We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Palace Hotel(Hanoi)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
US$37
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
120
114
40
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
114
40
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf driving rangesignature roomtennis courtshit ballsswimming poolcardio equipmentfitness facilitiesold quartertaxi rideha noinice hotelbusiness tripstayed here for nightsother hotelsstar hotelhotel is locatedpho
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve been to Hanoi before and stayed at the Melia. We were booked here despite wanting to stay at the Melia again. At first glance it looks run down and it is in fact run down. You have to drive through the slums to get here and the street noise can be heard from the rooms. The lobby is grungy and the check in process is slow and outdated. For some reason they won’t allow you to change USD unless they are immaculate yet you get dirty local currency in return. There is one restaurant and it is only acceptable. Breakfast isn’t even worth going down to eat and dinner is ok. 2 days in a row eggs were not cooked and they have raw chicken they put into the pho...All of the drink prices are way inflated in the hotel. The bathroom in my room has no shower curtain or anything to stop the water from flooding the bathroom. The hallways are not air conditioned and very warm.

Check out was the most ridiculous I have ever seen. Hotel goes to check your room before letting you check out. They had 2 different size water bottles and charged for the larger of the two 500ml vs 330ml. Pretty deceptive process. I didn’t think to check that the complimentary ones were not the same size as the ones already in the minibar. Definitely wouldn’t stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNCManager, General Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Mr. Michael W,
Thank you for your feedback on our service.In order not to have any misunderstanding for others who may have read your comments,kindly refer to below:
-Viet Nam,particularly Hanoi city,is a very charming city which has 1000years of history and culture.You are basically insulting Vietnam as a whole when you said one need to drive through the slums to get to the hotel.May I know which part of slums you are referring to?
-In most hotels/currency exchange counters,you are able to convert certain foreign currencies into local Vietnamese currencies and not vice versa as we only use local currencies.Thus,we were not able to change into US currency.
-We use boiled chicken for” Pho” and not raw chicken as you claimed
-Eggs may not be well cooked due to high number of guests and we are sorry for that,we will definitely improve on that.
-Our drink prices are all in line with the property which we are running and of course it will be pricier compare to buying from shops outside hotel, but still cheaper than other hotels.
-It is Hotel policy to check the rooms for miscellaneous items/mini bar upon check out to ensure that items consumed were billed accordingly.
-It is also common for complimentary water bottles and mini bar water bottles to have different sizes,and complimentary bottles were placed on tables and not in the minibar fridge.
We take our guests’ comments seriously and we welcome any constructive feedbacks in order to keep ourselves on our toes.
Sincerely,
Ye Yint Thein
General Manager
The Hanoi Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms were good and clean. The staff was very helpful and excellent. They gave us some good recommendations on restaurants with good quality. We enjoyed our trip very much!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank AmyChow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Has lake view, swimming pool, especially a lakeside area for golf course.
However, when we have a meeting at coffee corner at lounge, the smell comes from restaurant make us very inconvenient.. Need to improve this point.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phungnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The hotel is located next to West Lake and in the most chaotic and exciting area of Hanoi (Sword Lake - West Lake - Old Quarter), so it offers you both a nice lake view and the favorable conditions to see and enjoy the capitol center. The hotel has only 7 floors and the number of lake-view rooms is limited. So try to book it in advance.

Room Tip: Best view with lake view room
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vu Thu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Had the chance to stay there for 3 nights. Superior room was pleasant, bath tub in the middle of the room is a new experience. Room kept clean. Bed was a bit hard but acceptable. Housekeeper very responsive. Had a broken button on the table and housekeeper gave another five to replace without even requesting for it.

Breakfast is definitely something to work on. Half boiled eggs upon requests are either half cooked or almost hard boiled. Selection of bread looks tired and salad looked worn out. Selection of juices was good enough though. Coffee can definitely be fresher.

In short I enjoyed the room better than food although view from room was nothing to shout about.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank mala b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews