We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Elephant Nature Park tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from US$66.03
More Info
from US$66.03
More Info
from US$61.08
More Info
from US$26.41
More Info
Reviews (10,214)
Filter reviews
10,214 results
Traveler rating
9,041
822
244
56
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,041
822
244
56
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats vegetarian buffet water buffalo street begging rescued elephants day trip heart breaking ride elephants their lives amazing experience these beautiful creatures overnight stay life changing experience watermelon these gentle giants asian elephants eye opening
Filter
Updating list...
1,000 - 1,005 of 10,214 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We searched long and hard to find a reputable elephant sanctuary that is humane and treats the elephants with love and respect. That is exactly what we found with this company! We booked very last minute which was 2 days before the tour and that left us with only one option which was the karen habitat single day visit. It was the only one not full so we chose it. What we didnt know was that you should definitely book in advance! The ones we wanted at first were booked up for weeks! Although we absolutely LOVED this tour! It isnt at the actual elephant nature park. It was about an hour and a half drive to the location which was remote and soso beautiful! Within the mountains and with a river flowing through. The group of 9 that we had (which was the perfect size!) got to spend the day with 3 elephants. All of which were rescued from the tourism industry or illegal logging. Our tour guide "Nut" was amazing, he would answer any and all of the questions we had while offering us information throughout the day. Seriously the surrounding area was stunning! Worth the trip just for that but of course the elephants make the view that much better! We started off by feeding them and that was so fun!, after that we did the jungle walk and got to observe how they eat naturally in the jungle, or scatch their butts on trees which was hilarious, all with no use of any hooks or tools that others use to control elephants. Then we had our very delicious vegetarian lunch! Seriously youll be full and happy afterwards it was great food. After lunch it was time to go into the mud pit!!! And help cover the elephants in mud, they loveee the mud it was so fun and hilarious so just be prepared to get dirty in the clothes they say to bring. We were also supplied with a traditional Karen shirt to wear into the mud if we wanted so our shirts didnt get dirty. After the mud pit it was time to wash in the river! Just such an amazing day and like our guide said " happy tourists AND happy elephants" which i loved hearing. I would say dont pick any other company! This one was truly outstanding and im sure the actual nature park is just as great . We loved this specific tour for the small group size, getting to know 3 specific elephants for a day , and the beautiful remote area!
Some things to note:
The day was pretty active and the trails can be steep so keep that in mind as that could be an issue for some.
Definitely bring a change of clothes and both shoes and flip flops!
The truck ride up was very dusty so overall just be prepared to get dirty
And enjoyyyyy your amazing loving experience with these animals who are now in a safe place!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Shoejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

I was in a group of around 10 people and we walked around with 3 elephants (half day tour). It was my first time seeing elephants this close so I was excited but since we had 6 Chinese tourists in our group it was difficult to get more than 10 seconds touching and feeding the elephant. They say that the elephants are happy here but we saw a man poking one elephant with a sharp hook. I don’t know if that is normal to do?

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Mads T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

I tried to book to go to the Elephant Nature Park but it was completely booked solid until the 2nd week of April. So if you are reading this now and still have time ahead of you to book, go ahead and book your park entrance online now.

I went to the Elephant Nature Park in Old town and they arranged a different tour for my friend’s and me to go to the Karin Elephant Retirement Camp which I think turned out to be better than the nature park. Price : $2500 Thai Baht. We had a small group of 8 and had 3 elephants to ourselves. It was fantastic!!!!

They picked us up at our hotels, took a to the camp. About a 1hr and 45 minute van ride on a very winding road so I was quite motion sick but I felt better once we got out of the van.

They had tea, coffee, waters and fresh strawberries for ya upon arrival. Then the elephants arrived. 2 older female elephants and a “baby” 4 yr old elephant. We fed them baskets of sugar cane. Then took a small hike in the woods while feeding them bananas and squash. The elephants were so close and bonded with us.

Then we walked back for lunch. Lunch was excellent and lots of it!!

After lunch we made rice, banana balls to feed the elephants. We headed out to wash the elephants at a waterfall. Truly an amazing experience!!!!

We didn’t get to feed the elephants our rice balls because they got spooked by a large tractor nearby building a road but the entire day was spectacular. We never felt rushed. The elephants looked healthy and playful.

The tour staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. I highly recommend this tour through Elephant Nature Park. I don’t regret missing the park at all. I loved the small group, no rush team we had.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Trekking_Thalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

There are so many different elephant parks near Chiang Mai, but Elephant Nature Park stands apart! Their priority is taking care of the elephants and educating tourists on the history of elephant abuse in Thailand. It's wonderful to be in such proximity to these animals and know they are being treated well!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We did one of the partner events with Elephant Nature Park and another camp. The one we did was called Elephant Wellness. It was an amazing experience, we had a very small group just 4 guests, which gave us lots of time with the elephants. Our program was with three specific elephants. We started off preparing sugar cane to feed to the elephants, then fed them, again with only a group of 4 and there being three elephants this was a very one on one experience. After feeding them we walked with them, bring sunglasses and sunscreen it was warm and sunny. After walking with the elephants we ate lunch which was very good and we prepare more food, and a scrub brushes for them. We then got to get in the water and clean them which was both hilarious and refreshing. Lastly we fed them one more time before saying goodbye. This whole portion was around 3-4 hours.

Once we finished with the elephants we got to visit and tour the elephant nature park which was such a unique place.

One of the highlights was our guide May! She was very informative and super energetic and funny.

Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank lucask10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews