We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$178
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$101
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rachamankha(Chiang Mai)
US$317
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$137
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$47
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
664
107
21
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
107
21
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteb bfoot bridgetuk tukan oasisthe main houseacross the riverold cityfour postermosquito nettinglush gardensposter bedminute walkflower marketbreakfast is servedevery morningping river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Outstanding nice neighborhood location near the older section of the walled city. Older Thai home - mini estate with courtyard and pool. Excellent and helpful staff. Nice gardens. Rooms very comfortable and quiet at night. Outdoor covered restaurant area overlooking the pool. Cooked to order breakfast - yum! Easy walk to the old city where you can stroll to the museums and shops or take a tuk tuk. We took the later to the Three Kings Statue and strolled back. Dinner at David's Kitchen but a mile away is not to be missed. White table clothes, superb, tasty dishes and attentive service including David. They even drove us back to the Baan Orapin in their transport car. We loved the hotel, especially its ambiance.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose Baan Orapin because of its location and excellent reviews and it didn't disappoint. Located on a busy interesting small street, once you go in through the gates, it is a haven of peace and quiet. Beautiful tropical gardens, a lovely pool and delicious breakfast served everyday by Pepsi. If you want somewhere to stay with local character, clean and comfortable rooms, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank jenross2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Such a beautiful place with such a great location. Even though you are close to so much, you feel like you are in the country. Pepsi is so kind and the staff will do anything to make your stay very nice. Rooms were always clean. We loved that there was a place to get your clothing laundered just 1/2 block away for so cheap. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Our absolute favorite place to stay in Chiang Mai. Set behind a fence it is paradise to enter. Very authentic with wonderful gardens and grounds all set around the majestic old Baan Orapin. We always feel immediately at peace. The family and staff are wonderful. We also love the riverside area. So many places to choose to eat and drink, listen to music or browse through the galleries. As soon as we leave here, we want to be back. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

The Baan Orapin is a lovely hotel that provides a peaceful, serene ambiance as soon as you walk through the gate. The staff is extremely courteous and unobtrusive. The hotel does not have a typical lobby, so the staff are going about their work in the background. The location is near the hustle and bustle of the Warorot Market and the Night Bazaar (just across the river, easy walking distance), but as soon as you enter the hotel property the noise fades away. The pool/garden area is beautiful, and well-maintained. The breakfast was good, with some special dishes you could request ahead. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite, and it was large and beautifully decorated, situated towards the rear of the property looking out on the pool and garden. Some of the furnishings come from a store next door (supports the craftsmanship of a Thai Hill Tribe). The bed in the room (as we found all over Thailand) was firm (not to my liking, but I carry an inflatable air mattress to put on top). All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank archie502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews