We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
US$80
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angkor International Hotel(Phnom Penh)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$38
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
44
14
2
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
14
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel storieshot cambodianplace to stayrooms are cleanhot waterphnom
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I'll start with the positives: great location, large, quiet rooms with comfortable beds and cheap. I get the impression that this place has the potential to be a fairly decent place to stay, but the overall impression at present is one of neglect. When my boyfriend and I were first shown to our room, the beds were made but the sheets were dirty. We requested that they be changed, which they were, but the "fresh sheets", despite having been laundered, were still discoloured, stained and had holes. The towels had suffered a similar fate. The room itself was in desperate need of a deep clean - the floor was dusty and dirty, all the surfaces in the room had a layer of dust several millimetres thick, the ceiling was covered in cobwebs, the walls were grubby and the curtains stained. The bathroom was in a similar condition - the walls were coated in a layer of soap scum/grime and dotted with gecko poo, the mirror was dirty and the toilet and sink were adorned with previous guests' hairs. The shower was hot but temperamental. And there were plenty of cockroaches. We didn't eat here as given the condition of the rooms I wasn't confident about the state of the kitchen. The staff were neither friendly nor rude, which is fair enough. On our last morning we had to leave at 6.30am, so the gate was still locked. There were two members of staff on duty (still sleeping) and given the number of beer glasses lying around they seemed to have had a pretty heavy night, so heavy that after 5 minutes of trying unsuccessfully to rouse them we were left with no choice but to take the keys from reception and unlock the gate ourselves (we couldn't lock it behind us so had to leave it open). We had an ensuite twin room with fan for $10 per night, which is pretty competitive by Phnom Penh standards. But a double room with A/C and ensuite is $16, which you'd be crazy to pay given the state of the place. Wouldn't recommend it and certainly wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Check room (especially bedding) before committing
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at Lazy Gecko Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

I see you were staying here just as we took over the Gecko. I do admit I agree with your review; however, this is where it gets good. Since we took over in Sept of 2015 we have spent months remodeling, designing new menus, changing policy, and much more. Resulting in The Lazy Gecko having a complete make-over. I really want to welcome you back to see how much we have changed. I am sure a brief read of every review since you posted yours can give you an idea of how different we are since re-branding. Hopefully we get to see you soon and show you that The Gecko is now climbing its way to be the best guesthouse in PP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si es posible con aa o alguna que no esté en la cara Este, ya que las habitaciones son un horno, imposible dormir.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at Lazy Gecko Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews