We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey”
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
Ranked #161 of 3,860 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a family of 3 with a teenage daughter.

We had a table by the river and there is plenty of commercial activity on the river.

The view is across the river to an undeveloped area. It’s about 25 mins by taxi from Saigon district 1.

Food is excellent and the Chef is from Nottingham in the UK and has spent 15 years in Asia.

We had duck, squid tempura, sea bass, tuna, chicken and everything was very good.

Would we eat there again or recommend it? Yes.

Thank PigletWinnieAndRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigonTeam, General Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your recent visit and review here on TA. We appreciate the firm endorsement and hope you do have the chance to dine here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Deck is in District 2. We took a taxi from The Rex to The Deck for dinner. There was a lot of traffic & the fare was around VDN170,000. On the return trip the fare was VND130,000. If you are spending most of your trip on District 1 sights, I highly recommend making a trip to The Deck - you will feel transported to another city once you are within its compounds & especially if you have a table outdoors along the banks of Saigon River. Service is attentive and food is good. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mags Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigonTeam, General Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are happy to have had you as a recent guest. We appreciate your strong recommendation of the deck and the five star rating you posted. We aim to make a great impression on our guests and succeeded it appears in your case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth the trip out of Ho Chi Minh. The cocktails were a great way to start the evening and the chef came out to explain about the dishes. Delicious dinner and I would highly recommended a visit.

Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigonTeam, General Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review. The Deck takes great pride and aim to create positive experiences to all who come. We are happy to see yours was five star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a meal at The Deck with a buddy who lives in HCMC. He lured me out of my usual haunts in District 2 and I'm glad he did. We had beers and then ate out on the Deck that sits on the banks of the Saigon River. It was totally different from anything I've experienced in this city before, it's definitely worth a try.

Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant as a recommendation and did not disappoint.
Location is a little way out of the city centre but well worth the trip to sit on the deck beside the river. The service was top notch and the seafood platter we had was exceptional.
The only downside was the pricing, probably about 25% dearer than comparable inner city restaurants for both food and drinks.

Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing