We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food!”
Review of The Local

The Local
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 6/23
20:00
Ranked #383 of 15,103 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Asoke
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Food here is awesome! Very tasty and you can have them either tone down the spice or have it made spicier. Not cheap, but definitely well worth the price. The ambiance/decor is also very nice - set in an old house that retained its charm and beauty.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Nannydrilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 463 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

The location of this restaurant is not convenience, I suggest you take taxi. The menu is not so attractive as not much picture there, tourist always love picture on menu. I have to mention rice is free and unlimited to refill, all the dish can make special for our tongue, the appetiser, fish, vegetable with egg etc. All dishes look ordinary but delicious and fresh, this is the best Thai restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank morrisc865
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner (without a reservation)- second visit, and it was no problem getting an indoor table after 9pm on a Saturday night...

Traditional Thai menu with some twists that you don't get in the west... We went for stir fry minced pork with lemongrass which was blow your head off spicy but great, fish yellow curry with orange leaves and egg with mixed greens stir fry (local signature- simple but amazing)...

Great food, mixture of local and expat clientele- worth a visit if you are near sukhumvit rd/soi cowboy area and fancy an upmarket but very reasonably priced Thai meal..

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Madsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

This was recommended to us by one of the local hotels. In a city that has thousands of options, many of which didn't meet the hygienic eye test to a westerner, the Local stands out. A bit pricey relatively speaking, but well worth the quality of food and phenomenal service...

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food! Best place for local cuisine. Definitely try the appetizer set. The ambience is amazing and the staff is very nice.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank upamanyur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.