We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam of a smam”
Review of Crazy Buffalo

Crazy Buffalo
Ranked #3,369 of 4,545 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Good spot for people watching an overpriced beer (45-50 Dong). Stopped for happy hour drinks, buy 2, get 1 free. There's security to keep street vendors from bothering guests, blaring techo/pop music, Western seats (aka chairs that aren't mini stools) and a Western menu. Fine for a drink, but I preffered joining the locals at the other establishments on the main drag. My favorite spot boasted draft beer for 6k dong (.29 cents) and a fierce grandma/owner that only provided seats to drinking customers. It was less than a block away from Crazy Buffalo.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Avoid at all costs. The biggest scam if I ever saw one. Drinks inflated +20% because it’s after midnight and that’s not what the promoters tell you when they try and get you in.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TravelExpert32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018

Saw this place when we first hit Bui Vien street and thought "why not?"

I hadn't gone upstairs to where the food is so can't say much about that. Instead I just sat out the front on the corner to watch the locals go about in their usual style. When the street gets closed off for the night expect to see crazy traffic zooming past. You'll also get quite a bit of attention from the sellers walking around (more so than I found at other places). Some of them are funny as they have a joke with you.....all seem to be selling the same things.

The drinks are reasonably priced and there is a good selection on offer. The staff were ok, not overly friendly but not rude either.

Good starting point before venturing further into Bui Vien street.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PeterV5737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Worse! They try to cheat you. Even they indicate “happy hour” they do not apply at the bill. Drinks are less than average.
So: keep out of this restaurant, it is not worth at all.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank renard7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

What a disgusting place with disgusting staff. ‘2 drinks for 1’ gave over 1m dong for 577,000 bill(as it was between 8 and we didn’t all have change as tourists), argued for over an hour and they didn’t give us the full bill back. Was owed over 400,000 dong but they claimed we only gave 600,000 and that we can’t count. They then said ‘oh wait we gave 730,000 but took some as a tip’ .Disgrace. Avoid massively

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Fishing the guests with "buy 1, get 1 free cocktail", and at the end have to pay the full price with stupid reasons.

Zocken die Leute ab mit "buy 1, get 1 free cocktail". Am Ende muss man alles bezahlen, wegen bekloppter Gründe. Kleine Kellner/ Kassierer Mafia.

Milleti "buy 1, get 1 free cocktail" metodu ile iceriye tikiyorlar, sonra hesabin tamamını cakiyorlar. ödemeyince yavsak nedenler gösterip etrafina toplaniyorlar.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank nevzat_ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Buffalo also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Crazy Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing