We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay
Nearby Hotels
Amiana Resort and Villas(Nha Trang)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$81
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$446
US$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
601
112
22
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
112
22
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon villaninh van bayhill rock villaprivate poolbutler servicehill sideour honeymoonprivate butlerprivate dinnerindoor showeronly accessible by boatliving roomboat transfercomplete privacyvietnamese coffeecoffee machinehoney moon
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

For us, this was one of a handful of trips we have taken in our lifetime that would leave us with the fondest memories. Our butler, Truc, was available for us whenever we needed assistance although we opted to have as much privacy as possible. We lounged on the beach, dipped in our private pool, hiked, took an amazing private cooking class with the chef, and ate one amazing meal after another for lunch and dinner. The open-air fancy treehouse experience was nothing like anything we could ever experience here in the United States, and we will forever remember the An Lam Villas as a place our hearts will always be.

Suggestions: Eat all of the Vietnamese-style food that you can, and realize that this is an "open-air" luxury style resort. It is a very unique experience compared to typical western resorts, so arrive with an open heart and open mind and you will have the time of your life!

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, Manager at L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Glad to read you enjoyed the cooking class with Chef Mrs Chuong. She actually has a long experience in teaching Vietnamese cooking and the cooking class is indeed a special treat. Warm regards from Butler Truc and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2015

What to say about this little bit of heaven?

My husband and I stayed for four nights in the middle of our two week Vietnam trip. It was the luxurious part of our holiday to just relax, eat, and be taken care of! It didn't disappoint!

Arrival
Driving through Nha Trang, I became quite concerned that it wasn't the type of place we would enjoy. However as we carried on driving we eventually took a right turn into a little driveway. We were welcomed there by a very friendly lady who sat us down and gave us complimentary drinks whilst she took our passport and bank details. After ten minutes, we were walked down the small jetty to a speedboat and a fifteen minute boat ride later we arrived to five people stood on the jetty welcoming us to the resort. One of the five was the resort manager, and another was our butler for the duration of our time there- Hung. Hung was hugely welcoming, and took us on a golf buggy to our room.

Room
We opted for a Hill villa- largely as it was the cheapest room, but it also seemed to provide much more privacy than the others. It was amazing! Hung showed is around each room in turn, the villa is set on three floors- the bathroom (huge), the bedroom, and the outdoor living area. My husband hadn't taken much notice when I booked, so he was beyond astonished by it all. There was also a small outdoor pool. Ours didn't get any sun however so we never used it. (I think our room was the exception, not the rule). It didn't matter one bit however as the beach and pool were almost empty.

Food
Breakfast was included, and was the best within our stay to Vietnam. The choice was plentiful, including a glass of sparkling wine each morning. My only niggle was on the days we went a little later, certain fruits had pretty ran out.
There were two options for dinner. A la carte menu (which we dined from) or a set menu which changed nightly. The a la carte had a good amount of choice and the food lovely, but be aware the prices are not what you become used to in Vietnam. (To give a guide, in four days, having two course dinners with a beer and soft drink, we paid £160.) In a place of this standard, you would expect this however, so just set money aside.
We had our dinner in our villa one night from the a la carte which was the same price and quality.

Service
Our 24 hour butler Hung was brilliant. We didn't actually utilise him very much, but had we chosen to, he would have been obliging to any of our requests. He was incredibly friendly, always had a smile on his face, and always found you in the morning to ask how you were and if there was anything he could assist with. The service level was simply outstanding. This was also the case for other staff who always greeted you. The manager was also a breath of fresh air, checking we were happy on passing, and even offering to bring us some sparkling wine when we were sat watching the sunset by the jetty one day.
As we left for breakfast each morning, the room would be cleaned before your return, and a nightly turn down service (including rose petals on our final night) was done whilst at dinner. We were never disturbed!

Location and surroundings
Ninh Van Bay is nothing like Nha Trang. It is very secluded, every detail of the layout and design thought through (the pool overlooks the sea next to some rocks- makes for a very picturesque setting), and all in all is beautiful. It reminded me of the Maldives.

Departure
Checkout is 12pm but we were kindly allowed to stay in our villa until 2pm. Our bags were collected and we spent the last hour in the Fire Bar playing pool. We were then taken back to the mainland (waved off by the staff of course!) and Hung had already ensured our transfer taxi was waiting.

We loved An Lam, everything is first class- the rooms, the service, the location. Thanks An Lam for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, Manager at L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Very thorough review which will certainly very helpful for travelers, thank you so much. The Hill rock villas are designed to keep the feeling of a large tree house, but with a pool... The tree might shade the pool and actually keeping it refreshing, especially at midday sun heat. Warm regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon around Vietnam. This was the 'luxury' portion of our trip, most of which was spent in much cheaper hotels - we wanted to spoil ourselves a bit, and this was a perfect choice for this!

The setting is gorgeous. You arrive via speedboat, which gives your stay a dramatic, and beautiful, beginning. The beach is lovely, and the whole resort has been designed really well to work within its setting.

Our villa (we had a Hill Rock one) was just fantastic. We had been expecting something nice from the pictures, but this was so much better. Split over three levels, with a sort-of outdoor living area and our own private little pool, it felt both spacious and very private. You can tell the rooms have been put together with real thought - for instance, you get a proper coffee machine, and the bathroom was really well-designed.

The food was generally great - I would, maybe, have liked a few more vegetarian options, but they did try very hard to accommodate me. Breakfast was very good, with a lot of options and both an egg and noodle bar.

We did one trip, a snorkelling one, which we very much enjoyed. Again, they exceeded our expectations here, providing plenty of food. The two men who took us out on the boat were really friendly. Generally the service was exceptional, with staff really eager to please.

The one word of caution I would say is for people who, like us, got a pretty good deal on the rooms (we seemed to pay quite a bit below the going rate - we booked quite last minute, and it definitely wasn't full). We perhaps didn't account for how much extra staying somewhere like this costs: food and drink is good, but pretty expensive. Our total bill on check-out (which did include our excursion) was over half of what the rooms themselves cost. However, for a lot of people staying here that's clearly expected - and if, like us, staying somewhere like this is more of a one-off very special treat than a regular event, then this seemed to us like a place very worth splurging on. It exceeded our expectations in every regard.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, Manager at L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

The resort was not totally full but running at a decent 80% occupancy. Even when we are full, you would not notice much aside from the dinner time, which makes the restaurant ambiance even more enjoyable. Thank you for spending your holidays with us and we are very delighted to have exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2015

It always gives me pleasure to be able to write agreat review. Very few hotels manage to get a review with no negatives but this one does.
It's slick it seems do effortless but you know this place us a very fine tuned machine all working hard to give guests the best exoerience ever. I'm in the very privileged position to be able to have stayed at two amazing luxury resorys on Nha Trang. Thiscwins hands down.
The setting is secluded and gives that feeling of luxury.
If you're used to highly manicured resorts then perhaps this isnt for you. It's natural it's Vietnam at its best with luxury thrown in just to give you the best.
Set in the landscape the villas wecstsyed in are designed to work with the environment. Yo wear naturally with the environment. So those who commented about the wood being faded seriously need to get a life!
The hill villas are beyond expectations. The photos don't do them justice. They are large well designed and I could stay there forever. Our only mistake was spending only 4days with our am lam family. The rooms have an internal small staircase linking levels which isn't shown on pictures which makes you feel like you're in a house which I loved. The bathroom/dressing room is gorgeous. Note to ladies dress in the bedroom there's no sitcom or fans in the bathroom area so by the time you're dressed and makeup on you've oerspired beyond belief. Bedroom has good air con! The pool is a welcomec amazing feature and I possibly will always want that now. It'swas amazing to just dip in any time of day or night. Sitting area is lovely with big overhead fan tea coffee making .We asked for condensed milk daily so we could have traditional coffee. Daily fruit platter provided. Nothing is too much trouble. My sister and i found it at first hard to know what we wanted or needed our butler to do. A suggestion of acceptible duties list perhaps could be something the management could provide to help guests. We did not want to be cheeky asking for things that perhaps wernt or shouldnt be within the job description. Like unpacking ironing etc. We were not sure what was ok to ask. So often were reluctant to do so.
Staff are friendly not forced not subservient which is great. the balance is right.
The butler service is great. Our butler dyoung was exceptional on all counts. I'm sure everything ran so smoothly because of all the hard work he was doing behind the scenes.You get the feeling everything is effortless yet you know there's a team of very hard workers making it feel so
I have bad walking difficulties and food requirments due to allergies. I was allocated the closest villa to amenities and the chef had a board with all my requirements. Our butler made sure everyone was aware and every night the chef would discuss what I wanted and would make it for me.
So the resort area what is it like. There's plenty to do if you want or as little as you want. There are bikes to ride. Kayaks. Sailing boats. Walks in the mountains all to keep guests happy. There is a bar open until the last guest goes and a shop for souvenirs and essentials.
The grounds are as discussed natural this isn't a resort for heals but chic kaftans and low sandals. We did like to get dressed up for dinner and stare over the bay at its wonderful views which really are stunning!
Breakfast is great. It's not as slick as the mia resort we stayed at (see review)but it's a different kind of hotel and this far exceeds there. Perhaps suggestion for management of labels with what food is what would help. Especially for people with allergies. Cereals were a bit basic. I love grinola/muesli and fresh nuts raisens etc so was a little disappointed at the lack of choice there. But that's a minor niggle. Oh and the biggy Champagne for breakfast!supposedly it aids digestion. Food was great and fresh juices made constantly.
Management and staff have it just right in my opinion. There's a professionalism and relaxed feel to staff with excellent service. Conversation isn't forced and you dont feel like you're being targeted to practice English on which some places can feel like. There is a family feel to the resort to the credit of all staff. And perhaps because staff live on the resort there's a closeness and respect for eeach other that's often missing in other places.
I really have nothing bad to say about am lam only good.
If you expect manicured and subservience then dont bother.We did come across a few rude guests treating staff not great. If you like warm friendly and will help you to have the best experience am lam is the right place. We spent most days doing absolutely nothing because we could!the views are heaven on a stick!

Room Tip: Hill view villas are stunning with great views. Next to nature
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank zomile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, Manager at L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Wow... your comments are just making us blush! For the Butler service, they would do all they can to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable, they are no list of what they can, may or should do that I may think of (probably easier to draw a short list of what they cannot do...). Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the exhaustive review. Warm regards from Butler Duong and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We spend 5 days of our honeymoon at An Lam and think it is a simply wonderful place. The staff were friendly, dedicated and only too willing to please. Thank you to you all for making our honeymoon so special

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank G4681CQdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, Manager at L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

We are delighted to have made this special moment of your life as memorable as you wish it to be. Warm regards from everyone at An Lam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews