!). Our group ate at the Spirit House (nearby) the next 2 mornings after seeing that the breakfast area STILL had not been cleaned.
My group then meant a French man who had supposedly come to sort out some problems at the hotel. Following our discussion with him we had absolutely no doubt that he would achieve very little, if anything!! He had an excuse for everything assuring us all mid range hotels in Laos were like this due to factors such as the owners, the staff being local People and the weather – all a pack of rubbish (some of his answers were actually so hopeless that they were quite comical).
I easily found great CLEAN, friendly, well run hotels AT A SIMILAR PRICE in Vientiane for my trip next year.
Positives – Location
Hot Water.
Negatives – Dirty – rooms / public areas (am being kind)
Staff – on phones / internet constantly (no doormen / porters / bar / reception staff available) – no greetings or smiles and certainly none of the services they were paid to provide. Cleaning staff were friendly and tried - but had obviously had absolutely no training.
Linen – threadbare and grubby
Food – poor choice, unappealing and unsafe
BED BUGS

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews