We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Light Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New Star Ha Long Hotel(Halong Bay)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel(Tuan Chau Island)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halong Happy Hostel(Halong Bay)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Villas Halong(Halong Bay)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halong Plaza Hotel(Halong Bay)
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ha Long DC Hotel(Halong Bay)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
117
37
19
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
37
19
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelbreakfast not includedbig tvspeak good englishclean roomsbar fridgeboat tripbooking tourshot showerquiet locationnext morningprivate cartwo nightsstayed one nighthalong citytravel agentwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel and very inexpensive. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff were very helpful and booked a wonderful tour of Ha Long Bay for us as well as our bus back to Hanoi. Take a short walk down the hill and stop at the closest restaurant for a really delicious meal. The harbor and bay cruises are just a short drive away as well as the most excellent Quang Binh Museum.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

For a budget hotel not bad. Clean rooms; nice staff members; they were helpful to get a day tours. They provde even tooth brush and too paste not even in 5 starys hotel i have seen that.
Breakfast was not included; you pay separetly. That was ok with me. They helped me get a taxi to the central bus station ($4).
Just in general; avoid unauthorize taxi drivers; taxi meter are reliable.
Hotel is about 5 mins walk to the bay area.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank Marcos Enrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2016

The light is a great option if you're looking for someplace to stay on the cheap. I believe we paid right around $11-$12 per night and thought it was an excellent value at this price. Way cleaner and quieter than many other more expensive hotels.

Pros:
Very clean, modern room.
One of the most affordable options in Halong Bay
Friendly and helpful staff.

Cons
Slow internet.
No view.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2016

On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who could speak great English, which is always a bonus in Vietnam. Our room was exceptionally clean and tidy. The service was amazing and the people at the front desk helped us book a cruise in the bay and also organised our transport back to Hanoi the next day. The next morning, the guy at the front desk was so kind and even went and bought us breakfast as a gift because our bus was leaving so early!!!
My husband and I really enjoyed our three day trip to Halong Bay and The Light Hotel was definitely the best choice in accommodation we could have made!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Our welcome by the staff very friendly, they helped us move furniture and check fun, room rates here are affordable but very clean, the staff enthusiastically recommend the tour to visit Halong Bay I feel comfortable in this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipKolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews