We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$136
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nguyen Khang Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$141
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$140
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Duc Vuong Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$106
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$85
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tan Hoang Long Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
5
24
22
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
24
22
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelroom servicetaxidistrictvietnamcity
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked for 2 days but ended up paying for 5 days. We arrived few hours early and they made us pay an extra day to check in. They refused to let us wait in the lobby until the time to check in. We had luggages such that we couldn't drag around the city for sightseeing until check-in time. Bathroom was dirty. It was a good thing that it had western style toilet. Breakfast was bad. We tried only once during our stay. The room was damp and we could smell the mold time to time, that was why my friend got really sick to the point that he couldn't move and was bedridden for 2 days. I had to open the window and nursed my friend so that he could stand up and move. After that we ordered the tickets back the US right away because we didn't want to risk our life and our health. The trip to Vietnam for us was practically ruin by staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneworldhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Epoch Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Lotus Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Oneworldhopper,
First of all, On the behalf of New Epoch Hotel’s Management, we’d like to say thank you for your staying at New Epoch Hotel !
We’re really sorry for what happened to you during the time you stay at the hotel !
According to the information about your booking that we’ve collected; in particularly, you booked 1 Superior room for 2 persons via Travelocity – check-in date: 5 May, 2013 and check-out date: 7 May, 2013; please note that the hotel’s check-in time is at 2:00PM, however, you came to the hotel at 2:40AM on 5th May, 2013. It means that you came earlier than your booking for nearly 12 hours.
Meanwhile, Our receptionist immediately offered a resonable price for you so that you could get the room and then took a rest instead of sitting on the sofa at the lobby and waitting to the check-in time (~12 hours then).
Your booking was for 2 nights; neverthless, because of your early coming (12 hours in advance), you had to pay for 1 more night. You were also in need to stay in 2 more nights, therefore, you had to pay for 5 nights in total finally.
You booked Superior room, but we set you in Balcony Deluxe room city view– double bed with the purpose of letting you feel better after the long trip. This is actually a good offer that we could make for you by the way. Moreover, we’d like to confirm that there was no complain or any comment from you throughout the time from 5th May – 8th May 2013 at NE hotel.
It was really bad that your roommate didn’t feel well when staying at the hotel. If we knew that, we would have another way to solve the problem. This was a very bad experience for your trip and for our hotel as well. There is no word but sorry in honest from us.
In the end, we wish you all the best and hope to serve you again in the near future in a better condition.
Best Regards,
Nguyen Thi Hong Thy – Front Office Manager
New Epoch Hotel
120 Cach Mang Thang 8 Str., Ward 7, Dist.3, HCMC
Tel: +84 39326169 Fax: +84 39325556

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Our stay was nice but short, the hotel was not in the tourist district but not out of the way. Since Saigon does not have public transportation other than buses we did a lot of walking. The hotel has a nice spa that offers many services and a package deal for hotel guests. The main difference from other spas is you have to sign a tip sheet after each service - however it is still very inexpensive compared to US prices and hour long foot massage feels great at the end of a long walking day! The breakfast buffet was typical asian with noodles or rice dishes included. They did have an egg station where you could get an omelet, fried eggs, etc. Overall it was fine. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke a good amount of English. When we arrived we had a problem with the ATM at the airport and they were instrumental in helping us make a collect phone call back to our bank to resolve the problem, which ended up being a problem with the ATMs at the airport. We also had free wifi and internet in the room, just need a code from the front desk. An additional note about getting to the hotel from the airport. It should only cost around 8 to 10 US dollars (or the dong equivalent) however at the airport we thought we were getting a taxi and it cost us 20.00 dollars. Make sure you are taking an actual taxi as there are people there that charge you extra and a few blocks from the airport we had to switch from the van that we left in to another car that took us to the hotel. They also dropped us off across the street from the hotel which meant we had to navigate the traffic to cross the street with luggage, dozens of scooters and no light. Not sure what that was about other than the person that arranged the ride I would imagine made the money and the driver of the other vehicle did not. Just be aware.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We got an upgrade to stay at a juniorstay.hotelstaff very helpfull.provided us with cheap taxinumbers.good breakfast at the restaurant at the highest floor.awesome view over saigon.hotel is old.especially the carpet and bathrooms are a bit dirty.hotel is located at a mainstreet.very noisy

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

A bit far from the city centre area where the toutist attractions are. Good service. The breakfast buffet was not all that, but nice views from the restaurant, located on top floor. The in-room safe was almost not connected to the wall, hence easy to steal. This was also the case in neighbour room. Good staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The service could not be faulted and the room was clean and facilities adequate with a decent but basic breakfast in the 9th floor panoramic restaurant where the views were totally worth the price. The staff could not have been more helpful. Only comment would be that the hotel might be of the new epoch but the rooms are more than dated!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaylo909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews