We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Free Bird Cafe

Free Bird Cafe
Ranked #95 of 2,464 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$4
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese, Thai, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our beautiful location is on the North side of the moat that surrounds the quaint "old city" of Chiang Mai. It is a perfect place to sit, enjoy the breeze, sunlight and people watching on the main road.The interior is attractive, colorful and bright with our student's art work and long share tables to encourage customers to sit together and make new friends or private tables and a small sofa in the kids corner where there are plenty of books, toys and art supplies to keep the kids happy while parents enjoy their healthy vegetarian or vegan western or local style breakfast, lunch, smoothies or coffee and dessert.We serve many Burmese and ethnic foods that you can't get anywhere else so it is fun to try something new! We also have a fun and funky little Pre-Loved Charity Shop in the cafe where you can not only donate your old clothing, household items, books and more but purchase goods and support our charity at the same time. We have loads of English language novels, travel guides, hats, shoes, scarves, jewelry, men's and women's clothing and more. We also sell organic spirulina, triphala and natural skin care products from local vendors.Please come and check us out today! You can park cars, motorbikes and bicycles along the side of the building.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Good vibes and healthy food. Great location in the old city, north side of the moat. I ate here multiple times.

1  Thank NitaBonitaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaFreeBirdCafe, Owner at Free Bird Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you, so glad that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped here after doing the street art tour and what a great little find this was! We had the best smoothies of our trip, highly recommend the passion fruit smoothie and the brownies were simply amazing! The cafe has a very cool and laid back vibe and all the food we saw being served looked really great, we didn’t make it back again sadly to try the salads but they looked like works of art! I particularly like their humanitarian aspect as a small percentage goes into the rural community and toward vocational training. They have a small thrift shop at the back where my teenagers found some pretty cool vintage scarves such a great place to cool off.

1  Thank Roznat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaFreeBirdCafe, Owner at Free Bird Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Aww, I'm so glad that your kids found some things in the shop too! There are always hidden gems in there, thank you for taking the time to write a review and all the best on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Great little spot, with a cool crowd. Good service. I had the trail mix pancake which was amazing. My friends ordered the regular vegan banana pancakes which were also good.

Thank Evan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaFreeBirdCafe, Owner at Free Bird Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Glad that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is Vegan, but the good vegan that you wouldn’t even know is vegan! The food was delicious, if its full expect to wait a bit for it! Apart from food they have a thrift store in the back with donated clothes. And on top of all... all the profit goes to support Burmese refugees!! Great place for people who care about giving back, not just vegans

Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaFreeBirdCafe, Owner at Free Bird Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

My favorite comment ever: "This restaurant is vegan, but the good vegan that you wouldn't even know it vegan" Thank you for coming in and for reviewing, sorry you had to wait for your food, we do make everything from scratch when ordered :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We enjoyed a chilled out late lunch here. All the items were fresh and flavorful, particularly the Burmese tea leaf salad which had a fantastic combination of tastes and textures. The café limits laptop use to 30 minutes. I am in full support of this policy because it discourages wifi squatters!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Bird Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Free Bird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing