We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy banh mi sandwich!”
Review of My Banh Mi

My Banh Mi
Ranked #137 of 5,423 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic Taste, Clean & Healthy My Banh Mi (MBM) should not be mistaken with a sidewalk street stall. We are a specialty restaurant recognized for authentic Vietnamese home cooking. A two page limited menu offers authentic Vietnamese Vegan & non- Vegan meals: Classic Noodles, Meats and Vegetarian Items. As MBM culinary bonafides, food professionals rate MBM specialties as #1 in Vietnam for both taste authenticity and quality. Ctrip (China PRC) - Food Maps (Pan Asian TV ) - Moya Moya Japan TV - TripAdvisor Over 1,100 reviews - Rurubu (Japanese Tour Guide) - Vinadaytravel (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Tripzilla (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Coconuts.Co (Asian Travel Advisory Service) AMBIANCE: Air-conditioned - English speaking table service. AUTHENTIC: Authentic meals imparting delicate flavors combining authentic herbs and spices. SERVING: Clean, healthy, authentic meals offering excellent value for money. Five star quality moderately priced. DINING HOURS: Last orders 8:30.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We were looking for an authentic banh mi near our hotel,and we stumbled upon this resto at tripadvisor.Googled it,and tada....we found it!We were happy and satisfied with the taste.Definitely a must-try in HCM.
My husband was stunned when he found out that the man he was talking to inside the resto is,the father of the famous international chef bobbi chinn,and the owner too.(he is a fan though)
Overall it was a great experience!

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank swanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GohH76, Owner at My Banh Mi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear swanville,
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you stumbled upon us and enjoyed our Vietnamese home cooking. Thank you for expressing that our kitchen is a “must- try” when in Ho Chi Minh City.
We appreciate your mention, “Overall it was a great experience!” and that our very “Best of the Best” authentic home cooked Vietnamese food and service made for a very memorable Vietnam dining experience for you.
We thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 707 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Loved the banh mi here. While they have traditional one's we opted for some with a western flair. We had the French which is beef with a terrific smoked pepper sause, a lemon grass chicken version and the bratwurst. All were excellent.

Service was very good, quick, friendly and attentive. Place is conveniently located near the main post office. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GohH76, Owner at My Banh Mi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Larry S,
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to know you enjoyed the quality and taste of our authentic home cooked food.
Banh Mis are a specialty with us as we offer 13 different Banh Mi options that are all constructed around authentic Vietnamese prepared fillings (we note you tried our Lemongrass chicken). Our Banh Mis are recognized as the “Best of the Best” as we use only the finest Vietnamese pork, chicken and beef (imported Australian and New Zealand) along with fresh fish and vegetarian Tofu options. Being cognizant of our Vegetarian patron requirements, our vegetarian Banh Mis are totally compliant to Vegan requirements with the replacement of our traditional pate du porc with our specially in-house prepared mushroom pate.
As we seek to provide our patrons the opportunity to dine on the “Best of the Best” authentic Vietnamese food at attractive value prices, our Banh Mis that offer impeccable hygiene, quality of flavor and taste and at prices as reasonably as VND 55,000 (Traditional Banh Mi - US$2.00), is considered by our patrons as great value for money.
We also are pleased to read your comment that our friendly English speaking wait staff were attentive and served you quickly.
Good service, food quality and taste along with value pricing are very important to us and we appreciate your letting us know of your satisfaction when dining with us. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Food is great that incorporates western interpretation of the local traditional food, Banh Mi. The chef cum owner, Bobby has brought it one level with his interpretation.

Waitress that can speak English and the menu that are in English is definitely a plus point.

The tradition Banh Mi is definitely worth trying.

Definitely worth the visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank weekeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GohH76, Owner at My Banh Mi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Weekee Y,
As we take great pride in serving the “Best of the Best” in food quality, taste and authenticity, we very much appreciate your review letting us know that you thought our “Food is Great.” Our focus is directed toward serving authentic home cooked Vietnamese food and we are very pleased we were given the opportunity to share a few of our kitchen specialties with you.
Also, we are pleased to read that our English speaking wait staff and menu added ease to accurate dining selections. We understand how disappointing it can be when served an item that differs to what your wait person explained it to be.
Thank you again for your review and look forward to the opportunity to serve you once again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We loved the Bahn Mi here! We went out in search of finding a great viet sandwich. Our endeavors lead us here, and our endeavors did not disappoint! We read a couple reviews saying that this bahn mi was westernized or expensive and I would have to say I disagree. Perhaps it is a little more 'tasteful' than a side of the road Bahn mi, but I think the Vietnamese flavor is still entirely intact. In fact this is the best Bahn Mi we've had since in Vietnam. I'll gladly pay more for this Bahn Mi. The bread was of higher quality and so were all of the ingredients. You get what you pay for, folks! So yes, this is a little bit more expensive. But hey, I'd rather enjoy myself then save $1 on a sandwich I don't like :)
The owner introduced himself and was very friendly. The staff was extremely courteous greeting us and saying goodbye. The service was amazing! I wish we had this restaurant in our hometown! Try the basil sauce and eat up! Cheers

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GohH76, Owner at My Banh Mi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Ben G,
Thank you for your review that encompassed a total understanding of our food quality and what we stand for. As you have commented, our food is not expensive when considering the high quality of the ingredients we use in the preparation of the food we serve. You are correct in that our Banh Mi may cost $1.00 more than a Banh Mi purchased and eaten standing on the sidewalk, but as you also correctly mentioned, there is no comparison in taste or quality.
We take great pride in serving authentic home cooked Vietnamese food under demanding hygienic conditions. We also insure quality of taste by using only the best quality ingredients available. To insure quality at all levels we even import our beef from Australia (Strip Loin) and New Zealand (Rib Eye) to insure the correct flavors from feed, grazing and critical marbling.
Thank you for your comment on our friendly English speaking staff who appreciates every patron as if a guest for dinner in their home. We understand the making of a memorable dining experience requires a “Trifecta” and in this light we are dedicated towards: Quality of food and taste, Service, Service, Service and meal values that provide Excellent value for money.
Thank you again for your review and trusting we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

great spot, great food, service and prices... a must when visiting Saigon

was a little hard to find but keep you eyes open and you will find this treasure.

food was really fresh and tasty

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank 237justinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GohH76, Owner at My Banh Mi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear Justine W,
Thank you for making time to let us know how much you enjoyed our authentic Vietnamese home cooking. We appreciate your mentioning our service staff,as great food alone does not make for a memorable dining experience. As such, we attempt to consistently provide a dining “Trifecta” of: authentic great tasting meals,… service, service service, … and great value for money prices. Regarding our pricing, we believe that five star food and service need not be expensive. As such, we believe our serving of high quality meats and fresh greens, featuring authentic home cooked Vietnamese meals at prices starting as reasonably as VND 55,000 (US$2.00) offers outstanding value for money.
We thank you for expressing your appreciation for our food, service and value for money prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Banh Mi also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to My Banh Mi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.