We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
US$690
US$580
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Beach Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
US$145
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Resort(Mae Nam)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$182
Cancelon
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
59
16
3
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
16
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichesea saltspa villageguardian angelocean view villasoft opening phasephenomenal resortmuay thai classbreakfast buffethigh end resortsteamed fishfour seasonsspecial thankstaxi companyin room diningasian dishessunset cocktails
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As return traveler to Thailand, we were aware what to expect from Thai hospitality. This hotel is brand new. But they exceeded our expectations in all points. Hotel is beautiful, especially oceanfront pool villas, big enough to accommodate a family of four. We stayed for 10 magical days&nights. Starting the day with delicious breakfast with an attentive staff taking care of every small detail. They serve a great collection of European and Asian dishes for every taste, all very high quality and fresh smoothies and coconuts are a nice start in the morning. The pool is great, and they offer a big variety of beach activities for the whole family during the day. They have complimentary yoga classes, thai boxing, and a very well equiped fitness center. Don't miss indulgent treatments in Spa Village, this was a whole different experience from the street Thai massage saloons you can find everywhere in Thailand. Worth every bath!
The very special compliment goes to the hotel management. Especially GM Mahmoud Skaf. He is very attentive to all the needs of the guests and knows how to lead his team.
We are more than happy to choose Ritz Carlton in for our stay in Koh Samui, don't mind some disturbing reviews from the soft opening phase. This hotel is very special because of the enthusiastic team.

Room Tip: The oceanfront pool villa is the best choice!
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank krpfmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear krpfmly,

I am very delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and truly thank you for the lovely review.

Our Ladies and Gentlemen and I are continuously working together to ensure flawless service and to produce memorable experiences for our guests and I am pleased to learn that you left Koh Samui with such positive Ritz-Carlton memories. In addition, I am glad you especially enjoyed your Ocean View Pool Villa, the treatments in Spa Village and the breakfast buffet spread at Shook!.

We look forward to the opportunity to warmly welcome you and the family back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amzing staff that go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable... Thanks to the whole team. Breakfast spread is great and the view from their ultimate pool villa fantastic. Mini bar could do with some spirits, there is nice fewer tree tonic but no Gin? Even not on the Room Service Menu. "Do not disturb" and "Make Up Room" signs should be electronic and light up next to the room numbers, that way poor housekeeping wouldnt have to run up or down all the stairs to the villas just to find out that no service is required. Overall fantastic experience and highly recommended. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Martin W,

Firstly, thank you for the recommendation and the wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience here and were well taken care of by our Ladies and Gentlemen! We also thank you for your kind suggestions and will be keeping it in mind as we work on our continuous improvement as well.

Once again, we hope to have the opportunity to warmly welcome you both back for more memorable Ritz-Carlton memories.

Warmest regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at the Ritz Carlton in Kho Sumai, and it has to be said we were incredibly impressed and we have had an absolutely amazing stay at the resort.
Lets start with the property itself; the website and the management team are very transparent about what is happening at the resort. When we arrived it was still in its soft opening phase, and yes there are building works ongoing to complete and enhance the resort itself. However, the work is unobtrusive and the main areas are largely unaffected. It is important to note that the location of the resort means that it is built into the hillside and that there are several tiers over which the accommodation and restaurants occupy. We were in an Ocean View Pool Villa, which was located on one of the lower level tiers so all the building works were completed and our villa was finished to an excellent standard. No issues at all in this area. Buggies to get around - our experience is that there aren’t any problems with buggies –every time we ordered they were right there
The main pool is huge and there are two Jacuzzi pools integrated; Pool and beach bar service offered by A and his team is faultless.
The beach is not big, and is split into two parts either side of the pool area. Manage your expectations on this one – you are not going to be able to go for long walks on the beach.
The Spa Village is a really nice and indulgent space; our massages were excellent – we recommend the Thai pouch massage.
Shook for breakfast is an experience that should be given a lot of time, not because of any issues with the service, in fact the complete opposite is true, but because of the array of the selection. A great mix up of European and Asian dishes. A juice bar with an assortment of ingredients that would bring a smile to the face of any Jason Vale disciple.
Pak Thai restaurant is very good, the seating arrangements are such that you effectively get a private booth. The food is excellent.
Our favourite though was Sea Salt – tables out on the beach area, great ambience with the music and lighting, and barbequed food from the board. Fab concept.
In room dining –is very efficient – we didn’t have any of the issues mentioned in previous reviews and all of our requests were met. On the day that we were leaving we ordered afternoon tea in the room – it was lovely – an Asian twist on the usual bounty. Beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious.
There is a massive ‘can do ‘attitude amongst the teams and they will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.
The Management are always visible and present, and are more than happy for you to share your views and experience. This team are the people who make things change and if you are not satisfied, or want or need something then these are your ‘go to’ people.
Recommendations:
Every day there is Management Cocktails event at the Pavilion – to see the sunset. Great view and opportunity to meet the teams and other residents.
If there is something you need or have a concern then our advice would be talk to the management team – they are completely approachable and if you are not happy they want a chance to make it right for you.
Have dinner at Sea Shack, order Tamarind Prawns at Pak Thai
Book and Ocean view Villa
Indulge in a Thai pouch massage at the Spa
Challenge F or Mark to make you a different cocktail (of your choosing ) every night

Room Tip: I would always book an Ocean View Pool Villla - numbers starting 90 or 91
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jo D,

Thank you for the time and effort you have taken to share such a detailed and wonderful review of your stay with us!

I am very honoured to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were well taken care of our Ladies and Gentlemen, in particularly, F, Mark, and A. Rest assured that the gentlemen mentioned and the rest of the team are very grateful for your kind words of appreciation towards the culinary offerings they have provided, along with the services rendered in the various areas you have mentioned. I am positive that this will only encourage the team to do even better to provide all of our guests with the genuine care and comfort that Ritz-Carlton has become known for.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback of the facilities and services you have tried at the resort. We truly look forward to warmly welcoming you back for more positive Ritz-Carlton memories.

Warmest regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Read some disturbing reviews online and almost cancelled the trip - glad that I didn’t. We got complimentary upgrade to pool villa. Room was spacious and staff were really nice and helpful. They’ve considered everything we need for a tropical escape - sandals, hats, beach bags, mosquito repellent, etc... And really like some little details in the design of the common area. Would be perfect if there would be more buggies around. Terrific weekend getaway!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Catherynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Catherine Yinan Z,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with the travel community of TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay and found the decor and amenities, further to the room and services rendered, to your liking. Rest assured that the team and I are also working on a continuous improvement on the facilities and amenities we provide for our guests' experience and truly look forward to the opportunity to warmly welcome you both back for even more positive Ritz-Carlton memories.

Warmest regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

I've been to Samui now 4 times, and with the new RC opening, of course we gave it a try. While still in "soft-opening" this is unquestionably an idyllic and very special resort. The team is classic Ritz-Carlton, top-notch from end to end. The resort has 2 private beaches and a tranquil lagoon, along with a pond full of exotic fish! Very cool.

The food at Pak Tai is delicious. It's a super-unique atmosphere with private huts on the water, and with a local music performance as well. Really cool.

Rooms wise, the ocean villas are definitely worth the difference. They are by far the most private and much better than jungle rooms which are in the back of the resort. The sunsets from these rooms will make you want to stay 1 month :)

Can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa definitely worth the money
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jason T,

Firstly, thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our resort! Our Ladies and Gentlemen are very delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will join us for a session in our Swim Reef pool where our guests get to be up-close with the over 50-species of fishes that we have!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and the room tip. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Koh Samui again.

Warmest regards,
Mahmoud Skaf
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews